We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Maria's House, thanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maria's House to your Saves list
Maria's House
Contrada dell'Arco 3, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Varenna B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Maria's House, thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Maria's house was a gem. It is only steps from St.Giorgio's square and a just a short stroll to the waterfront. The ferry terminal is about a 10 minute stroll away. The place is well furnished with everything you might want and has a warm, homey feel to it. We were there for only a few days but felt right at home. Maria and Pietro were wonderful hosts. They picked us up at the train station and returned us there early in the morning when we were due to leave. They were extremely warm and friendly and, although we had some language problems (they had only some english and we had almost no Italian) we managed to communicate. We had a problem with the power going out and Pietro came over within a few minutes to fix it (blown breaker - he knew where the breaker box was). I don't think you could find more accommodating hosts or a nicer place to stay. I recommend it wholeheartedly! Thank you Maria and Pietro!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

dear tripadvisor,
I can find no other way of contacting you, so to those that may read this Maria's is in no way involved. i tried to make a booking thru tripadvisor last night, and a website that called itself Late Rooms.com took over the booking process, now has my credit card details, and i have no confirmation of booking and Maria has not heard of them so must presume we have a scam.Tripadvisor, Plse contact me and Maria's House ASAP.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we arrived late in the sept afternoon when the golden sun was shimmering on the lake...marias B&B was beautifull appointed and comfortable...we had two rooms with ensuites and stayed only 1 night enroute to chamonic via menaggio , lugarno and the simplon pass...the breakfast was fantastic and marias attention to every detail amazing...varenna is such a beautiful village...we were so happy to stay on the side of the lake, where we visited villa monastero gardens and villa carlotta near menaggio...

Room Tip: our room partially overlooked beautiful lake como...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I requested a room for Sept. 25 and 26 in 2011, on Sept 21st of that year, just three days out. That same day they sent an email confirming a "double bath, TV, beautiful lake view...".

We arrive at the train station in Varenna and hire a cab to take us to their B&B Fontelago. I then dial their phone number and hand my cellphone to the cabdriver (lady) to speak to them in Italian. The cab driver then tells me that she is informed we do not have a reservation!

So there I was stuck, to then find a room elsewhere. (I suspect they were able to get a week-long booking, we we got screwed). Ciao'

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the other property that Maria and Pietro own, called Annina's House. It was perfect! Maria and Pietro met us at the Varenna train station and took us (2 min by car) to the apartment. They are a very nice couple, and though they do not speak much English, are extremely friendly, warm and gracious people.
This apartment is just ~40m from the beautiful waters of Lake Como, on a quiet "contrada" or little mini-alleyway, and also a very short walk to the local grocery store (Note: VERY small), small town center, restaurants and an easy, 10 min water-front walk to the ferry dock. We stayed in several apartments during our 3-week Italian adventure, and this was by far our favorite. The apartment is nicely furnished and decorated, has the best equipped kitchen of all the places we stayed, and even has a great notebook of information on all of the area's towns and sites.
Pieto and Maria even took us back to the train station when we checked out. We will definitely revisit Lake Como and wouldn't think twice about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Not only was it a lovely, fully equipped apartment, but the location couldn't have been better (for the price). Sure, we could have spent 3-4 times as much per night on a hotel room with balcony overlooking the lake. However this apartment was located on the #1 most picturesque sidestreet in Varenna. Centrally located with only a short climb, we were steps away from the upper level of town (the piazza, shops & etc) and only steps down to the central part of the harbor and it's restaurants. We had informed the owners, Maria & Pietro, when our train would arrive. They met us at the station and drove us the short way to the piazza. Then Maria, a very nice lady, showed us around the town, and got us settled in for our stay. She speaks only a bit of English, but we were able to communicate easily. The bed was comfortable, the apartment clean, with a washing machine, satellite TV, and a kitchen. We had a nice patio to sit on, and look at the lake with our glass of wine. This is a real bargain in an area with very few of them

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

studio apartment with washer and dryer as well as cooking facilities. It was in an excellent location to the walk along the lake and a short walk to the train station even though the owners met us at the train station and transported us to the apartment at the beginning and end of our stay. We loved that we could shop at the local grocers and cook our own meals. There was room for the bed to be down, for a dining table, small kitchenette, and laudry facilities. The proprieters were very nice. They spoke only a little English but it was enough to communicate what we needed. The place was very clean in a cute neighborhood and we enjoyed the area very much. There was a view of the lake from the porch and it was just about a half block to the shore walkway. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maria's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's House

Address: Contrada dell'Arco 3, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maria's House, a lovely one-bedroom apartment ( 50 mq ) located in Varenna, an elegant village on the shore of Italy's Lake of Como. The beauty of the place is clearly evident in its ancient buildings, its romantic views, its impressive nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maria's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.