We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, polite staff, spectacular view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Varenna B&B and Inns
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good, clean, polite staff, spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Views from lakeside rooms are spectacular. Staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are basic. Supplies are also basic...no hand lotion or shower caps. Definitely one-person bathrooms. Hardly any room to store clothes...we pretty much lived out of our suitcases. Breakfast is OK, but also pretty basic. Considering rate of 170 Euros, might expect more. The best asset is the view of the lake. If you come, be sure to get a lakefront room. Restaurant was excellent and the best we experienced in Varenna.

Room Tip: Be sure to get lakefront view. If you come to Varenna, you would definitely NOT was a room without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    97
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
32
281
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Albergo Milano several times and each time has been a joy. Bettina and her husband are great. The rooms ate modern and clean. The views from the outside terrance or from your room are spectacular. If you are fortunate enough to stay 3 nights then ask for the honeymoon package. The in house restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We enjoyed a four night stay in a lake view room in Casa Rossa. Once we got used to the three flights of stairs, it was a great place to be. Make sure you have light luggage, or it's a struggle to get up the stairs! Varenna is FULL of stairs, so be prepared for them.

The rooms are on the small side, but the payoff is the uninterrupted view across the lake. We loved watching the sun set as we sipped prosecco on the little balcony.

The only comment we have is that the mattresses are quite hard. We slept OK, but we found the beds a little bit uncomfortable.

Make sure you have at least one dinner in the restaurant - La Vista. We thoroughly enjoyed our lovely meal and the location/views just can't be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Loved this little pension. You must be fit and carry light lugggage. Our room was atop three steep flights in the Villa Rosa. Amazing views of Mennagio off our little balcony. Room had little space to move around in or store luggage. It was clean and cozy. The walls were thin. Nevertheless, it was worth the stay for the ambiance. Varenna is a lovely town to use as a base for Lake Como.All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend this place. Great food as well. Current construction noise during the day next door, but we were gone all day sightseeing, so it wasn't a problem.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay in room 14 and 15 in Casa Rosa. Both rooms were completely renovated with lovely bathrooms and rain shower in the glass tile stall. One room was very small but other was fine and our boys didn't mind e small room. They shared an outside door which was great for our family. We really enjoyed sitting out on the small terrace and having a glass of wine and just enjoying those views! Our rooms did have a partially obstructed view on the right wide due to the next door building scaffolding during constructions. Balcony rooms up one floor would be clear of this so views would be better. We did hear some drill and hammering noises but we are early risers so it didn't bother us. Beds were comfortable and rooms had a mini frig and safe as well a small flat screen tv. Breakfast right upmat e hotel was delicious and they had so many glisten free options for me like hot fresh bread and packages crostadas which were very appreciated! Ask for cappucinos and hot choc. Bettina was friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved room 14 which was the larger of the 2 rooms. If another couple stayed in room 14 you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights in the hotel. Bettina and Egidio and the staff all made us very welcome. We had a lake view and terrace which was fabulous, helped somewhat by the glorious weather. The rooms were a little on the small side but there is little that can be done about that in an old building wedged into the old village. The rooms though were comfortable and clean and the hotel has obviously been carefully restored.

We had dinner in the hotel on 2 occasions and the food was very good as was the wine. It was an excellent base for exploring the lake by ferry. We were on a train adventure so not sure where you would park a car here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the apartment for three set in a separate building. It was a good location and very comfortably furnished.
We also stayed in a lake view double room. This room was small but the view was superb.
Breakfast was quite limited but service was good.
Would recommend the hotel but with lots of steps, it's not ideal for anyone with a disability or difficulty walking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.