We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay and beautiful views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Torretta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Torretta to your Saves list
Villa Torretta
Largo Venini,6, 23829 Varenna, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Varenna B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay and beautiful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights with my husband in mid September. The weather was perfect. About 70 for a high, sunny, with a light breeze each day. Friends joined us on day two and three. The town of Varenna is compact and lovely to walk around. Hiked to a nearby castle and took a ferry to nearby Bellagio. Our room was on the first floor of the Villa with two large windows opening to a view of the lake. The room was large and open and clean. The bath with smaller but had everything we needed. We enjoyed a nice dinner the first night of pasta and local fried fish. The included breakfast is simple but good, with a selection of rolls, cereal, yogurt, cheese etc. The Villa is not far from the train station and is very close to the ferry. We highly recommend Villa Torretta.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    18
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Villa Torretta on several occasions over the last few years. The rooms are spacious with great views over the lake. The beds are comfortable and the en-suites are well appointed. The Villa is beautifully maintained and has a traditional feel to it.
The staff in the hotel are all very welcoming and extremely pleasant. Laura especially is very friendly and looks after us well.
The location is right on the lake, next to the ferry landing. Some reviewers ee this as a disadvantage, but we find it a great benefit - good for people watching and you can sit on your balcony and wait for your ferry.
Breakfast is a typical Italian affair taken outside - served buffet style. We usually eat at the hotel in the evening - again outside. The food is excellent with plenty of choice.
We can thoroughly recommend the villa and will certainly be staying again in the future

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The building is over 100 years old and noisy. No in room TV. The train stops for 30 minutes at 05:00 in the morning at the station behind the hotel and unloads / re-loads. The bottle bank is just 20 metres from the front door and the residents dump their bottles as from 06:00. The ferry loads and unloads also 20 metres from the hotel, so if you want a relaxing time - Do Not Go There.

The room cost Euro 161 and is fit only for backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first visit to the gorgeous Varenna on Lake Como. Laura was a lovely hostess. She knew that we would love the room we booked and we did! Our room was perfect like in a movie. Laura was very helpful emailing with me as I arranged travel to get there. We are grateful for that. Our room had its own balcony that overlooked the lake and we watched the ferries come and go a short distance away. It was very hot when when we were there in early August and air conditioning would have been nice but we didn't care. Breakfast was enough for us in the morning. Meats, cheeses, cereal, rolls,orange juice and coffee were all we needed.
Loved Varenna and loved the Villa Torretta. Thanks Laura. It is our hope to return one day. We will want room # 8 again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were fortunate to visit Varenna in April, 2013. Based on another traveler's review of Room 8 at the lovely Villa Torretta, this was our home there for 3 nights. The Villa is lake front, at the ferry landing, which proved to be very convenient. We enjoyed sipping wine in the evening on the very large lake front balcony. The room is large, clean, comfy with an adjoining very large private bathroom. The Villa was sold out, so when our friends hopped on the trip, they were booked into a room in the sister hotel - Hotel Olivedo, next door, where the restaurant is located. We highly recommend either building for your stay. The owner, Laura, who is onsight pretty much 24/7 is very sweet & super accomodating. She helped us organize our day trips to other lake areas , by ferry. She is very knowledgeable with planning day trips, and just about everything else! Kathie & Jay F., Austin, Tx.

Room Tip: Varenna makes a great Lake Como base. By ferry, it's easy to explore other fun places, like Bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've been to Varenna many times and this is the first time that I've stayed at Villa Torretta. Laura couldn't have been a lovelier hostess. She was ever-so-patient with my Italiano, even though she speaks perfect English! I loved staying in the Villa- it is above the passerella, right near the ferry landing. I would definitely stay here again and hope that you will consider it as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #4- a must if it is hot b/c it faces the lake and the other windows face north. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had the good fortune of staying at Villa Torretta recently and I could not believe my eyes when I entered the hall and then the room. It felt like stepping into a movie from the late 1920s.The only thing missing was a lady playing the piano in the corner. The room was huge! the view impressive, the terrace a place you never wanted to leave. Staying here while on Lake Como made my stay much more pleasant than I had imagined it could be. It was like being in a fairy tale. I loved it.

Room Tip: When booking you could ask for a balcony or a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Torretta

Address: Largo Venini,6, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little lovely villa, 19th-century, on the edge of lake. All 6 rooms en-suite with great lake view. Lovely little garden with table and chairs to enjoy the view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Villa Torretta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Torretta Hotel Varenna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Torretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.