We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Way to Explore the Lakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Hotel Sirmione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Hotel Sirmione to your Saves list
Luna Hotel Sirmione
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Emanuele II, 25019 Sirmione, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Sirmione B&B and Inns
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Way to Explore the Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Visiting Europe for the first time was a dream come true!
The wonderful shops and restaurants of Sirmione are within easy walking access
Cars are a hassle in that area of Sirmione. The Luna Hotel provided a parking space for us. We parked the rental car and did not use it again until we left. We felt that we were able to experience the truly relaxed atmosphere of the area.
And then to have our wonderful Luna Hotel room to return to in the evening was a treat.
The rooms were wonderful; comfy, clean and quiet.
Hospitality was supreme!
The breakfasts were amazing!
This was delight stay during our Italy trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just one night at the beginning of October and enjoyed the little town of Sirmione on Lake Garda. The hotel is in a good position but if you are driving you do have to drive all the way through the pedestrian zone to reach the hotel. There was free parking, the service was fine and the room was sparse but adequate and clean and fine for one evening. We had a Classic Lake View that had a little balcony and you could see the lake over the rooftops. I would recommend this hotel for a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel was one of the few that actually delivered what it promised on the website. It is situated perfectly, right at the end of a street in the beautiful old town of Sirmione - literally a stones throw from the bustling cafes, bars and shops and the lake itself. We stayed just the one night at the end of June 2011 but I wish it had been longer. Our room had a balcony with a lake view (which we hadn't expected given how cheap the room was). It was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was served in a pleasant courtyard area and offered the usual cereals, pastries, juice and coffee. The reception and waiting staff were not overly friendly which was a shame, but I would still stay here again.
On the night we arrived we ate at a small restaurant just down the street from the hotel (il Girasole) where they served us even though it was very late and everywhere else was closing. They didn't rush us at all and made us feel very welcome.
I would recommend a boat trip on the lake but go with one of the smaller boat tours which are cheaper and take less passengers so not too crowded. (Approx €8 each for 30 minute trip).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Luna hotel is positioned just outside of the crowded part of the old side of town, which is great because in peak season this little town is jam packed! We did not have a car; however the town was easy to access through an hourly bus from Desenzano train station followed by a short walk into the old city. The receptionists both spoke very little English, so trying to find out any information was quite difficult; we preferred to use the tourist information centre located near the bus station. Our room was very basically furnished, but comfortable and had free wifi. We had a veranda (shared with the room next door) with a beautiful view of the lake, which was wonderful! Breakfast was ample with fruit, croissants, cakes, cereal and fresh juice and coffee; far bigger than the other breakfasts we had on our trip. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and if we returned to Sirmione, we would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Luna Hotel for just one night. The hotel location is without any doubt the best in Sirmione: it's just in front of the Catullo Terme, in the heart of the historical center. It has 6 parking spots.
The room was a bit small and very basically furnished: it was fine for just one night but we would have probably preferred a larger room if we had to stay longer.
The room and the bathroom were clean.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, especially the home made cakes and the orange juice, fresh from the 'orange-juice-machine'.
We confirm that the owners are a bit... peculiar :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

we stayed here for a week after much deliberating on previous reviews.
got taxi from desayuno de garda straight to door and as per other reviewers not an easily accessed town unless you are permitted to come in.
check in was bizarre.. the owners son was on reception... strange boy to say the least.
the only thing he said to us was " documentation" no smile or any pleasantries.... gave us room key and that was it.. no mention of breakfast of any other hotel information.

rooms are fine based on price. enough room without tripping over each other but nothing too big. nice access to shared balcony with view of the lake and thermal spa across the road.
the only major thing to note about this accomadation is the bathroom towels- never seen these before- they are like tea towels- both for hands and body! was weird- suppose they werent really a problem but ordinary ones would have been nicer!!

breakfast was good, typical european fare but good choice,,
despite previous info on owners we found them quite strange, they have barely any english and not very informatiive on any local activity. barely said hello as we passed each day.
at the end of the week when we were going they were polite and showed us on our way.
overeall one week is too much to spend in Sirmione, apart from eat each night there is not much to do- we are a couple in our 30's not looking for any crazy night life but a few bits of entertainment would have been nice.
a couple of days is fine to do everything here- we rented a boat, went up to the "beach" at the lake which is very close to the Hotel Luna, went to the spa (be sure to go mid week- much cheaper) and few other exploratory days around other towns.
Overall Hotel Sirmione is good value for what you get- bit boring for a whole week as its more a b&b than hotel.
other hotels in sirmione were more expensive but in hindsight might have been worth it to have a bar/ relaxation area/pool....
location is lovely- near the lake for swimming, near all the activity in the town and opposite the spa...
would I stay here again? probably not.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel is extremely clean & well maintained. The owners were friendly & check-in was quick. The room was a good size, very light & airy and was very clean and comfortable and had a balcony with a lovely view with a table and chairs. The room had an airconditioner and fridge. The bathroom was fairly small & the shower was tiny but there was good water pressure. The bath towels were unusual in that they were made of cotton material (so were like a towel-sized tea towel). Free internet & parking were included – (it is a novel experience driving inside the city walls). Breakfast was good. Would recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Hotel Sirmione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Sirmione

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele II, 25019 Sirmione, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sirmione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Sirmione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Hotel Sirmione 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna Hotel Sirmione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Sirmione Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Hotel Sirmione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.