We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Olivedo to your Saves list
Hotel Olivedo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Martiri della Liberta,14, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The views from Hotel Olivedo were spectacular, as we had a corner room with windows overlooking the full perspective of the lake and mountains. The room was spacious, but could best be described as quaint. It's more like sharing an elderly aunts home - the furniture and decor are from a bygone era. Inevitably that makes it more difficult to keep as clean as more modern hotels - it's not bad, just average. At least the bed linen was clean. The bathroom shower head couldn't be fastened to anything and had to be hand held - manageable but not ideal. In summary, it's a tired quirky hotel run by a very pleasant family but in a fantastic location both for the views and local bars and restaurants. We would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    133
    53
    27
    32
See reviews for
61
256
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varenna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in September. Found room, clean, comfortable and well serviced. Views over lake were fantastic. Hotel in the ferry area, so lots 'going on' outside. We enjoyed the atmosphere this created. We had a meal at this establishment one night. This was good. Breakfast was basic, (continental - no hot options), but good. Varenna, was a fantastic town to spend time in. It was busy during the day, but much quieter in the evening, with many cafe's and restaurants to explore - they were all generally reasonably priced.. It was also a good base to explore the lake's towns.
The owner, Laura and her staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

......you can obtain great views almost anywhere in Varenna. Laura can be charming, or downright unhelpful. If you decide to stay here, do NOT ask Laura for directions to another café, bar or restaurant. She wants you to dine in her establishment. After checking-in, I asked her where a specific café was, and her mood shifted dramatically, instantly. I felt that somehow I had offended her by the way she reacted. After I returned from the other café, she told me that "I had to give you another room" , which was not nearly as nice as the one we agreed upon months prior via email.

The rooms are fine, but have small showers which are difficult to operate. There are better choices in Varenna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Oliveda several years ago. Not a great room, but fine. Did have to wade through cigarette smoke. Decided to give it another go and in April 2013, we booked 2 rooms for October 2013. We received confirmation from Laura on April 19, confirming both rooms with prices and terms. We were instructed "to reconfirm a few days in advance of your reservation." Well, thank goodness my husband is a little bit anal - he emailed her today (September 3) and received an immediate reply that she had NOT reserved our rooms and had nothing available. This was on the same email thread as the confirmation that we DID have rooms. We have just spent over 6 hours finding another accommodations. While Laura did offer to help us find other accommodations, the sole place she found was the lowest ranked hotel in Varenna. My question is - why weren't the people she booked after us told no rooms were available when she realized she'd made a mistake? If we had checked "a few days in advance" we would have been completely out of luck.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had originally made reservations to stay here based on some of the photos and reports from trip advisor, BUT, after arriving in Varenna and seeing the location and exterior of this hotel, I am very glad that I did NOT stay here. What some of the photos do not show is that there is a busy street and ferry stop right in front of the hotel - it is noisy and trashy looking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We traveled Italy this summer for a month and this was the highlight of our trip. In my opinion Varenna is the most beautiful and picturesque spot in the world. I would highly recommend Hotel Olivedio. This hotel has been family run and owned for decades. I was in contact with Laura, the owner, through e-mails about special requests, she was very accommodating. Upon arrival she welcomed us by name. We ate in the hotel restaurant which served a great eggplant parmesan. Breakfast was also very good. The location is good, it is a short, beautiful water front stroll to the main village. Although the hotel is right buy the ferry I never really heard it. While staying there I noticed that several people were return guests, I think it is because Laura treats her guests like family. I hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor the top floor has very low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a trip around France and Italy and are pleased that we made the choice to stay in Varenna. After reading reviews of the hotel we were really excited to stay and booked three nights there.

The are elements of the hotel that are great but there are things that let it down. Laura was efficient and pleasant when we checked in but not overly warm. Our room was very clean and spacious with a lovely view over the lake. It was a roasting hot August day so we were thankful it was nice and cool inside.

We chose not to eat at the hotel for the first night but did for the other two and it was delicious! The ravioli was the best pasta I have ever had - and I eat a lot of pasta! We also seemed to build up a bit of a rapport with Laura and she explained that I should have olive oil, pepper and lemon on the braesaola I had chosen.

Breakfast lets Olivedo down unfortunately. It was the same selection of croissants, bread, cheese, ham and cereal every day and just didn't have anything special about it. We felt like it had been done on the cheap and they obviously can produce lovely food as we found out at dinner.

Air con wise - yes it goes off in the morning until 2.30pm but if you keep the shutters closed it really wasn't that hot. Yes it's a bit strange but didn't really affect us.

Finally beware of Saturday night in the summer! There is a bar right next to the hotel that plays live music until about 1am....and you can hear it....LOUDLY!! We were really upset as it was our first night there but we spoke to Laura about it the next morning and she said she had complained so many times but the Mayor just tells her everyone has the right to work. The second two nights were lovely and quiet thankfully and with the French doors closed you can barely hear the ferry.

Overall Olivedo was a great experience and we will go back. There are just a couple of tweaks that could turn it into a nice hotel into something out of this world.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta,14, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olivedo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.