We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Varenna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Varenna
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Varenna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with friendly staff in the gem of Lake Como which is Varenna. The back of the hotel is directly on the lake with amazing views. The front faces a beautiful little square complete with church and a few bars. The one directly opposite does amazing risottos.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
45
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is located in the town square, has a pool, private beach and private dock. The renovated rooms are light and airy. The breakfast is generous. The owner manager is friendly. Would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. Had a room overlooking the lake and the views were fantastic. It is right in the centre of Varenna. Good pool with plenty of sunbeds when we needed them. Did not think so much of the Gourmet restaurant but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful except we did ask if there was any music on while we were in Varenna and guided towards the concerts advertised but not told about the opera outside the church the next night! Fortunately, although we could not get a seat we had wine in the hotel's bistro restaurant on the square so were able to see and hear everything.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the lake as the views are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that has recently been updated. It is situated on a quiet little square in the center of Varenna. We didn't request a lake view since the hotel has such wonderful areas to sit outside and enjoy the views that we rarely were in our room. Our room overlooked the church in the center of town and we enjoyed the ambiance and view. Although street side we were not bothered by any noise at night and found the town very peaceful. The pool and breakfast were highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived on a dazzling day, and the Royal Victoria was equally dazzling. We had made our reservations far enough in advance that our request for a room with a balcony and a water view was honored. In fact, we were treated with the largest room in the hotel (one of the junior suites) which was on the recently redecorated third floor. It was fantastic. The room was huge, and was very comfortable for three adults. The bathroom was equally spacious. But the highlight of the room was the balcony. We looked out over the pool and out to the Lake. Although we spent little time in our room, when we were there, we naturally gravitated to the balcony and spent much of our time there. We ate dinner in the hotel dining room on our first night and it was surprisingly excellent. The risotto, in particular, was really wonderful. The breakfasts (in the same room) were also very good. Another wonderful feature of the Royal Victoria is the pool and terrace area that looks out over the lake. We commandeered a prime table for several hours on one of our afternoons and had a wonderful time basking in the sun, looking out over the lake and being served a variety of cool drinks. I highly recommend the Royal Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor (third floor) of the hotel was renovated in early 2013. The rooms on that floor are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Varena, we loved it! Royal Victoria has some gorgeous lake views and has a great location in Varena. We will definitely return to the Royal Victoria. The staff was very nice. We loved having breakfast on the terrace over looking the garden and lake. The pool was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel had been recently renovated and it showed. The rooms were lovely, with nice material selections; very spacious. The bathroom was well-appointed, with a very nice shower. Our rooms had balconies that looked out over the pool, terrace garden and the lake; lovely.

The staff was not overly friendly at the front desk. They also were not very helpful with recommendations. But their terrace, pool and small beach were delightful. We took advantage of all their amenities. When we rented a boat for one morning it was delivered to the hotel dock; very convenient.

Breakfast was decent, although with a 4-star rating I expected more variety and quantity of selections.

Varenna is perfectly situated on Lake Como; if we ever go back we will most likely stay there again. Our time in Lake Como was in the middle of our vacation, and we were looking for a bit of a respite from the hectic pace of places like Venice, Florence and Rome. With its location directly overlooking the lake and its pool, Royal Victoria was a great place to relax during an otherwise busy vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room on the "lake" side of the hotel, and with a balcony. Well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.