We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CASA MADDALENA CENTER VARENNA

Livingroom entrance
Varenna
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suzanne W
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Finished our 2 month trip to Europe with a 2 week stay in Varenna. Our decision to stay at Maddalena House was one of the highlights of our trip. The apartment is very authentic and exactly as described. Ideal for two people and very well equipped. Situated on the town square it is within walking distance to pretty much everything you need, including the pier for ferries to other towns on Lake Como and the train station. Maddalena as a hostess cannot be faulted. Picked us up from station on our arrival as we were loaded with luggage and took us to a supermarket to do some shopping. Also took the time to show us a few of the sights and gave us recommendations as to where to eat etc. Nothing was ever too much trouble for her and I must say that in all our years of travel we have never experienced anything like it. Much appreciated the fact that she also took us to the train station the day of our departure as we had a very early train to catch. In summary anyone considering visiting this amazing part of the world would do themselves a favour in staying at Maddalena House for genuine Italian hospitality.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location - Authenticity
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
wmrbarker
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maddalena House Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We recently spent two weeks in Marilena Anghileri’s Maddalena House in central Varenna. The one-bedroom apartment was located on Varenna’s main piazza, with a picture-perfect view of the piazza and the town’s church. The apartment was clean, comfortably well appointed, authentically decorated, and had a modern, updated kitchen and bath. Ten minutes walk to the train station. Less than ten minutes walk to the ferry. One minute walk down to the waterfront. Several dining options right out the door on the piazza and off. Varenna’s two small food shops (macelleria and frutta e verdura) and town pharmacy are also located on the piazza. And for the two weeks we were living there, the main piazza had several local events that had us right in the middle of things.

Varenna is centrally located on Lake Como, a ferry ride away from Bellagio, Menaggio, and the other lake towns. Trains runs north-south on the east side of the lake through Varenna. Milano is just over an hour away by train; St. Moritz via the Bernina Express is a long day trip, but worth the effort for the adventure. We chose not to rent a car and never felt we needed one. For “groceries,” take the five-minute train ride north to Bellano.

Varenna makes a great base for exploring this part of Italy. After two weeks of almost daily excursions, we feel like there is more to do. We will happily return.

We really enjoyed our stay and wholeheartedly recommend this apartment to those looking for an authentic Italian Lakes experience in the lovely small town of Varenna.

William & Patricia
Seattle, USA

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Central Location
Liked least: Not enough time
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RobbieGeo...
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay for the authentic Italian experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Maddalena house and this was the highlight of our tour of Italy. We booked directly with Marilena and this process was efficient and secure.
Our apartment was very clean and had a large bedroom with en-suite, a lounge room and a fully equipped kitchen. All the rooms were well appointed with traditional Italian décor, creating a wonderful holiday atmosphere.
The apartment is on the first floor overlooking the town square, and we had a perfect vantage point to observe community activities.
Marilina lives in the same building and she was a fantastic source of information on sightseeing and activities. She introduced us to several local residents and we were made to feel part of the community. A wonderful experience.
The apartment is convenient to the railway and ferry and close to many restaurants, shops and banks.
We highly recommend this apartment and it is ideal for either a short or long term stay in Varenna.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great location close to the lake, transport and restaurants.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jennymorg
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like staying with a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment in May 2013 and we felt like we belonged here. Marilena met us in the town square, helped with our luggage and went with my husband to show him where to park. This apartment is so well equipped with everything you could want or need for a week's stay. There were brochures and advice to cover all sorts of interests. Marilena is a great host and we loved this apartment.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It felt like a home not a rental.
Liked least: walking up the stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mrhvsh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lake Como without the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Maddalena House is true value for money with location and service all that the visitor could wish for. It is the ideal location for a couple who want to experience Lake Como away from the madding crowd. We overlooked the main square and church, and it was less than a five minute stroll to the lake front. Though small (one bedroom with an en suite, sitting room, and kitchen/laundry combined), it had all the facilities we needed, and the service from Marillena could not have been better. For much of our stay she was living in the apartment below and always available, and, when she was not, she was available for advice by phone. The kitchen facilities and nearby shops (all within a minute or two on foot) made self catering a pleasure. When we wanted to eat out, there were plenty of options at a good price.
Varenna is quiet, but all touring activities are easily accessible by ferry or bus. One can have as restful or as active a time as wanted. Bellagio, a major tourist and shopping town is quite close by ferry and there is an excellent all day cooking class which includes a spectacular trip high into the surrounding mountains and a lunch to die for.
Access to Varenna is easy by train from Milan and we had no need of a car during our seven day stay.
We agree with a previous reviewer that a hotel in this area would provide much less satisfaction and would probably cost a lot more.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul Q
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, well-equipped and comfortable apartment with amazing views of Lake Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Camilla House at Varenna for a week in May 2013. This apartment is actually located at Fuimelatte, a short distance out of Varenna. The view from the apartment was stunning - across Lake Como to Bellagio and Menaggio, with snow-capped peaks beyond. We were met by our very welcoming hostess, Marilena, who carefully explained everything that we needed to know to enjoy our stay. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and fully equipped. There was an unusually generous supply of consumables, soaps, detergents, etc. and the bed was very comfortable. There is a parking space allocated to the apartment and Marilena also provided us with a permit to access a lockup garage in Varenna close to the ferry terminal, which was useful because on-street parking in Varenna is very scarce and we made a number of ferry trips during our stay. She also lent us her laptop which was equipped with a USB key so we could access the internet during our stay. We cannot speak too highly of Marilena who is the perfect hostess.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, views, space, comfort
Liked least: Can't think of anything to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RichardDi...
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Why stay in a hotel when you have Marilena's wonderful apartment?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

April 12 -15, 2013, my wife and I stayed in Varenna (Lake Como) for three nights at the Maddalena House owned by the beautiful Marilena Anghileri. It overlooked the town square. It had a full kitchen and wash machine, a balcony off the kitchen, a good size living room with TV, a large bedroom and nicely equipped bathroom. It was quiet, though next to the square. Every morning at 7:00am, the church's bells at the front of the square would ring seven times, followed by a minute of beautiful church bell ringing. We kept our refrigerator full of fresh fruits and juices from the nearby corner market. The lake front was less than a two minute walk. And Marilena was always there in her below apartment with answers to any questions we had, or suggestions on places to go an things to do. She was gracious enough to pick us up in her car upon arrival at the train station, and to take us back there when we left. Most of all, we loved her suggestions of restaurants to eat. Our favorite was right below our bedroom window--Albergo del Sole. It was so good, we ate there three nights straight--excellent meals and service every time. This, being our second trip to Varenna, was by far the most enjoyable and relaxing of the two. You just do not get the service, comfort and family feeling in a hotel as you do when you stay with Marilena and her amazing cat, Tartufina. at Maddalena Apartments. Relax and enjoy the beauty of Lake Como's Varenna, and Marilena's hospitality.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Marilena's hospitality and location
Liked least: Having to leave this beautiful place.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$111
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Marilena A
Speaks English, Italian, French, German
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing