We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Stacy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Stacy to your Saves list
Casa Stacy
Piazza San Giorgio 3, 23826 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Visited recently and enjoyed our stay in Varenna.

Pros:
- Central location
- Close to lots of restaurants and the nearest parking
- Beautiful roof terrace
- Free wi-fi
- Clean rooms
- Stacy's local knowledge

Cons:
- One night we stayed there was a lot of noise from the bar below. I guess it's the payoff for the central location but it did keep us up and if there were earplugs provided we don't see them.
- Compared to other places we stayed it was quite expensive for the level of decor. It was clean and bright but it was a bit too Ikea-showroom for us. We hope it doesn't come across as too negative since we did have a nice stay but I think the rate isn't quite at the right level given the decoration. We stayed in some quite individual nicely decorated places nearby and the quality of the rooms were higher for a lower rate.

Overall we would stay again if we could find a good rate and we recommend Varenna as a good base for activities and excursions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and could not have been happier. Stacy made us very welcome and we felt at home immediately in this beautiful little town.
Some excellent little restaurants, ferry access to Lake Como and a delightful atmosphere. Sipping (?) Spritzs' in the sunshine by the Lake will be a permanent memory.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Varenna is a perfect location to stay away from the crowds of other lake towns like Bellagio, and Casa Stacy is right at the main square of the town!
We stayed one night at the plaza view suite; very clean, well equipped kitchen, wonderful bathroom amenities. On the bad side....suite was not ready for us when we arrived (7,30pm). No coffee pods, no fruit and food as promised, no TV, sofa bed not ready, too noisy late at night (bar just below suite).
I would try something different next visit....expensive for the service received....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We enjoyed only one brief evening in Varenna at Casa Stacy on May 25th. Very intimate property and we had the lakeview suite. The room had really nice views of the lake from the living room, the bathroom and the bedroom. The terrace on top of the hotel has magnificent 360 degree views.

Walking the town in the afternoon was great. In the evening we took the EUR 25/ea lake tour with Stacy and our group was a total of 16; the pictures of the town from the lake are like postcards. We expected to have dinner with the group, but when we arrived at the restaurant, Stacy had pre-arranged for a special romantic table with the best lake view for the two of us since she knew it was our 10th anniversary trip. A very nice personal touch and very appreciated by us.

Our description of our one night is "ideal". Only regret is that we had only one night to stay at Casa Stacy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Casa Stacy, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
I am so glad you two enjoyed your 'short' but sweet trip to my little corner of the world!! See you for the 15 year too? Cheers, Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our three night stay in Varenna was one of the best trips we've taken in recent memory. Varenna is the ideal base location for visiting Lake Como since it has railroad connections to Milano and is located at the middle of the lake, just across from Bellagio. You get all the perks of staying in an exclusive secluded enclave, but with quick efficient transport and reasonable prices. Varenna itself was our favorite town on Lake Como: very intimate and charming with cobbled lanes down to the lake and very friendly people. Staying at Casa Stacy helped to make the experience even more memorable since the accommodations were so comfortable. We stayed in the "Angel Apartment" which we had all to ourselves. This apartment has two large ensuite bedrooms which share a common kitchen and living area. There's even a terrace with a view of the lake! Stacy was very warm and helpful, suggesting several restaurants for dinner and helped to make reservations for us in advance. She even arranged a lake cruise at sunset which was one of the highlights of our stay. We'd recommend taking the ferry all the way to Como to see the marvelous villas and gardens along the way. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

31Mar'14 to 2Apr '14:
Varenna is one of the towns around Lake Como and away from the hustle and bustle of the busier towns like Bellagio, Como or Menaggio. Varenna is compact and beautiful, you could walk to everywhere!

We stayed at the Casa del Prato (which is within a 3-storey apartment) which is about 3mins walk from the main Casa Stacy. It is a 1-bedroom apartment, has a full kitchenette (there is a great family-owned store nearby), washing machine (bring along your own detergent or buy some from the store), dining table, living room area and access to an outdoor terrace which has a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. It is a really spacious and cosy apartment.

The host, Stacy, is wonderful and will give you suggestions on activities in Varenna for a memorable stay. We took up the cooking class with Chef Moreno which you can book through Stacy and that was great :)

It is not a hotel, so don't expect housekeeping or buffet/served breakfast. Stacy will supply breakfast(yogurt,muesli, coffee, milk, fruits) for the duration of your stay when you arrive and if you want more, you could let her know or buy some from the shop.

From Casa del Prato in Varenna, you could easily walk to the ferry station to go around to the other towns. Varenna has wonderful restaurants and cafe too but it is not crowded as compared to the other towns.

Stay with Casa Stacy in Varenna, you will love the tranquility and beautiful apartment. You may not want to go home :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We only stayed at Casa Stacy three nights and if it wasn't for forward plans, would have easily doubled our stay in Varenna. Stacy met us when we arrived from the train station and we immediately felt at home. After a tour of the apartment, she made us a booking at a local highly rated restaurant (Borgavino) which was a godsend as people were wandering in between 7 and 10 desperate for a booking.

Stacy also arranges dinners and we had a great time with a couple from the USA out on a private launch with all the sites pointed out for us on the way. Stacy captained the launch back to Varenna and showed her speed-demon side!

We spent four weeks traveling around northern Italy, Paris and London and still think of the 3 nights staying at Casa Stacy as the highlight of the entire trip.

Thanks Stacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Stacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Stacy

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 3, 23826 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Stacy is an unique experience in the main square of Varenna. The historic villa in the central square of varenna is one of the best locations if you like to be near all the action (restaurants, the lake side cafes, concerts, historical sites, train station and ferry boats). Stacy has arranged special activities, like seeing how the local 'bresaola meat is cured and cooking classes for you expand your visit to lake como. Best prices at Casa Stacy web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Stacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Stacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.