We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole

Il Girasole
Via Vittorio Emanuele, 72, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
+39.030.9191.82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 123 restaurants in Sirmione
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ristorante situato sulla via principale, nel centro storico di Sirmione. Adatto a coppie e famiglie, intimo e informale.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice in August 2013. The restaurant is located in the old town of Sirmione. It has a nice ambience and setting.The food and service was very good. The restaurant had a good menu choice with a separate menu for kids and portions were to a good size. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we could have easily eaten here every night. Reasonably price meal and the quality was excellent. If we went back to Sirmione we would definitely eat here again. This was one of our best meal during our 8 day stay in Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    89
    99
    28
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The tasting menu was a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner was hesitant about visiting this restaurant as it did seem to offer much the same as so many others in the old town. I convinced him we should try two of the tasting menus between us and we were very pleased with what we received! An excellent variety of food with surprisingly large portions for a tasting menu. The food was very tasty - amongst the best we've had in Italy. I'd highly recommend if you want a real taste of the region that isn't a pizza!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value and awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We came across this by chance at lunchtime but the 2 courses for 14 euros was the best money we spent throughout our stay in Italy... Get the pasta with cheese sauce and you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good food, good value set meals, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First, the staff were easily able to accommodate my mum's gluten free menu, including gluten free pasta. The set menus, both for dinner and lunch, were good value with a good choice of dishes. (yes we enjoyed dinner so much we returned for lunch another day). The only thing we didn't like was the 'frito misto del lago' at lunch - it was 99% small salty crunchy strong fish smaller and stronger than whitebait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What's not to love about Il Girasole?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time last year and gave them a good review, and we had the opportunity to visit the restaurant again this year where we enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner.
Liliana, a long standing waitress at the restaurant, looked after us really well on our first visit and was very welcoming on our return this year. She looked after our every need and ensured we had the most amazing wedding anniversary dining experience – from securing a secluded table on the patio, ensuring we had a delightful gluten free dinner and a ‘take all the time you want service’ – we had a truly great evening. The restaurant stocks good wines and the table service is very good at recommending suitable wines – we have never been disappointed with their suggestions.
We actually dined at the restaurant 3 times during our stay in Sirmione because of the quality of the food, the service and the very pleasant dining experience. We would have dined their every night or lunch time if it wasn’t for our need to explore gluten free dining options in Sirmione.
We highly recommend this restaurant, it has maintained its high standard since our last visit and we found the price of the food and wine comparable to other restaurants in Sirmione and a much more 'classy' experience in this popular holiday location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girasole also viewed

Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
Sirmione, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Girasole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.