We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comparison for 3star accommodation in Lago di Como” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eremo Gaudio to your Saves list
Eremo Gaudio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No comparison for 3star accommodation in Lago di Como”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I agree with some comments on the nature of the accommodation in Eremo. Simply put it is the most amazing hotel. Leaving the old guy aside, Laura, sonya, monique made us welcome. The old monastery is a beautiful place, the most elevated views in all of the central lake area. The lake is large and difficult to understand unless here.
Food is basic, but cooked well and priced as reasonably as in town. The staff will help hugely, just ask, the view is breath-taking at night when the restaurant is open in summer.
Funicular is fun and parking is free.
Rooms are air conditioned provide cool luxury in the afternoon after waiting for another ferry!
Access to this favoured part of northern Italy to share with locals and tourists alike is truly freedom, unless you have. Few million to spare. This venue must remain as is, it honours the theological concept and is simply kept without complication. Free wifi, parking, location to the town, views, comfortable rooms, reasonable food without paying for 4 star luxury is rare. thanks Eremo et al

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
201
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is all about the views. And when you book a room here, ensure to remember to book at the top level of the hotel. The views are magnificent! I'm not sure there are better views to be had at any other hotel in the major cities around the center of the lake. Ah-mazing!

But really, the view is all your paying for and why you would stay in his hotel! Varenna isn't a cheap town, but this hotel is competitively priced for what it offers, which is amazing views and mediocre amenities.

The rooms are basic and bare, very European and that's totally fine. The bathrooms are basic and bare. No toiletries, but I don't stay at hotels for their toiletries. :) The tram you take from the bottom of the hotel to the top is a little sketch; it kind of feels like it may fall apart or stop mid-way, but it totally worked every time we needed to go up or down. Now, the breakfast is appalling. There's a cappuccino machine, so no fresh cappuccinos! I feel like that's such a standard at basic, three-star hotels, but this place definitely does not have such. Also, the food is just really basic. I can't, however, speak to the food quality from their restaurant as we didn't eat there.

We only stayed one night as we wanted to experience the view, so I can say that that was really all that was necessary. The customer service isn't bad, it's just a really basic hotel with a really spectacular view! We had a balcony that overlooked the entire central area of the lake (Bellagio and Varenna in perfect view). Here, we enjoyed an Italian happy hour of products we purchased just down in the town center of Varenna. It was so relaxing! :)

Another thing to note when considering if you want to stay here or not, is that it's located about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the main center of Varenna (in front of San Giorgio church). This is totally not a big deal, but could be a problem if you're lugging your rolling luggage up the hill to get to the hotel; we ended up hailing a cab as we were not going to be able to push our luggage up the hill. ;) So the location isn't right in town.

Bottom line: this hotel isn't horrible, it just isn't a place I wouldn't choose o stay again. It's meh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A great view from this elevated hotel. 10 mins walk from the centre of Varenna. Hotel has no character whatsoever and is run by a very grumpy unwelcoming old man. Food was below average and way overpriced. It could be so much better. Showing signs of being run by complacent owners. There are far better hotels in the town for the same price.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fab view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at a regular room with a balcony. The view was excellent. Although it is high up on the hill, the walk from the town to the hotel was only about 15 minutes and was very pleasant walk.
One evening, we purchased some cheese, ham, bread and a bottle of wine for dinner at the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got a superior room, meaning on the upper level. The view is absolutely amazing. You wake up looking over your feet to the best views on the lake, though the French doors, over the deck. However, getting to the room is a little challenging. There are three elevators, each with a little different control. The first is from the lobby up to where I think the regular rooms are. It's an all glass angled elevator. The second elevator is a bit shorter but similar to the first. The third is enclosed and takes you to the level where the superior rooms are. If you're uneasy with heights or seeing the cables and balance weights move, the elevators might be a little too exciting. But once you're there, the views erase any uneasiness.

The rooms are pretty spacious, though the "king" is two doubles together. The mattress was a little older, but the room was clean and well kept. Check out by 11am caught us a little by surprise though.

Room Tip: Go for the Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

With a bit of tweaking, this hotel could be amazing but at the minute the views are by far and away the best feature of the hotel. It is a little walk out of town up hill to get to the hotel, which is fine given that the uphill location is the reason for the gat views. The rooms are a comfortable size with adequate features. However it is notable that, while all rooms are equipped with air conditioning, the owner has had them altered so only he can set the temperatures. The restaurant is pretty average and the overall service at the hotel is moderate at best. Until the service issues are sorted out, I would probably recommend staying somewhere in town for convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was a former monastery, 10-15 minutes stroll from the centre of town. My husband and I stayed 3 nights and we could have stayed a week! The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. Our lake facing room with a balcony (Belagio) was pure magic.
Pros.
Go up the 2 charming funiculars to the upper level rooms. It's worth it for the serene atmosphere and view. Very peaceful and quiet as you roam the beautiful gardens and soak up the surroundings. You can see many villages across the lake from your bed!
Rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable beds.
Cons.
No tea or coffee making facilities and no fridge. Also Airconditioning is controlled by management.

Breakfast was fine and the best coffee machine ever!

We would definitely return to the amazing place but as its out of town they really should place a small fridge in each room so you can sit on your balcony and snack.

Room Tip: Level 3 or 4 with a lake view, dont be put off by the funiculars, the view is to die for and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eremo Gaudio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.