We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lecco and the Hotel Griso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Griso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Griso to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale 51, 23864 Lecco, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lecco
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lecco and the Hotel Griso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is fine, lovely views and every room has a patio overlooking the lake. The restaurant is very pricey indeed. The is a hotel bar where you can get light meals in the evening, but it isn't open every day and unless the restaurant is also open, the only choice is pizza, though a very good pizza. Reception could be more helpful but will deal with specific queries and problems when asked. There is a lift down to the lower road, so don't hike up the main road, walk along the lakeside then into the carpark and take the lift, then the short set of steps to the entrance. Lecco is lovely. A short walk across the bridge brings you into the town. It's quiet compared to other resorts on the lakeside, but really lovely. It's a great base for exploring the area, 45 minutes by train to Milan and Bergamo. There is a train which goes along the lakeside through the villages to the north of the lake. Varenna is very pretty with lakeside walks. A boat will take you to Bellagio, from where you can travel on further to Menaggio or Varenna or Como. There is a bus to Como which takes you through some beautiful scenery but takes about an hour. A bus winds its way through the hillside to the cable car station, which will transport you to Piani d'Erna and some stunning views and trails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    120
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
41
167
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limburg, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an outdated hotel in many ways. The interiour isn't appealing with carpets all over, brownish furniture, old building,... At the recpetion desk the staff was not very friendly or welcoming, they didn't explain anything about parking/check-out/breakfast times,...
The room was okay with airconditioning and tv however: there was a fire prevention alarm in the room it made no noise but flashed red every 30 seconds, it was right in the center of the room and very annoying. The bathroom: the water tap was not flexibel, so it made a lot of noise evry time you turn the water on/off. The toilet flushes really hard, we had to clean the toilet seat every time after flushing because it was all wet.
There's a balcony with great lake view but this is also outdated. When you want to go out on the lower side of the building, you need to exit at reception level and walk via parking lot to the street. There you will see the hotel outside is very old/messy/dirty,...
Breakfast was okay but there's too much staff hanging around, you cannot relax with all these people walking around. The buffet was limited, no fresh yoghurt,...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the 17th visit to Europe for my wife and my 5th so we have stayed at many hotels rated from 3 to 5 Stars. We rated this Clarion Collection hotel as the best on our 21 day trip to France, Switzerland, Belgium, Netherlands and Italy – and it was NOT the most expensive. Our room on the second floor was clean, spacious, and luxurious and the view of Lake Como was absolutely beautiful from our balcony patio. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was superb in every respect – quality food, excellent service, luxurious atmosphere (with linen table clothes and crystal goblets) and a fantastic view of Lake Como. We had dinner thin the hotel restaurant on Saturday night and found that their Chef was world class, along with the service. Prices for the room and food were very competitive. We highly recommend the Clarion Hotel Griso as a superb place to stay on Lake Como.
CONS: None – everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spend 4 night there and ate dinner there once.
Good points about hotel: nice view from all the rooms and reastaruant, rooms and bathrooms are big enough, nice walk to downtown Lecco.
Spoilers of this hotel: brakfeast could be much better (e.g. 3 different meat products, 2 different bread only), dinner was just avarege, we took 2 degustation menus offers and bootle of wine for 130€. Food could be much better for this price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glorieta, NM USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent two nights here and the room was great. It had a huge balcony, large well appointed bathroom and wonderful view. You could hear music from across the lake from the balcony - sometimes good and sometimes not our favorite music. Nonetheless, it was enjoyable. Easy walk to Lecco because this hotel is not actually in Lecco, but in a nearby town. The walk is along the lake, so it wonderful and takes only about 15 minutes to get to the boat docks or downtown. No restaurants near the hotel, though the hotel has a restaurant which we did not try. However, the walk to town leads to many nice restaurants, beautiful parks, and fresh fruit markets. The room had a fridge so we took advantage of that. The room was very clean and I don't know how you could find a room with a better view. The balconies are arranged so they are quite private considering most every room has a balcony. Super price considering the location.

Room Tip: I think almost all the rooms, if not all, have balconies. Upper floors would be better than ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We liked this hotel for many reasons but two things spoilt the trip and therefore the rating. Firstly, the good. The hotel has great views. The rooms all seem to be facing the lake and are of great size (the depth rather than width). We had a room with two doubles and a single as we were travelling with our teen daughter. It also had two bathrooms (one for disabled).

The balcony is the perfect spot to sit and have a drink. We always avoid the mini bar and stop by the local supermarket for some drinks and snacks. The hotel was happy to bring to the room an ice bucket, corkscrew and wine glasses when we called room service.

We dining in the hotel restaurant for dinner (and this is the breakfast room as well). It was an enjoyable experience though very pricey. They have an old world charm to the place, a little on the dated side but giving that special service and attention. The restaurant views are even better than the rooms as they are on the top (6th) floor and above the treeline.

The only thing that spoilt the stay was poor air-conditioning and a blinking red light. The aircon was on full all the time but it was still too hot. It just seemed to blow tepid air. The blinking red light was on the ceiling right above our daughters bed so we called reception to ask what it was. We were told it was the fire alarm system and the blinking meant it was working. As it was a large red light flashing non stop above her bed we asked if there was anyway to turn it off but were told not. Our poor daughter couldn't sleep there and had to come into our bed to sleep. I know that these lights are often in hotel rooms but they are very discrete normally. This was like a strobe light through your eyelids.

FYI - suggest you avoid visiting Lecco on a Monday. It is mostly closed until late afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is worth booking just because of the view it offers. It's probably the best view I've had of any places I stayed in. The location is perfect, you're between 2 cities and it's always less than 15 minutes to walk. The private decks are bigger than the rooms.
I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Griso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Griso

Address: Strada Provinciale 51, 23864 Lecco, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Lecco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Lecco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Griso 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Griso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griso Hotel Lecco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Griso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.