We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for its price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Beretta to your Saves list
Albergo Beretta
Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent for its price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a really pleasant stay in this hotel. The room was huge, well furnished and had a big balcony with lake view. Everything was very clean and the breakfast basic but good, with really good coffee. The location is also perfect as it is a few meters from the boats and the centre of varenna. Generally in this area the prices are extremely high, so for its price i would say it is excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
41
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
btm1323
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

There was nothing great about the hotel besides the location. The room was extremely basic as was the breakfast. No one was really welcoming or rude. To them, we were just paying customers. We paid, they gave us the key and that was that. I don't need pomp and circumstance at a hotel but it just didn't feel welcoming.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is a step above a hostel, and it's a real bargain given the location. Rooms overlook the lake in beautiful and quiet Varenna. The rooms and bathroom are kept fairly clean, though they smelled of strong cleaning products.

Despite the great deal and phenomenal location, I wouldn't return. Aside from the girl who checked us in, staff were unpleasant and failed to provide basic information, like how to access the hotel when the bar is closed. Mattresses are in terrible condition and very uncomfortable, wallpaper is peeling, and we even stumbled on a cockroach en route to the bar from the hotel room. The shared bathroom is located far down the hall. Noise comes through from the bar even when staying on the second floor. If you can afford it, stay elsewhere. Almost all the hotels near Lake Como have amazing lake views anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here for only 1 day and it was the best decision I made when planning the trip. Its a 5 min walk from the train station, there is an info office next door and the port where the ferries leave from is a 5 min walk as well. There are a lot of beautiful things to see, like the castle, waterfall, gardens etc. The hotel is on top of a bar/restaurant which is very convenient. They are super nice and the bathrooms are really clean! Awesome views too!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed for a couple nights at the end of March. We stayed at the number 4 room and the room was absolutly perfect. Nice view to the lake, big bed, nice and clean bathroom, big sofa and a 22" TV. The room was at the 1st floor and it was very tranquil.
The breakfast was very nice, cafe/juice, variety of croisands, donunts and jam and nutella for toast bread.
The location of the hotel was very convinient, a few minutes away from the center of Varena and very close to the ferries.

The hotel was absolutly perfect considering for the price and I would defently reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here as it was the cheapest hotel close to Varenna. The location was good, about 5 minutes from central Varenna by foot. However, that was about the extent of the positives. The room - although non-smoking - absolutely stunk of smoke. We were on the first floor directly above the bar which proved to be very noisy as every time someone moved we could hear chairs scraping the tile floor. We were also kept awake by the owners screaming children running up and down the hallway. In the morning we woke to the sound of a blasting radio downstairs in the kitchen which sounded so clear we could sing along to the words as if the stereo was playing in our room. This is definitely budget accommodation, but if you can afford to pay more I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

- basic clean 1-star hotel
- working class locals hangout in lobby/bar which is nice to see the "real" culture
- easy walk to/from train station with luggage. 5 minute walk to everything
- I would stay here again in a second

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Beretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.