We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful apartment to stay at in beautiful Lake Como” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Stacy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Stacy to your Saves list
Casa Stacy
Piazza San Giorgio 3, 23826 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment to stay at in beautiful Lake Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

31Mar'14 to 2Apr '14:
Varenna is one of the towns around Lake Como and away from the hustle and bustle of the busier towns like Bellagio, Como or Menaggio. Varenna is compact and beautiful, you could walk to everywhere!

We stayed at the Casa del Prato (which is within a 3-storey apartment) which is about 3mins walk from the main Casa Stacy. It is a 1-bedroom apartment, has a full kitchenette (there is a great family-owned store nearby), washing machine (bring along your own detergent or buy some from the store), dining table, living room area and access to an outdoor terrace which has a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. It is a really spacious and cosy apartment.

The host, Stacy, is wonderful and will give you suggestions on activities in Varenna for a memorable stay. We took up the cooking class with Chef Moreno which you can book through Stacy and that was great :)

It is not a hotel, so don't expect housekeeping or buffet/served breakfast. Stacy will supply breakfast(yogurt,muesli, coffee, milk, fruits) for the duration of your stay when you arrive and if you want more, you could let her know or buy some from the shop.

From Casa del Prato in Varenna, you could easily walk to the ferry station to go around to the other towns. Varenna has wonderful restaurants and cafe too but it is not crowded as compared to the other towns.

Stay with Casa Stacy in Varenna, you will love the tranquility and beautiful apartment. You may not want to go home :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We only stayed at Casa Stacy three nights and if it wasn't for forward plans, would have easily doubled our stay in Varenna. Stacy met us when we arrived from the train station and we immediately felt at home. After a tour of the apartment, she made us a booking at a local highly rated restaurant (Borgavino) which was a godsend as people were wandering in between 7 and 10 desperate for a booking.

Stacy also arranges dinners and we had a great time with a couple from the USA out on a private launch with all the sites pointed out for us on the way. Stacy captained the launch back to Varenna and showed her speed-demon side!

We spent four weeks traveling around northern Italy, Paris and London and still think of the 3 nights staying at Casa Stacy as the highlight of the entire trip.

Thanks Stacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Piazza View Suite, with kitchen and from the moment we arrived, we were in awe of the hospitality of Stacy and the amazing views from the roof top terrace. We arrived from an overnight plane ride and train and immediately found comfort and relaxation in our suite at Casa Stacy.
The suite was furnished with fruit, yogurt, cereal,& milk, plus a well stocked "bar' with refreshments was available on the top floor, near the roof terrace. Casa Stacy is basically new interior, new baths , kitchen and comfortable furnishings, new appliances, dishes,and a great coffee maker in an old building on a quaint square in Varenna. When you get to the roof terrace, for breakfast, cocktails or private time reading, you don't want to leave. Your view is 360 degrees . I loved watching the ferries, and small boats while hearing the local church bells and the stirrings of the local residents.The location is good for touring Lake Como, getting the train, restaurants , sightseeing in the area and just hanging out. The best feature of Casa Stacy is Stacy. Stacy invited all the guests to take a private tour of Lake Como at sunset, serving us prosecco with a backdrop of mountains, palaces and the most gorgeous of scenery.( there's no pressure to take the boat trip, but I would recommend it).
Stacy knows the people, the language, restaurants, and the history. She has a library of travel books, novels, brochures/maps, and free internet. Stacy is a great resource and a lovely person.
As other reviews have noted, Casa Stacy is located above a Bar that serves coffee in the a.m.and drinks throughout the day and night. It wasn't a problem for us, but Stacy provides ear plugs . We wished we didn't have to leave . It was a beautiful experience, a delightful hotel and the most memorable part of our trip to Italy. Thanks Stacy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Casa Stacy is located in the square of the breathtaking village of Varenna by the Lake Como. Stacy is a wonderful lady who looks after her guests as if they are her personal friends. Stacy's restaurant recommendations are also one not to be missed. She really knows her (yummy) food around town!

The view from the roof terrace is something you won't forget for a long time. Enjoy the sun setting with a glass of prosecco with new friends - you can't help but enjoy the great company of other guests at Casa Stacy. We also took the sunset boat ride, and it was a lot of fun. Stacy has LOTS of knowledge about Lake Como, and is more than happy to share them with her guests.

The flat itself is quite spacious with a kitchen of its own (sink, coffee machine, utensils, etc.) and a small terrace to sit and have your morning coffee while daydreaming. The bathroom is also good - Stacy provides some basic necessities, which was a lovely surprise. We also had locally made fresh yoghurt with some cereal and fruits, although there is no harm heading down to the cafes by the lake for a traditional Italian brekky! A cleaner came during the day to clean the flat, so it was nice to come back to a made up place.

The only thing about the location is that when there is an event at the centre of the village, you will no doubt hear about it. Stacy is quite thoughtful and provides ear plugs, but you really can't help but be (literally) shaken with the noise. When we were there, we happened to be in the middle of a series of concerts, and we got the rock gig. So sleeping didn't necessarily come easy! I really wish we knew, especially since we have some light sleepers. Other than that, it was a truly delightful stay and we are grateful for such a beautiful introduction to the Lake Como region.

Thank you, Stacy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Firstly, the views from Casa Stacy's roof terrace are better than it's possible to capture in photos – wow! Taking breakfast, sundowner drinks, & relaxing with a book up there was just heavenly.
We had a wonderful few days stay at Casa Stacy. An adult family group of 5, we stayed in the 2 bedroomed Piazza View Suite on the 1st floor. It was cozy for 5 adults, but perfect for our short-ish stay. The apartment & building were spotlessly clean & comfortably furnished, with much appreciated little extras to make our stay easier (tea/coffee/milk/cereal/yoghurt/fruit in the kitchen, cotton buds/hairdryer etc in the bathroom). There's also a well-stocked & reasonably priced honesty bar with chilled soft & alcoholic drinks on the top floor which we found to be really useful.
Do take Stacy up on her recommendations & suggestions for things to do & restaurants etc. She's a wealth of information & couldn't be more helpful. (we were additionally pleased to find these are genuinely 'best of' things that Stacy enjoys in the area, not just add ons for her business).
Be aware that Casa Stacy's prime location on the pretty main square means that there is noise – so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper (noise is predominantly from the bells (the bells!!) of the main church – which chime every half hour from 7am (not through the night, but 7am was an early wake up call for us!), & also chattering from the bar below from about 8am when Italians meet for their morning coffee - to around midnight).
Varenna was a perfect base for our stay on Lake Como, with an easy journey on the train from Milan, & I highly recommend staying at Casa Stacy - we'd love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am extremely impressed with the customer service with which we were met at Casa Stacy. We made our reservations only a few days prior (which is unusual for the summer season) - Stacy is an excellent host who jumped to the task without hesitation. She greeted us with a glass of prosecco on the terrace, she booked us for the famous lake tour, and even made reservations for us at a cozy restaurant for that night. Tremendously pleased with everything. The suite was very spacious and clean, with stunning views of the lake from the terrace. We are definitely returning.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids bring a back pack as the roads are not stroller friendly (cobble ston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I recently were lucky enough to stay at Casa Stacy and can't wait to return. This casa, located in the heart of picturesque Varenna, has to have the best view of the surrounding mountains and lake. The top floor has a 360 degree view with tables and chairs to enjoy. It literally looks like a postcard from the top of the casa. Most nights we would opt to just enjoy the sunset and evening with a bottle of wine at the casa. Upon your arrival, Stacy will be there to help you plan, book, and answer any questions you might have over a glass of proseco. Her knowledge of the surrounding area and town are extremely helpful in helping you plan the perfect vacation. We took and would recommend the hour long guided boat tour of Como. You'll enjoy a couple glasses of proseco while learning about the surrounding towns on the lake to include Bellagio. We couldn't have asked for anything more on our trip and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lake View Suite. It has a full kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and small balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy K, Owner at Casa Stacy, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks for the great review !!! Can't wait to see you back... I'm thinking Pink!! Cheers, Stacy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Stacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Stacy

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 3, 23826 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Stacy is an unique experience in the main square of Varenna. The historic villa in the central square of varenna is one of the best locations if you like to be near all the action (restaurants, the lake side cafes, concerts, historical sites, train station and ferry boats). Stacy has arranged special activities, like seeing how the local 'bresaola meat is cured and cooking classes for you expand your visit to lake como. Best prices at Casa Stacy web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Casa Stacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Stacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.