We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bargain with Fabulous views of Lake Como” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eremo Gaudio to your Saves list
Eremo Gaudio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Bargain with Fabulous views of Lake Como”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I actually ended up booking this hotel because the one I really wanted was completely booked, but I have to say it ended up working out ok. Pros: the price was very reasonable, specially considering the view we had from our balcony... STUNNING!!! The lake and the views of the Swiss and Italian mountain range was just perfect. The staff was very nice and kind, the room was also very clean and a decent size. Also, they have this really neat lift that takes you up to the tall portion of the hotel and that has magnificent views of the entire town and the surrounding area. Awesome picture spot.

Cons: The location was a little out of the center of Varenna and you do have a hike to do, stairs included, every time you want to come down into the town. The rooms and the hotel itself are a bit on the outdated side, but then again everything else in these towns is so I was ready to not be in a newly renovated modern place. Also, during our stay the the hotel was experiencing some water problems, so we had no hot water for a while.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    128
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
201
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is a 15-20 min walk uphill from the center of town

Negative: breakfast very poor, rooms spacious but basic furniture and inadequate heating, unfriendly owner


Positive: amazing views from the rooms with balcony ( superior rooms ) private funicular to get to your room !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is located just outside Varenna. It sits on a steep hill above Lake Como and above the magnificent Villa Monastero, which lies along the shoreline. We arrived by train and walked to the hotel. It took less than a half hour, and we stopped for brief rests along the way. There is a taxi service available for those who do not wish to walk. We took the taxi back to the train station at the end of our stay. The Hotel was originally a home for the Vocationist Fathers, a priestly order founded in Naples. Today it bears many of the charming remnants of its history, including attractive marbles and stonework, along with a small chapel. There are lovely pathways and gardens on the hillside surrounding the hotel, as well as little devotional grottoes. To reach the upper part of the hotel where we stayed, there are two small funiculars. We found this quite unique. There were two staff members we encountered regularly during our stay, a young woman and an elder gentleman. The young woman spoke fluent English. She was very helpful. The elder gentleman was generally quiet, but helpful whenever we asked for assistance. We stayed for five days. For us, the place was serene, and the view of the lake and the mountains from the several terraces and from our room was astoundingly beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

my wife and i spent three nights here in early october 2012. this hotel is clean and well run with amazing views of lake como. the rooms are modern with well-equipped ensuites including showers. the property is interesting as it was an orphanage, including the original chapel. how many hotels have you stayed in where you had a funicular to yourself just to get to your room ? the staff speak very little english and, although helpful, tend to be reserved. the downsides are basically two...first, the breakfast was fair, at best. the coffee machine produced only adequate products and the juice machine on all three mornings produced an undrinkable watery ade..virtually everything on the buffet came out of boxes from the closet or refrigerator. second, the location is as far as one can get from the train station and town center and still be considered varenna. unless you are able to walk considerable distances (minimum 1/2 mile) in whatever weather it is at the moment, you will have to take a taxi (at 12 euros) every time you go to the ferry, train, or town. it is no doubt a "romantic" and unusual place, but there are real tradeoffs. for us, returning would be a matter of the offered price and what else was available.

Room Tip: i believe almost all rooms have a view...i'd prefer the lower rooms because you won't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Understand, we cannot comment on the hotel or its view of Lake Como because we literally could not reach the hotel in our rental car. Other reviewers commented about the hotel's distance from the train station and having to climb up a "hill" for 15 or 20 minutes to reach it. They weren't kidding. First, the hotel is on the other side of Varenna from the boat docks, shops and lakeside restaurants. Then there's the "hill" which turned out to be a one lane road with a 10 degree slope with two very tight hairpin turns in it. My husband has been driving in Europe for years so we started up in our European-sized cross-over. Unfortunately, when we reached the first hairpin turn, there were three cars parked there in the landing which gave us no maneuvering room. Because the rental car did not have hand-operated parking brake, my husband could not get traction on the gravel road without either spinning the tires or stalling. We must have struggled to make that turn for almost 10 minutes. Fearing that we would damage the car's transmission if we continued, we finally turned around and headed back down "the hill." We parked and called the hotel to explain our situation and ask if there was an alternate way to reach them. My husband speaks some Italian and the desk clerk spoke some English, but after talking for about five minutes, the desk clerk's solution was to declare "Can't help you" and hang up. We had no choice but to find another hotel in Varenna. Thank goodness, it wasn't high season. We asked to new hotel clerk to call the Eremo and tell them in Italian why we were cancelling so we wouldn't be charged as a "no show." When he did, he said that the manager he spoke to became "hot" (which we assume means abusive) and threatened to charge us for the entire stay, which was against their cancellation policy (they didn't after all).

We were much happier staying closer in Varenna where it was a 10 minute stroll to the boats, restaurants, etc. The view may be spectacular from the Eremo but there are lots of beautiful views of Como from Varenna. And it is really very limiting to a vacation if every time you want to do something, you have to ask yourself if it is worth a 30 minute walk there and back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Eremo Gaudio, you surpassed my expectations! We stayed here two nights in early October during our honeymoon. We took the advice of some of the other reviewers and caught a taxi to the hotel (12 Euros). If you pack light (carry on sized luggage), it will be fairly easy to walk from the train station...if you are in good health.

Our room was located on the lower section of the hotel. The room was clean and looked fairly new/renovated. The view from our room was absolutely breathtaking! However, i highly recommend taking the funicular up to the top section of the hotel. The view up there is even better!

Breakfast was served in the dining area of the lower section. You get a selection of breads, jams, yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, and a really cool Nespresso coffee machine! Man, i need to get one of those...

The downside of Eremo Gaudio is its location and thin walls. Its located about a 20 minute walk from the dock. However, the walk is fairly scenic and is worth the views you get from your room. Keep in mind, this hotel has thin walls and we were able to hear our neighbors TV. The solution to this is to not forget your earplugs! Just give the hotel a shot if you want a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa,ca
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing views from our room, which was not at the upper level. We asked for a double room with balcony. The view was simply amazing and the room was very nice, clean with plenty of room. This hotel has two levels, the upper one, which is reached by the hotel's private funicular Which goes up the side of the hill/cliff about 100 feet. I don' know, since I don't like heights and did not go up there. Or view was amazing enough. The staff at the hotel was very nice, and there was private parking for our car and we could move the car up to the area near the reception desk to load and unload baggage. The hotel is situated about a 15 minute walk from Varenna which is a nice little town across Lake Como from Bellagio. We accessed Varenna by the car ferry which runs regularly from Menaggio (across the Lake). I think the fare was about 18 euros for car and passenger, one was. Not only was it convenient, but it was also fun.

We liked the hotel very much and would definitely stay here again if we returned to this area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eremo Gaudio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.