We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning sunset and cheap cocktails, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Via Riva Garibaldi 14, 23829 Varenna, Italy
+39 0341 830070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning sunset and cheap cocktails, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place has the pick of the bunch when it comes to the view. On first glance I was going to keep walking as the food choices looked a bit ordinary, but we decided to take it anyway to watch the sun set over Lake Como.
We started with cocktails, which were relatively cheap considering how strong they were. Then the pasta and pizza - nothing particularly special, but the view was stunning.

I have to admit the service was relatively poor - it took almost 40 minutes to get drinks, even after 2 reminders. The food was on time, just the drinks were always incredibly slow.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    141
    37
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice little café right on Lake Como - had a nice dinner on a chilly evening - nice that they had blankets for sitting outside. Beautiful views and the food was very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Ding Experience, and the Food was Good Too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

They could have served me anything while sitting on the outdoor patio enjoying the views of Lake Como, and it would have been great. However, the food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
462 reviews 462 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
931 helpful votes 931 helpful votes
“Simple Fare with Great Views of Lake Como”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you want decent food with a pretty big choice, and a seat close to Lake Como with some views up the hill of Varenna, then this is a good choice.

Food is adequate but the atmosphere and view are the reason to go.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great place to drink, eat, and watch the sun set”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We wandered into Bar il Molo for a drink and to watch the sun set. The food coming by looked good and we stayed for dinner. We were glad we did. The seating on the edge of the lake offer a beautiful vista to view as we had the Lasagna Bolognese (which we liked so much we're trying to duplicate it at home). We service was friendly and helpful and we highly recommend them for just drinks, or drinks & traditional fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Il Molo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.