We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Beretta to your Saves list
Albergo Beretta
Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit dubious about booking here due to some bad reviews on this site, but was very pleasantly surprised. This is a great little family run hotel in an excellent location. Varenna is much nicer than the over touristy Bellagio or Menaggio, with wonderful ultra picturesque steep streets, little hidden docks, tiny balconies festooned with flowers. I recommend the Bar il Molo, stunning location and good food, as well as the restaurant in the hotel, good honest Italian food at a very reasonable price. I really liked this place, and the owners were so helpful, especially the lady who took the booking who spoke such good English and was so nice. It is a bit noisy at night, but hey, that's Italy, and it was a Friday night, anyway all travellers should bring earplugs. Great wireless reception too! Room was big, with plenty of space and very clean and neat with parking available nearby, and breakfast included too!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
39
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A group of ten of us arrived to discover that the ownership had changed since our reservations were made and that we had not been expected, due to a 'change over' mistake. The owner was amazing in how he handled a very delicate situation with 10 overheated, senior citizens at dinner time who had been on a train all day. He quickly went into gear with gracious creativity. His clerk spoke English, but frankly, we didn't need to know Italian to know he was making things right for us. We had a lovely three day stay in an authenticly Italian accomodation. Hugs were shared as we left and we had an excellent experience. This is an honorable, hospitable place that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had this hotel as a stopover back to home, for just one night. Rooms are kept very clean but they are worn, especially the bathroom. The walls are not so thick, so you can hear the neighbors rather well. It was however such a typically very hot day in Como, and it was really impossible to get the room at a good temperature to sleep. We arrived in a very hot room with some afternoon sun coming in through the open windows, and without any airflow it was really impossible to get a lower temperature in the room (even if at night the outside temperature had dropped to 25°C). The only option was to sleep with the windows and shutters open, letting plenty of streetlight and noise from traffic inside...
Breakfast was OK, nothing special. Staff was really friendly, although some lacked even a basic knowledge of English. Although it is advertised that you can park for free on the street, street parking is with a ticket and finding place around the hotel is very difficult. They however offered us a free spot in a parking place which was apparently from the same owner

Overall it is a pity that we had to sleep in such a hot room. For what you get prices are very high, especially as we came from Tuscany where you get much more for this price. I would not advice to stay here more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel not far from the lake with a little view on the lake.
for 80 € / night the room is big, clean and well equipped for the bathroom.
if you expect a TV in a the room just avoid this place. there is a TV but just 15-inch more or less.
it seems this hotel need to qualify for a category and had to install anything called a TV in the room.

the service and reception is very friendly.
there is no close care park but you can park your car outside.
this hotel would be very nice at 60€ not 80€.

Room Tip: insist on room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to this hotel bar a couple of times, the service is pretty much non existent. But it is a budget hotel. The owners talk across the bar at anyone who is listening, in true Italian style, but the house wine is reasonable and sometimes when they think about it, they give you nibbles including delicious pizza, on our second visit there were more people without glasses in front of them than there were drinking and no pizza was available, which was why we were there. So we had to go elsewhere! But don't go here if you want anything other than local style, they do that well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Signora Tosca went out of her way to make our stay pleasant. We had room 3 on the first floor and as other reviewers have said, it is quite noisy until 11pm and again at 6am. This was not a problem for us and we both managed to get a good nights sleep every night. The bar is wonderful and full of characters, on occasion we felt like we were on a movie set! We recommend this hotel to the budget traveller as it is one of the better places we have stayed. Clean, breakfast is good, it does help if you speak Italian though (my husband does). We had lunch here one day, and dinner another night. Signora Tosca even made vegetable soup for my husband as he had a cold!

Room Tip: Higher floors are (slightly) less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I agree 100% with SophiagoestoItaly. I think we stayed in the same room. Very large room and bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable. Yes there is street noise until 11 or 12 at night and again about 6 in the morning. My husband and were able to sleep just fine. If you have trouble sleeping, you might not to stay here though the smaller doubles on the top floor are probably quieter. We loved going through Signora Tosca's lobby because we were always greeted warmly. This hotel/restaurant/bar/coffee bar is a local favorite and we enjoyed seeing the local citizens of Varenna. The breakfast mixup is because if you have a Rick Steve's guidebook you can have a free breakfast of croissant and cappuccino. The tables are set up for the regular breakfast. You just have to know that if you want any of those items, you will pay for it. I rated this hotel high because of location,cleanliness, and budget priced. This room would be double the price if it wasn't on the street. Signora Tosca's was always very pleasant to us. We had no complaints.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Beretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.