We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eremo Gaudio to your Saves list
Eremo Gaudio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Would anyone consider going to Lake Como and getting a room with no view? I would not. That is why I chose Eremo Gaudio. It has the most spectacular views of the lake possible. From the reception area, we rode two funiculars and then took an elevator to get to our room. From that perspective, the views of the lake are just stunning. Our room (the Fiumelatte) also had an enormous balcony.

The rooms are plain but clean and comfortable. There is an in-room safe and mini fridge. The included breakfast is adequate, but nothing out of the ordinary (except for the beautiful lake views on the breakfast terrace). Light dinners are served at the restaurant, but I would choose one of the restaurants on the harbor or on the town square. Better yet, stock up on wine, cheese, prosciutto, bread and fruit at the nearby little grocery store and have dinner on your balcony while enjoying the quiet and beauty of your surroundings. The grocer is right across the street from the tourist information office. There is also an ATM machine next door.

Eremo Gaudio is a beautiful property. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have lake views, but not all have balconies. Ask for a balcony if you want to be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
201
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Due to last minute travel plans, we had to change reservations in Bellagio and picked this hotel by complete luck. We absolutely loved the three nights we spent in the Teodolinda Suite. As other reviewers have noted the views are incomparable. We spent many pleasant hours sitting on that balcony enjoying the scenery. If there is a better view on the lake, I'd love to see it.

As other reviewers have noted, the furnishings and decor of the rooms are kind of dour. If you've ever stayed in transient billeting on a US military base, it's kind of like that. That said, the rooms are very clean and the views are truly astounding. If you're concerned about security, this could be the most secure hotel I've stayed at. You needed four keys to get through a series of doors to get to our room.

Random points in no particular order:

- I can't comment on the restaurant. We had breakfast there and it was a typical continental breakfast (an unsatisfying assortment of bread, luncheon meat, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice). There is a little store and restaurant as you walk into Varenna where you can by drinks and snacks. Recommend you load up with supplies, carry them back to the hotel, and entertain yourself.

- I would not attempt to walk from the train station with bags. There's a house right next to the train station. A lady who drives a taxi lives there (she could be the only taxi driver in Varenna). Go knock and ask for a ride. We interrupted her dinner but she was still very nice.

- We really fell in love with little Varenna. It feels much less touristy than Bellagio. Yes, there are a lot of day trippers there during the day but most of them get back on the ferry to Bellagio or wherever and the town has more of a local feel to it at night. We loved walking around before and after dinner and taking in the ambiance.

- This hotel is a little bit of a walk from the center of Varenna but it's entirely doable for people in reasonable health. You really can't get from the water up to the center of the town without climbing some steep cobblestone stairs. If you can't handle the walk from Varenna to the hotel, you probably won't enjoy the ups and downs of Varenna.

- Best Thing We Did: Walk down to the water front and rent a boat from Moreno at Boats2Rent (http://www.boats2rent-varenna.net/). I have no power boating experience at all but we were totally comfortable renting a 40hp boat and cruising around the lake. Very safe and an incredible way to explore the lake without being part of some huge tour group. We tore around at full speed for about two hours and might have saw a fifth of the lake. Amazing.

- The people complaining about the older gentleman who manages the hotel must need friends or something. Yes, he's a rather taciturn old guy. He also made sure we had fresh coffee when we couldn't drag ourselves out of bed in time for breakfast and we thought he was nice. No, he's not really chatty, but he's probably in his mid 80s and most men that age aren't particularly gregarious.

In summary, the decor and amenities are entirely unremarkable but the view is one that you will never forget.

Room Tip: You could throw a party on the balcony of the Teodolinda Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rooms, we had a lower level with the most incredible view
I wish there was fruit available for breakfast otherwise it was adequate
The walk to town was an easy stroll about 1/2 mile
Varenna is a nice town as well

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We reserved our three days at Eremo Gaudio because we knew we'd have a car with us (the hotel has parking) and because of what we'd read about the views. The hotel is indeed up a one-lane road with one hair pin turn, but not unusual for Italy, and fine if you're careful. Walking into Vernazza from the hotel took 5-7 minutes, downhill, while walking back took 7-10 minutes. As others have described, walking the incline back to the hotel can get your heart racing, but in the cooler late-September weather, we didn't mind doing it twice each day (once coming back from the day's adventures, and again after dinner in town). We booked the Tremezzo Suite. Spacious, but without much personality, the room itself was kept relatively clean, though we did spot some mold, particularly on the bathroom ceiling. The view was tremendous with large glass doors overlooking the lake, plus a small grassy area in front of the room. One day we moved a small outdoor table and chairs to the grassy spot and happily sat with a lunch of bread, salami and cheese (with wine, of course) along with the view. Though it was cloudy for the few days we were there, from the room we could see the fork in the lake where Bellagio sits, then from Lenno in the south, beyond Menaggio in the north, and including Varenna itself. Yes, you take two funiculars to get from the reception/dining area to the rooms, which we found to be a hoot. Breakfast was basic - cornetti, cereals, a baked item, yogurt, coffee/hot water/juice machine. Generally the hotel is tired and could use a makeover. We're glad we stayed here once and that it was late in the season, but would probably look elsewhere if we visit the area again. We found the staff to be pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this place not realizing how amazing it would be. It is built right on the side of a cliff. You need to take two funiculars to get to your room. It is fun and well worth it. It is the best kept secret of Italy if you are looking for a unique place to stay. Rooms are basic but the view is one in a lifetime...overlooking Lake Como. You do need to be in shape to take the hill up to the hotel but trust me, you won't regret it.

If you want to eat dinner there, make sure you book early. It sells out so we weren't able to experience it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel in mid September and have to say we never ever expected such a spectacular vista. We had a large suite in the upper building with a lovely spacious terrace - great place to enjoy the sunset over a glass of wine. Most rooms are smaller than the one we had but there isn't a bad view regardless of which one of the two building you stay in. Rooms and washrooms are very clean and well maintained although modestly furnished. The two lifts that take you to the upper building offer a spectacular view of the lake.

Take a taxi from the train station (10 or 12 euros) when you arrive as the walk up the hill with luggage will be strenuous. The female cab driver we got was very friendly and engaging - pearls and ballet slippers. Once settled in we had no difficulty with the walk and quite enjoyed the exercise. Some seniors may find the walk up hill difficult but the view certainly compensates. For those who drive to Lake Como, the walk will be a non-issue as the place (and the village) seem to have adequate parking.

Complimentary breakfast was excellent but dinner was disappointing - there are lots of better dinner choices in the village. Have seen some negative comments about service but have to say we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite in the upper building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location with views over Lake Como.
Rooms are basic but clean and tidy. We had the Tremezzo suite which was spacious and had a small amount of fairly private outdoor space that we could use. Breakfast was plentiful and of a decent standard. Staff were helpful.
The hotel is up a hill but it's not a particularly demanding walk if you have a basic level of fitness. The journey back up to the hotel from the centre of Varenna takes about 10 minutes. The hotel is quite a distance from both the train station and the ferry terminal, both of which are really in Olivedo rather than Varenna itself. However, it's easy to get to by car and there is free parking available to guests.
There are also two funiculars at the hotel which are a bit of a novelty and another way of enjoying the views over the lake!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eremo Gaudio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.