We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful B&B opposite lake como” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's House

Save Saved
You added Maria's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maria's House
Contrada dell'Arco 3, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Varenna B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“beautiful B&B opposite lake como”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we arrived late in the sept afternoon when the golden sun was shimmering on the lake...marias B&B was beautifull appointed and comfortable...we had two rooms with ensuites and stayed only 1 night enroute to chamonic via menaggio , lugarno and the simplon pass...the breakfast was fantastic and marias attention to every detail amazing...varenna is such a beautiful village...we were so happy to stay on the side of the lake, where we visited villa monastero gardens and villa carlotta near menaggio...

Room Tip: our room partially overlooked beautiful lake como...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I requested a room for Sept. 25 and 26 in 2011, on Sept 21st of that year, just three days out. That same day they sent an email confirming a "double bath, TV, beautiful lake view...".

We arrive at the train station in Varenna and hire a cab to take us to their B&B Fontelago. I then dial their phone number and hand my cellphone to the cabdriver (lady) to speak to them in Italian. The cab driver then tells me that she is informed we do not have a reservation!

So there I was stuck, to then find a room elsewhere. (I suspect they were able to get a week-long booking, we we got screwed). Ciao'

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the other property that Maria and Pietro own, called Annina's House. It was perfect! Maria and Pietro met us at the Varenna train station and took us (2 min by car) to the apartment. They are a very nice couple, and though they do not speak much English, are extremely friendly, warm and gracious people.
This apartment is just ~40m from the beautiful waters of Lake Como, on a quiet "contrada" or little mini-alleyway, and also a very short walk to the local grocery store (Note: VERY small), small town center, restaurants and an easy, 10 min water-front walk to the ferry dock. We stayed in several apartments during our 3-week Italian adventure, and this was by far our favorite. The apartment is nicely furnished and decorated, has the best equipped kitchen of all the places we stayed, and even has a great notebook of information on all of the area's towns and sites.
Pieto and Maria even took us back to the train station when we checked out. We will definitely revisit Lake Como and wouldn't think twice about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Not only was it a lovely, fully equipped apartment, but the location couldn't have been better (for the price). Sure, we could have spent 3-4 times as much per night on a hotel room with balcony overlooking the lake. However this apartment was located on the #1 most picturesque sidestreet in Varenna. Centrally located with only a short climb, we were steps away from the upper level of town (the piazza, shops & etc) and only steps down to the central part of the harbor and it's restaurants. We had informed the owners, Maria & Pietro, when our train would arrive. They met us at the station and drove us the short way to the piazza. Then Maria, a very nice lady, showed us around the town, and got us settled in for our stay. She speaks only a bit of English, but we were able to communicate easily. The bed was comfortable, the apartment clean, with a washing machine, satellite TV, and a kitchen. We had a nice patio to sit on, and look at the lake with our glass of wine. This is a real bargain in an area with very few of them

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

studio apartment with washer and dryer as well as cooking facilities. It was in an excellent location to the walk along the lake and a short walk to the train station even though the owners met us at the train station and transported us to the apartment at the beginning and end of our stay. We loved that we could shop at the local grocers and cook our own meals. There was room for the bed to be down, for a dining table, small kitchenette, and laudry facilities. The proprieters were very nice. They spoke only a little English but it was enough to communicate what we needed. The place was very clean in a cute neighborhood and we enjoyed the area very much. There was a view of the lake from the porch and it was just about a half block to the shore walkway. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were not able to rent Maria's house but stayed in her other property. It was very small, but very well organized and was well equiped and very comfortable for our weeks stay in June 2011. The location is perfect - just 40 steps down to the beautiful promenade of Lake Varenna. We could sit on our little terrace and enjoy the gorgeous (limited) view of Lake Como. It is so close to all the restaurants, shops and ferry. A car is not needed. The owners were very welcoming and had so much information on the area in the apartment that the week passed with fun and beautiful explorations every day. Varenna is such a charming and 'real' village. We would definitely go back to Varenna on our next trip to Lake Como!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed at Maria's House the week between Christmas and New Year's and we really enjoyed it! The town was just beautiful and very romantic, quiet and slow in this off season, and so evocative of the days before tourists overran these lakeside villages. All the villas were closed, but some shops were open and we visited Bellagio and Menaggio, which had more shopping. We found 4 or 5 restaurants in Varenna that were open and we enjoyed every meal, especially at Il Cavatappi, Varenna Monamour and Quattro Pass. We took day trips to Bergamo, Como, and Lugano using the ferries and the regional train system - the port and train station are a quick walk from the apartment. The apartment was great and we used the kitchen and washing machine often. Maria and Pietro were very gracious and met us at the train station on Christmas Day. We would love to return, maybe this time in the summer to see how different Varenna is with tourists!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maria's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's House

Address: Contrada dell'Arco 3, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maria's House, a lovely one-bedroom apartment ( 50 mq ) located in Varenna, an elegant village on the shore of Italy's Lake of Como. The beauty of the place is clearly evident in its ancient buildings, its romantic views, its impressive nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maria's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.