We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food. Great ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Vista

Ristorante La Vista
Via 20 Settembre, 35 | Albergo Milano, 23829 Varenna, Italy
39 0341830298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful food. Great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Another small but lovely Varenna restaurant. Outdoor seating, charming. Good service. Inventive dishes. Prices in line with the other good restaurants. Associated with a hotel.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    42
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Maybe my choices but alot of blandness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Absolutely stunning location looking out to menaggio and bellagio on the top terrace. Superb attentive and friendly service. The menu potential was exciting with brave mixtures out of the ordinary. Only a 3 star for me as the food although presented absolutely wonderfuly was let down in its blandness. It could easy hit a 5star if just a little more effort was had in achieving "taste".
Here i opted for the 4course set price menu which allows you to pick things as you wish and i upgraded for €6 extra to the beef fillet which was the most tastiest thing to hit my mouth all evening... Go if only for the view and you may become lucky and find something to your palet but my wifes 2 courses also lacked taste....
Just as a footnote, and after reading more reviews on italian and lake como dining, it is tradition to be eating at least 3 courses...Antipasti, Prima and secondi...Not to put you off as although price reflective, you will soon discover that if only looking at say a prima i doubt if it will be enough unless you are posh spice....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“enchanting views thoughtful food and menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

a true dining experience to sit on the terrace overlooking the expanse of lake como and the alps. The menu is varied, imaginative and overall good. Not amazing but satisfying. Excellent wine list, impeccable service. A la Carte or fixed price 3 or 4 courses at 38 or 45 euros respectively.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian Lakeside Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Traffic delays caused us to be 90 minutes late, after a phone call no problem, our window table was waiting for us. Amuse bouche of chickpea and eggplant arrived promptly. There was a choice of three or four courses for a set price. Beef carpaccio was fine, caprese salad good, and shrimp on red rice very good. Lamb shank, perch on eggplant wrapped in cellophane, dried flower petals with scallops and eggplant ravioli, all above average. Service excellent with English menu and service. With wine and bottled water 200 Euro for 4 people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Varenna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came here 3 times to have dinner. Your mouth will dance with joy tasting the food that Edegio prepares. If you want a quiet meal here with that special someone ask for the small balcony away from the main terrace that is on your right. We had one meal there which was very enchanting. The other 2 meals we had on the main terrace to enjoy the expansive views, food, and conversations with other travelers. Granted it is a little on the pricey side, but well worth the money. Service was fantastic and cheerful. They were even very welcoming to our Jack Russell, Thor, and brought him water as he sat quietly under the table keeping an eye on the owner's cats that would peer at him from the outside of the terrace. Quite a wonderful dining experience. We highly recommend the La Vista!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Vista also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante La Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.