We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine choice near main Como train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgovico Hotel to your Saves list
Borgovico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Borgovico 91, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“fine choice near main Como train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Clean rooms, nice bathrooms within easy walk of San Giovanni railway station. Via Borgovico is a reasonably quiet street with several good restaurants, bakeries, cafes, and bars. Hotel staff were welcoming and helpful; breakfast is typical buffet for Italian hotels of this caliber; small bar has grappa, etc for late night drink. Hotel is about 10 minute walk to lake front and old town center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks for the nice review, we were very pleased to read it.
we are happy to know that you consider our hotel a good choice.
Thanks a lot

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    143
    38
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
142
28
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nice sophisticated , well maintained property. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely little hints at the heritage of the property in ways of leaving walls bare in small areas , found it very interesting!
Rooms are small but well maintained, good modern bathrooms. Good mix of comfort and staying true to the beautiful town. Staff if friendly, breakfast was decent...and the Lake is 10 min walk, one of the main train stations is also 5 min away.
Can come here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you, we are always very happy to read comments like this.
Customer satisfaction is always our first thought, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel, best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Very classily done up property....has a hilly cottage feel. Excellent rooms and bathrooms. Extremely friendly, polite and helpful staff, typical of a small town like Como, very unlike the usually brusque big towns. Loved our stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Your review is very beautiful, thank you so much !
We hope to have you again as our clients, see you

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night as an inexpensive place from which to base our exploration. The room was really small but immaculate and modern. Even the bed, which didn't look comfy, was perfectly lovely and cozy. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and was more than just pastry and coffee! The staff was incredible, spoke English well, and helped us map out our day. They even made calls to tour companies for us to get our more complex questions answered. They held our bags ALL day, called a Taxi for us (just a 7 Euro trip to the Train Station) and made our last day in Como excellent. An 8 minute walk to Ferry station and 15 minutes to main Piazza. A perfect inexpensive hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are very happy to read at first "incredible staff".
We hope to see you again in our hotel, kindly regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Rather disappointing this hotel which with a few small changes could be a lot better.
It is convenient for and just a few minutes walk from the station, but about 15 minutes walk from the main town and lake area. However there are some nice restaurants a short walk away and some in the same street.
The niggles. The room we had was very dark and needed more lights. The access stairs were also very dark even in the daytime, apparently they are on a timer but they need to be on all the time for safety. It was dusty under the bed, I didn't go checking this but I had to retreive something that rolled under there. Finally the provisions/toiletries were the most minimalistic with just two small shower/shampoo gels and nothing else. These were not always replaced either and I had to go and ask for them on one occasion.
Despite the niggles, the staff are all (except one) extremely friendly and helpful. The room we had was well decorated, the linen was very good and the bathroom was to a high standard.
Hence with just a few changes this hotel could jump a star in my rating.
Until they change a few basic things I could not recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently. Very handy to the train station. Arrived hours before room was to be ready but staff more than happy to hold our bags and put them into the room once ready.
Staff were very knowledgeable of the area and spoke good English.
Would have no hesitation staying there again if ever back in Como.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your good review and your nice comment about our staff, kindly regards

Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and based on our experiences, we came back. Benefits for us are the location - close to old town, lake etc. and the fact that the hotel will arrange parking for you right outside the front door. We were part-way through a 2-week driving holiday in our own car, so having it close by was very helpful.
The hotel is traditional in it's feel - not much in the way of mod-cons. However, the rooms are large and clean. Our superior room had an extra sleeping area on a mezzanine floor. We didn't use this, so might have preferred the extra space to have been usable. We were at the back of the hotel, so no road noise.
The hotel has 24-hour reception staff who are always happy to help guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your good review.
We will wait you for the next trip in Como, kindly regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Address: Via Borgovico 91, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgovico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.