We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience in the "bas du fleuve"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Sur Mer to your Saves list
Auberge Sur Mer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Du Fleuve Rd | 363, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Authentic experience in the "bas du fleuve"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Last weekend, en route from the Maritimes to Montreal, we stopped overnight at Auberge sur Mer in Notre Dame du Portage, near Rivière du Loup, on the south shore of the St Lawrence. The place is charming and quirky so if you're looking for a Best Western, this inn is not for you! Rooms in the auberge are clean and serviceable; bed was comfy; soundproofing lacked somewhat although we were barely disturbed. The location is fabulous especially if you love the lower St Lawrence region, as we do. Food was okay and although service was a little uneven, we were moved to tip generously given the overall experience and amazing setting. After a solid breakfast and perusal of charming on-site gift shop which my husband noted was geared to women only, we drove to Montreal via route 132 through Kamouraska, before heading up to Highway 20 and a quicker route home.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice enough inn, good location with view of .... well, flat water. And some hills. The main building is attractive if you 're in the mood for a Victorian inn. (Bit flouncy and overdone for me but I'm English so this stuff doesn't excite me that much.)

We were in the motel so I can't comment on the rooms in the main building... our room was a good size, the beds comfortable, the view's nice. But the place feels cheap and ungenerous. One tiny bar of soap and one tiny little bottle of shampoo. Half a toilet roll (but, weirdly, 2 boxes of Kleenex). Rail on balcony felt it would snap if you pushed it hard. Was just about clean but could have been better - it felt like the bare minimum had been done. We felt like we were staying in a super-budget hotel, and these are not super-budget prices. If anyone decides to have a party in the parking lot (which, for some reason, the group of families in the rooms next to ours did), you will hear every squeak, and if for some reason they also choose to get up at 8am, open their doors and bellow at each other, you will also hear every squeak.

The breakfast room has pretty views but is murderously hot. Service slow but charmless, although pleasant enough. Breakfast food fine but not great. Cheap sausages - and everyone knows no good can ever come of a cheap sausage. Mysterious plate of mysterious fruit stuff and white stuff in pots unceremoniously dumped without any explanation.

Reception staff nice & they have a nice little shop attached to the hotel. If visiting family again in the area (which we were) we'd stay here again, mind you (the area's not exactly overrun with hotels), but we'd try and stay in the main building.

p.s. WiFi is TERRIBLE in the motel part ...do not stay in those rooms if you need to work, etc etc...

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was our second visit to this Auberge and not much has changed. When it comes to the dining experience, this is a good thing! When it comes to the rooms, this is a not so good thing!

Firstly the good: The cuisine! The dining room overlooks the St. Lawrence River and is lovely and romantic. The food is amazing and so wonderfuly delicious. Every course through dinner was better than the one before if that's possible! So, so, yummy!! Breakfast as well was fresh, full of lovely flavours and delicious.

The motel rooms are basically the same as our last visit. Very, very dated. The beds and linens need replacement as well as furniture in general. The walls are paper thin and towels thin and worn. However on a good note, everything is as immaculate. Just old.

The actual hotel is quite lovely and comfortable. Antique chairs, fireplace and chairs about for you to sit and relax. Even the veranda has a lovely seating area for you to enjoy a glass of wine or coffee while relaxing.

The staff are more than accomodating even through broken english. Friendly, always smiling and quick to make sure all is fine.

Yes, I would visit again in a heart beat - the cuisine is worth dealing with the motel!!!

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms in the Auberge are better. The motel rooms on the lower level have a nice walk ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a treat to stay in the historic inn right on the shore. The room in the inn was charming and clean. The parlor area was lovely, filled with a fascinating array of antique books. The evening meal was fabulous, with a view of the sun setting on thr St. Lawrence. I suggest staying in thr Inn, rather than the extra units built to the side. Food is pricey but excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the actual inn. Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bedroom very classic.
But the troubles are more 1/the kitchen hood, stopping at 11:00PM and turned on at 5:30 AM and 2/the curtains : white is cute but without curtain liner it's totally ineffective !! (And 1 bad mattress on the 2 beds in our room). For an hotel it's disappointing! Especially with this fame.

For dinning, starters and "mise en bouche" were absolutely delicious, main dish were classic and good not more, dessert was inappropriate to the fame of this place (strawberries served directly from the fridge, so too cold to be appreciated, and have not been tasted in the kitchen before preparation because strawberries were not ripe enough to be served simply sliced, without syrup or condiment).
The service was too slow to finish , hopefully the possibility to bring our dessert on the patio in front of the sunset save our evening.

We will not come back for sure.

Room Tip: our room was the 208, avoid at least 205 to 208. They have condos in front of the St Laurent, so in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I'm not sure what's so special about the place. It was more like your run of the mill motel room. Clean but very plain and not deserving of the reviews I read that led me to stay there for one night. Yes nice view but not much else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We enjoyed a one night stay at this auberge that heas some motel type units that accept pets. The view was wonderful and the dining room excellent, both for dinner and breakfast. A delightful break and it is appreciated that our dog was welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sur Mer

Address: Du Fleuve Rd | 363, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Sur Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sur Mer Notre-Dame-Du-Portage, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Sur Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.