We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olivedo to your Saves list
Hotel Olivedo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Martiri della Liberta,14, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
South San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Olivedo for the second time, and it definitely didn't disappoint. If anything, it has improved over time. The location can't be beat, and the views of Lake Como are inspiring. This time, my husband and I had a room in the villa, while my kids stayed in the hotel. The villa was perfect for us as it offered a quieter, more private stay. There are also a few very nice common rooms in the villa that were perfect for enjoying the views (especially since it was raining while we were there!). The hotel is great as well, but the rooms are definitely smaller than those in the villa.
The highlight of any trip to Varenna, however, is Laura. We always enjoy visiting with her, and her food is amazing. The pasta alone is reason enough to choose the Hotel Olivedo. It was hard for us to eat anywhere else during our trip. We'll definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Book the villa if possible, and eat at the hotel's restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    133
    55
    30
    33
See reviews for
63
263
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved This fourth generation hotel. The owner Laura is always nearby and ready to help you with recommendations and translations! Our room, which was on the second floor, was bright and nicely appointed with a desk, vanity, comfy chair and very comfortable bed. We had a lake view balcony on the front and a side window and both had amazing views. Hotel Olivedo is so convenient to the ferry and also for walking into town, so it made our adventures very easy and convenient.
This was our 7th trip to Italy but our first time in Varenna and we will definitely return!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hotel Olivedo is one of my favorite places to stay in Italy. It is a beautiful "old world" inn. The rooms are comfortable and well kept. Laura is the perfect host and always tries to be helpful. We have stayed here three times and never had a bad experience. The meals are outstanding, made from scratch and truly Italian. The bath tub is old world, but part of the charm. The location is perfect for exploring all of Lake Como and the views from the hotel are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We took a group of twelve to Italy for a painting workshop with the Hotel Olivedo as our first stop. We were spread throughout the hotel and the two surrounding buildings. The villa, located a short walk away, provided a wonderful porch and common area where we painted for several days. The views from both the hotel and villa were superb. The ferry, that allowed us to tour the other villages on the lake, was right outside the hotel door. Laura, who at first seemed distant, proved to be warm, charming, and an extremely helpful hostess as we got to know her. Our room on the fourth floor (or fifth by American standards) was our joke. While there was an elevator to the third (or fourth) floor, the stairs became our daily exercise. Being at the top of the hotel meant we also had a floor level window and another at ceiling height. We could see the water or the sky. The room proved cozy and met our needs perfectly. The staff was great. One of the best discoveries was the meals. The breakfasts are, as we later found, your usual Italian fare, but the supper restaurant cuisine was the best of any that we had on the lake. The location couldn't have been better. It was a superb stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. The top floor means you need to be in good shape for climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Olivedo for three nights in May of 2013. Laura absolutely took care of us in her kind and wise way. Laura speaks excellent english, and was patient with my practicing my newly learned italian.We also loved her Mama, who speaks no english but smiles her welcome. Our room was on the third floor with fabulous lake views in two directions. The room was immaculate, beautiful and bright. The ferry was conveniently close, and the double-paned windows made sure it was quiet inside. We had a balcony and loved to sit outside and enjoy Lake Como.
The food was so good that we ate at the hotel for each breakfast and every dinner, only having lunch elsewhere during our explorations. I especially loved the fish and the soup.
Varenna was the perfect home-base for us. It has the train station, but we never heard the train. There is a water-side promenade that we walked each evening, and it leads to fascinating places, like the shortest river in italy.
We will go back to the hotel that Laura's grandmother started, and that Laura runs so well that it felt like home. We will go back to Lake Como, God willing, and we will stay in Hotel Olivedo when we do.

Room Tip: We loved our third floor on the side. I think all rooms have good views, except the forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked Olivedo based on Trip advisor reviews which were very helpful. Location is great for catching the ferry as well as the Train. Laura and all the Hotel staff were very nice. Our room was on the fourth Floor with only a tiny window at the floor level with Lake views but we didn't mind. One thing though, the bed was a rock. It has to be the hardest best I've ever slept in..maybe it was just in the room we got but its a deal breaker. Other than that we would stay again..Varenna is absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our room was large, bright, and attractive with a spectacular view of Lake Como. The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located right next to the ferries. The ferries did not run late so it was quiet at night. The staff was friendly and hard-working. We would recommend both the Hotel Olivedo and its restaurant. The pumpkin gnocchi was so good that I had it twice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta,14, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olivedo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.