We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little all in one overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Beretta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Beretta to your Saves list
Albergo Beretta
Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“good little all in one overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice hotel not far from the lake with a little view on the lake.
for 80 € / night the room is big, clean and well equipped for the bathroom.
if you expect a TV in a the room just avoid this place. there is a TV but just 15-inch more or less.
it seems this hotel need to qualify for a category and had to install anything called a TV in the room.

the service and reception is very friendly.
there is no close care park but you can park your car outside.
this hotel would be very nice at 60€ not 80€.

Room Tip: insist on room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
39
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to this hotel bar a couple of times, the service is pretty much non existent. But it is a budget hotel. The owners talk across the bar at anyone who is listening, in true Italian style, but the house wine is reasonable and sometimes when they think about it, they give you nibbles including delicious pizza, on our second visit there were more people without glasses in front of them than there were drinking and no pizza was available, which was why we were there. So we had to go elsewhere! But don't go here if you want anything other than local style, they do that well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Signora Tosca went out of her way to make our stay pleasant. We had room 3 on the first floor and as other reviewers have said, it is quite noisy until 11pm and again at 6am. This was not a problem for us and we both managed to get a good nights sleep every night. The bar is wonderful and full of characters, on occasion we felt like we were on a movie set! We recommend this hotel to the budget traveller as it is one of the better places we have stayed. Clean, breakfast is good, it does help if you speak Italian though (my husband does). We had lunch here one day, and dinner another night. Signora Tosca even made vegetable soup for my husband as he had a cold!

Room Tip: Higher floors are (slightly) less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I agree 100% with SophiagoestoItaly. I think we stayed in the same room. Very large room and bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable. Yes there is street noise until 11 or 12 at night and again about 6 in the morning. My husband and were able to sleep just fine. If you have trouble sleeping, you might not to stay here though the smaller doubles on the top floor are probably quieter. We loved going through Signora Tosca's lobby because we were always greeted warmly. This hotel/restaurant/bar/coffee bar is a local favorite and we enjoyed seeing the local citizens of Varenna. The breakfast mixup is because if you have a Rick Steve's guidebook you can have a free breakfast of croissant and cappuccino. The tables are set up for the regular breakfast. You just have to know that if you want any of those items, you will pay for it. I rated this hotel high because of location,cleanliness, and budget priced. This room would be double the price if it wasn't on the street. Signora Tosca's was always very pleasant to us. We had no complaints.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

2 nights. Thought the staff was nice until it came time to check-out - she tried to charge me additional for breakfast, even though she said it was included. She also said breakfast was available until 10am. But after I checked out, while waiting for my train, I made the mistake of getting another glass of juice and a small cube of pastry - the lady Yelled at me that it was an Additional 3 Euro. Totally fine with only 1 serving of breakfast, not ok with getting yelled at. :-(

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I rate this hotel stay a 5 simply because it is exactly what we expected: a basic, clean, convenient, and yes, rather noisy room. It was also our cheapest of 8 hotels in Europe, and we didn't have to sacrifice. It's a 5-minute walk down from the train station. Our room was large and comfortable, and the large bathroom was spotless. Unlike other posters, we had no problem at all with the wifi or the tv, although we preferred to watch the soccer games downstairs with other people. We had a large balcony right above the bar, and actually enjoyed the sounds and activity; if we wanted peace and quiet, we would have stayed home! The first morning noises were of birds chirping, then people setting up downstairs, but certainly nothing annoying. The "nonna" who runs it was friendly and kind, although her English is as limited as my Italian. We had to leave at 6:30 am the final morning (to miss the train strike planned for 9 a.m.!), and she made us coffees and pastries to go. She even gave me a little gift (a silk hankie from Como) - I think a little kindness, humour, and adaptability goes a long way when travelling, and we were certainly treated well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's basic & no frills. However, it was pleasant and clean. It was also about half the price of any hotel we could find. If you want to stay in Varenna and don't need to be pampered, this place will work just fine. We did not have any trouble with reservations or with management as mentioned in some other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Beretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Beretta

Address: Via Per Esino, 1, Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Beretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Beretta Varenna
Albergo Beretta Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Beretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.