We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, convenient, satisfying meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Del Sole

Albergo Del Sole
17 Piazza San Giorgio, 23829 Varenna, Italy
0341 815218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Chowder, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Affordable, convenient, satisfying meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Since many of the restaurants in Varenna require a reservation or don't start serving til 7pm, it's nice to have some place you can go that won't break the bank, has a wide menu, and tasty food. I found that to be entirely true at Albergo Del Sole. My husband and I shared a pizza, and the veal , both were excellent. There were some tourists, but also locals in the restaurant, which to me is always a good sign. This isn't someplace to go for a fancy, romantic meal, but somewhere to relax and leave with a full belly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    58
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We liked this place so much our first night in Varenna that we came here all three nights! The food was wonderful and the staff was so warm and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very relaxing meal in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a lovely good value meal ( inexpensive house wine!)
In relaxing surroundings by the square
This part of Italy can be very expensive but we thought this was good blue for the money we paid

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First evening in Varenna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wandered around the small town area and stumbled upon this place a very short distance, as it turned out, from our hotel. Shown through into the main seating area and then offered the outside courtyard. We took this option and discovered that it was cosy and protected from the elements by a lovely mural covered wall and a good discreet clear roof. Had it rained, which it didn't we would have been protected. Food - particularly the pizza's were delicious and huge. Local house wine was great value and dessert's, tiramisu and apple and cinnamon slices, were both wonderful. My wife and I shared tastes of each - I didn't eat both! Great venue, charming staff and manager.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Varenna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went here for lunch at the advice of our B&B host. The thin crust pizza was so good, we went back and back for lunch and dinner. The owner, Francesco, manager, Enzo, and waiter, Giuseppe, were very friendly and helpful. There is a good selection of fish and pasta dishes. We enjoyed all of our meals. And the prices are quite moderate. Other tourists we met in Varenna shared our favorable views of this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albergo Del Sole also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Albergo Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.