We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but Good Fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Varenna Caffe'

Varenna Caffe'
Contrada Scoscesa, 13, Varenna, Italy
+39 0341 830459
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Exclusive Lake View, Light Lunch & Dinner, Continental Breakfast
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Simple but Good Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

While not a top restaurant, Varenna Caffe offers good fare at a reasonable price. We dined there later one evening on return from a day in Bellagio. We had a front row table looking out across the lake. Service was professional and attentive. The food we ate was delicious: bruschetta topped with Brie, onions and a savory marmalade, and hearty salads served with excellent breads. We also had a good bottle of Valpolicella to go with our food and ended the evening with some Braulio amaro made in Bormio. We would dine there again and recommend the place for the experience of reasonable food with a to-die-for view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    81
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“On the lake sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved the location. We ate there twice, lunch and dinner. The latter was even better since we got to enjoy the sunset and the lake breeze was cooler. In addition, most of the tourists that were not staying in Varenna were gone, so it was a bit more quiet and intimate. We had bruschetta, salad, carbonara and gelatto with Amaretto Disaronno. Enjoyed it very much. Yes, I've had better meals, but the simplicity and location of this Caffe makes it worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lakeside delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just at the water's edge, amongst other restaurants and gift shops, is this unassuming restaurant and gelateria. We had wonderful mushroom risotto followed by amazing wild cherry ice cream. Apart from other tourists, there was a local businessman eating here, which say a lot. It is worth the ferry ride and walk from the landing just to come here! Not cheap, but definitely worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tourist restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had lunch here. The food was underwhelming whilst the prices were above average. The lasagne's were reheated and cold in spots. The carbonara was average. It has a good location being right on the lake. It’s probably best for a drink such as a coffee / cake in the morning or a prosecco in the afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice breakfast and lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I ordered the Risotto and it was very tasty. It came out quickly from the kitchen. This is a wonderful cafe where we spent two hours enjoying our table and the lake view. I'd recommend this place for breakfast or lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varenna Caffe' also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Varenna Caffe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varenna Caffe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.