We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo del Sole

Save Saved
You added Albergo del Sole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo del Sole
Piazza San Giorgio 17, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Varenna B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Here only for two nights, but everything wonderful. Just a short taxi ride from the train station; located on a piazza across from a historic church whose lovely sounding bells will wake you each morning. Easy access to sites and the waterfront to the ferry service. Our room on the top floor was large, comfortable, a nice sitting area, large wardrobe and tall windows that opened to allow a lovely breeze and beautiful view of the alley ways, houses and a view of the lake; bathroom small, but had a sky light which was the best light I had for putting on makeup on our entire trip through Italy! Breakfast was simple, but good: meats, cheeses, melon, breads, juice & coffee, but quite plentiful. What we didn't eat, we made little sandwiches to snack on later in the morning as we were out and about. Francesco and the gentlemen at breakfast (sorry we can't remember his name), were always so hospitable and it's obvious they care about their guests. The restaurant is quite popular and a couple of the locals said del sole had the best pizza in town (they also have other items on the menu). Internet was intermittent and wasn't working when we tried to use a credit card to check-out, so plan to pay with cash, but this is not a complaint as it wasn't necessary for us to access internet each day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Room on top floor facing the lake is probably better than being at the front with all the activity i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great little hotel with Pizza restaurant. Room was very clean and quiet. Located right in the central upper square its position is ideal for exploring all the magical streets and ally ways of Varenna
i would say it is probably the best value for money place in the town. Always busy in the summer!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter but smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here and loved it. Rooms were small but clean. Quiet and very well located along the piazza in magical Varenna. Ask for a room off the Piazza as they are quieter. Francesco the owner is ever present, kind, and helpful. The hotel is very well located despite not having a view. Close to all dining, easy access to main roads, lovely walking to the ferry. We woke to the peel of bells each morning. Breakfast was a little dry but served with a smile. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the piazza. Quieter in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We're a family of four-- kids ages 6 and 8-- and we loved Varenna and loved this hotel! Much more affordable than most that offer a lake-view, and we actually really liked being on Varenna's main square, the Piazza San Giorgio. The owner and staff were so, so nice and helpful... room was bright and clean, and we loved our balcony that looked out over the square. Breakfast was wonderful, and when we finished our coffee or were running low of anything on our breakfast table, it was quickly replenished. Even if you don't stay here, definitely try the hotel restaurant/pizzeria while in Varenna-- the food is delicious, wonderful service, and fun to look out and people-watch on the main square while enjoying your meal. Great restaurant if you have kids, as the kids can hang out on the wide steps leading down to the restaurant area, rather than being stuck at the table the entire time. Wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is nice little hotel at the piazza San giorgo small modern room very clean, breakfast was very basic if you now what mean. The restaurant served very god food i ate there 2 times and enjoyd it very much. I paid €90 for a single room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A wonderful stay of 2-nights. The staff provided us with excellent service. The room was clean and modern. Breakfast was good with pastries, cheese, meat, juice & coffee. Varenna is a lovely lakeside village with access to passenger or auto ferry. This hotel/B&B is located in the main piazza. This is a great place to stay away from the tourist crowds with easy access to the passenger or auto ferry. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The suite was a nice choice for our girl trip. Lake view room with lots of room, quiet, with 2 twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Albergo del Sole for 5 nights. It was a very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel set on the piazza in Varenna. The rooms are light and bright and very clean.
The staff Francesco, Enzo and Dora, were so friendly, helpful and generous.
We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant 3 out df the 5 nights. The pasta, pizzas and the seafood risotto was amazing ! Very well priced meals and drinks. It has a great buzzy atmosphere.
The church bell does start at 7am, but it is all part of the Italian experience in this beautiful town.
Thank you for a great stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would recommend it might be better to get a higher floor room,as the restaurant is quite lively at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 17, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergo del Sole is a nice hotel in San Giorgio Square. It was totally renovated in 2003 and has very nicely furnished bedrooms and a suite overlooking the lake. It has also its own restaurant and pizzeria. Luigi, the owner, is the chef and restaurant manager. Car is not necessary as the hotel is located in the historical centre, only 50 meters from the old port, and 300 meters from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.