We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varenna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Save
You added Hotel du Lac to your Saves list
Via del Prestino 4, 22050 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Morrisville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise with peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 nights in the first leg of our 3 week trip around Europe and it ended up being a family favorite. Very relaxing with a beautiful view in a very quiet location. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. Will return again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    61
    25
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
206
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for our first few nights of a trip to the lakes. We hadn't booked but they had their 'best' room available (No 12, I think) which gave us a huge balcony and spectacular views of the lake. It was well worth extra cost.

The staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke to good English, breakfast was good and they were happy to provide items not on show (tomatoes).

They do have a car park but t is at an extra cost so if you are prepared to walk you can park for free at the edge of the village.

Room Tip: Room 12 is their largest room and is on the corner of the building so you get two aspects and a lage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our time here because it was so quiet and relaxing. The scenery is beautiful and there are lots of things to see and do. The hotel is in an good location, within walking distance to lots of activities. We hope to return and next time we would upgrade to a room with a view.

The breakfast was good and offered lots of variety. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless.

Room Tip: I would choose to pay for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, excellent hotel. The staff is very helpful. In particular Guido provided terrific guidance for dinner reservations and things to do. Connor was very helpful with after hour libations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here only one night as part of our honeymoon (we were on our way to Venice for a Greek cruise). We both wish we could have stayed in this beautiful place longer! The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and our room, although slightly more expensive than we wanted to pay, was absolutely wonderful! Amazing views of Lake Como and Italian mountains! Very clean hotel with a nice breakfast spread in the morning (with more amazing views). We would return in a heartbeat! A note to those driving to the hotel... there is parking but you must drive through the main town square (where a market may be taking place), down a VERY steep, narrow road. Tricky but doable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Varenna is the perfect place to stay on Lake Como, and it is easy to see why the Hotel du Lac is rated as the best place in town. It is in a short walk to the main part of the town, yet quiet, and is situated right on the lake. It is spotless and modern, with a friendly staff.

So why not 5 stars? It is a small place, and they reserve out rather specific room types. To make a long story short, we didn't get the "Lake View" room we thought we had reserved. Instead we had a partial lake view. Still very nice, just not what we thought we had reserved many months in advance.

Nevertheless, the hotel is otherwise first-rate, with very well appointed rooms, and a fantastic bar terrace from which to enjoy a cocktail and enjoy the lake view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Du Lac on a very warm August day after taking the train from Milan. We were both pleased with the hotel, its old world charm, friendly staff, great location, and air conditioning. The room we had booked was #25 with a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding mountains. The room was clean and well kept. Our room had a tiny balcony with two chairs where we could sit and look out over the lake. A European style breakfast was served in the small dining /bar area in the morning. This area had a very nice outdoor terrace where we sat and lingered over our breakfast, enjoying the spectacular view. Also, in the evening before we went to dinner we would sit on the terrace and enjoy an aperitif accompanied by a complimentary light snack. The hotel does not serve dinner, but there are some terrific restaurants nearby. We took the recommendations of the hotel staff and were not disappointed.
Hotel Du Lac is only a few minutes away from where the ferry docks. We would catch the ferry in the morning and tour the towns on Lake Como. Very convenient.
If you arrive by train and are not use to walking, especially with luggage, I would suggest you take a taxi from the train station to the hotel. My husband and I only travel with small carry-on luggage and did not find the walk difficult, but it is probably a 15 minute walk. ( Head toward the ferry dock and take the promenade along the lake to the hotel.)
Make sure you book early since there are not many rooms. I booked our room about 10 months in advance and was glad I did. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Du Lac and the town of Varenna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 22050 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.