We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Il Molo and Divina Vita B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Via Riva Garibaldi 14, 23829 Varenna, Italy
+39 0341 830070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bar Il Molo and Divina Vita B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just back from 4 idealic days on Lake Como in a lovley little village named Varenna, accessible by train from MIlan or Bergamo and then ferry to Bellagio etc.. on Lake Como! What an amazing experience! The owners of the restaurant and B & B , Silvia and Simone treated us like royalty!! So spoilt were we that we thought we must have been their inaugural guests in their one bedroom split level apartment overlooking the lake and restaurant!! We were amazed to have full English style breakfasts each morning by the lake served with beautiful fresh orange juice and fresh frutis with yoghurt..then as many capuccinos as we wanted!! this was an unusual find in Europe and was so reasonalbly priced!! Highly recommended to all who would like an out of the usual tourist traffic flow!! Would be a perfect place to stay for a honeymoon couple!!Thankyou Simone and Silvia for a memorable stay!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    133
    34
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistent & Reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Both Bar Il Molo & Nilus were our choices for dinner almost every night of our week's stay in Varenna. Very reliable and consistent in their service and menu. Can't remember which one has crepes... Try the savory crepes -- really delicious!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent location & very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate at Bar Il Molo several times during out stay on Como, food was great, staff very friendly and welcomed our 8 month old with huge smiles. Supplied a high chair every time, unusual for this part of the world as several restaurants didn't seem to have any available). Very reasonable prices considering the location. Couldn't recommend Bar Il Molo more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect location right on the water front in Varenna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great restaurant and very reasonable prices! The bill for us with 8 dinners, drinks, appetizers, and some desert was just over 100 euros. Very close to the water in Varenna. Go and you won't be disappointed. They have many tables in front of the restaurant with umbrellas for shade. I highly recommend this restaurant for a great dinner with an incredible view of the Varenna water front. Ciao!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best view of lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great food and scenery. Ate there several times. Good selection to choose from. Could sit there all day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Il Molo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.