We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel du Lac Varenna is fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varenna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Save
You added Hotel du Lac to your Saves list
Via del Prestino 4, 22050 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel du Lac Varenna is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I was extremely lucky to have secured a room in Hotel du Lac in Varenna (and not just any room - THE room right in the center of the building overlooking the lake). Despite the hefty price, it was well worth it for the experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were immaculately clean. Varenna is quiet but charming; the best place to stay in Lake Como. If you want some action, you can always take the ferry to other islands like Belaggio.

The hotel experience was fantastic from the get-go: we met a friendly Irish man on the train and he kindly accompanied us from the station to the street outside the hotel. Later that night, I saw him manning the front desk; talk about coincidence.

I highly recommend VARENNA MON AMOUR ristorante near the hotel; they have the best seafood pasta. The ingredients are so fresh, you can still taste the sea!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    63
    25
    11
    1
See reviews for
29
211
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful - very friendly service, fantastic view of Lake Como, a delightful breakfast/lunch room and terrace on the lake and big comfortable beds in clean pleasantly decorated rooms. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars for the room was that it had no bath. That was not an issue for us but if you want a bath, our room wouldn't have been it. Our view was amazing, though, and we had a small balcony with 2 chairs to admire it from. We hope to go back there again.
note: This hotel is old (hence its great charm!!) and has no elevator - so it may not be suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Views from every room. Spacious and well appointed rooms. Wonderful terrace and bar/restaurant for sipping cappachino while viewing the lake. Located right on lakefront walk and just a short walk to ferry landing. Only a short ferry boat ride and you can be in Belagio.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du lac for 4 days in September. The hotel is situated on Lake Como in Varenna, and our room had a breathtaking view of the lake. With a sleep loft above and floor to celing windows, it felt like we were in our own snug boat looking out at absolutely mesmerizing views, which were replicated on the terrace. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with restaurant and excursion recommendations. We would return to this place in a heartbeat. VERY romantic!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights having arrived on the train from Milan. We walked to the hotel (took about 10min) but got a taxi back to the station when we left (cost about 8 Euros). One tip, the ticket machine at the station wasn't working so had to walk back down from the station to the travel agents to buy the tickets so perhaps best to get tickets day before leave and then no problems!
We were staying in room one which is separate to the main hotel down a flight of steps. Our room wasn't ready on arrival but this was fine as we went to Bellagio for the afternoon. We were told that our luggage would be moved to our room but when we arrived back at the hotel it was still sitting in reception. Not a great start service wise.
Both the room and bathroom were spacious. We had a very small balcony which is only wide enough for a chair to fit sideways but the views are amazing. The hotel has perhaps the best views of the Lake.
The light outside our door wasn't working and although the staff were aware of this, it wasn't fixed during our stay. Given that you have to walk down a flight of stairs to get to our room, doing this in pitch black really isn't very safe. I would expect something like this to be fixed immediately, especially in a four star hotel.
The breakfast selection was quite poor for this standard of hotel and given the price we paid per night, we expected a bit more. The orange juice and water were warm and nothing seemed to be very fresh.
The hotel does have a bar, although it didn't seem to be open very often. However, whenever we wanted a drink, the staff were happy to oblige.
We ate at La Vista restaurant which was one of our favourite meals from our three week trip. The terrace is stunning and the views amazing. The service is great and the food is very good value for money. You need to book in advance though as it was busy.
We enjoyed our stay and thought that Varenna was beautiful. We were glad that we picked Varenna over Bellagio.
Desite a few niggles, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

location:

In a prime spot overlooking beautiful lago como . If you walk to the right out of the hotel you are on a quiet path . Walk straight up you are in the town square . Walk to the left and the path goes past restaurants, bars , shops, gelaterias, and towards the ferry dock All lovely strolls.

Hotel:
A little reception area, then a bar, with a lounge, and a breakfast room, with a terrace on the lake. Our room # 25 was a corner with two views of the lake, Room was clean , and of a decent size. A good tub / shower in the bathroom. Staff were helpful ,and friendly.

Varenna ;
For us Varenna was a better place to stay than Bellagio, were we walked around one afternoon. We took the ferry to go Villa Carlotta , pretty garden. For restaurants we liked Vecchia Varenna , and il molo. Great sunsets, and live music. Varenna is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Since it was September, we were taking our chances & traveling without
reservations. We walked along the lakeside to this hotel, prettily tucked along
a curve in the path. The lakeside terrace serves a light lunch & stunning views
of Lake Como. The bar serves all day. Breakfast is included with room rate. When we asked about a room, we were told that only a superior room
with a lakeside terrace was available. Even though the rate was a little more
than we wanted to pay, we fell in love with the room (Oleander) & the view. To
our blessing, a cancellation allowed us to stay 3 nights. The room was spacious
with a full sofa and 2 chairs in a sitting area, a small vanity/desk,
mini-fridge, safe, plenty of closet space, a huge double bed, tub/shower combo
in the bathroom, and double French doors that led onto the private terrace. The
terrace had a small table with 2 chairs for sipping morning coffee or watching
the towns light up along the lake after sunset. There was also a chaise and sun
chair for soaking up the afternoon sun. The front desk personnel & staff all
spoke admirable English & were helpful in suggesting & making reservations. Many
mornings the included breakfast buffet also offered a short menu a la carte.
Wi-fi was included (in the lobby) but parking was an additional 15 euros/night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 22050 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.