We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallino Ristorante Trattoria dei Pescatori

Cavallino Ristorante Trattoria dei Pescatori
Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 16, 23829 Varenna, Italy
+39 0341 815 219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Price range: $23 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: member of slowfood "Osterie d Italia" for lunch and dinner with the wide range of fresh lake fishkichten open from noon till late evening
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing but good things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location, reviews and menu convinced me that this place was worth a try. The menu is seafood based and we started with a mixed plate of fresh lake fish. We then both followed up with seafood gnocchi and seafood penne before a pannacotta for dessert. The food was very good and very well priced.

It was a cool night, so we ate inside which was lovely and cosy. However on a warm evening, I think outside would be just fantastic.

However the biggest selling point of this place is the lovely staff. We had a chat with two of the people working there who seemed to want to chat all night!

Highly recommended if you are in Varenna. Right next to the ferry wharf.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Kind Service & Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ate dinner here one evening in October 2012. It was a cool night, but we still wanted to sit outside for the beautiful view of the lake and the distant lights along the shoreline. The waitress brought us blankets to put over our laps as we ate. Very kind. The food and wine were excellent. Altogether a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great lakeside location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by for a lunch today while spending our first day in Varenna. The location is killer since it is a nice shaded patio at the ferry landing and the weather was brilliant. We shared a little of wine, while my wife had the carpaccio and Parmesan salad that was plentiful and very good. I had the spaghetti with red sauce, which was very good as well. Overall we were very pleased with the food and the location was just wonderful. We thought he service was very good, prices were fair and we would definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The food in this place is brilliant. Although we are not fan of lake fish, we decided to try it and we didn't regret it at all.

The way they cook the fish in this restaurant is excellent and the result is a delicious meal.

The fish is very fresh (they fish it early in the morning and they serve it the same day).

The wine list is good and their own wine that they served was very cheap in price and very nice with fish.

If you want to taste nice fresh lake fish, you must visit this restaurant

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Food & Service, Very Kind Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived in Varenna via ferry on a rainy afternoon. There were no taxis to be found and none showed up even after the manager of the cafe/bar across from the ferry dock kindly tried calling one for us...something about all of the taxis in town being in the middle of airport runs.... After waiting through a couple of glasses of wine, we decided to address our hunger first by giving up on taxis for the moment and making a run for the nearby restaurant, in pouring rain with our luggage in tow. That's how we discovered Cavallino.

The food was generally good and service was great. The owner/manager couple (both of whom happened to be young, casually stylish and beautiful -- yes, both) stopped by the table several times to check in on us and to thoroughly explain the menu in English (in which both were quite fluent). One dish was particularly memorable: spaghetti with lake fish roe! Light yet full of flavor, it was (and still is) one of the best pasta dishes we'd ever had. We ended up ordering a second round of it even though we were already getting too full to finish our primi's. That dish is one of the reasons why we plan on going back to Varenna on our next trip to Italy this summer.

Another memorable moment came as we finished our delicious and much-needed meal and were preparing to leave. With a couple of hours having passed since our last try, we made another request to call a taxi to take us to our hotel. The owner/manager couple told us that taxis were still hard to come by. They then graciously and without hesitation offered to drive us to our hotel (Cipressi), which is all the way in the southern end of town (sure, Varenna isn't big but it was still a bit of a drive, especially in pouring rain). As the wife (shame on me for not remembering her/their names!) drove us and our luggage in her luxe station wagon, I couldn't help but think that the kind, beautiful couple represented their country/town splendidly that afternoon, inside and out!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavallino Ristorante Trattoria dei Pescatori also viewed

 

Been to Cavallino Ristorante Trattoria dei Pescatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallino Ristorante Trattoria dei Pescatori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.