We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Borgovico Hotel to your Saves list
Borgovico Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Borgovico 91, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in Como for 2 nights but only managed to book this hotel for one (we originally were only going to stay in Como for one night as part of our European tour, but loved it so much!) then moved to the hotel next door, which was also lovely.
The room was at the back of the hotel and up one flight of stairs. It had a double bed downstairs, then a spiralling staircase led up to the second bedroom with a double bed also. This room had a balcony overlooking the room downstairs (open plan). The room was huge and gorgeous, as was the courtyard. Staff were friendly and attentive without being over-bearing.
Spotlessy clean, airconditioned and beautifully decorated.

The restaurant directly opposite was excellent and the bar further down on the same side was fab. It had a studenty feel and welcomed all ages. The walls were covered in beer mats that travellers had written messages on. It had a great vibe and ver friendly bar staff.

Como itself is absolutely stunning. It has plenty to offer and is quite a large town yet it has the relaxed pace of a much smaller one.

I can't wait to go back and I will most definitely be booking this hotel!

Room Tip: The room with the stairs leading directly from the courtyard is excellent. It sleeps 4 so is excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the beautiful comment, we are happy to read it !
If you return in Como call us, best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    133
    36
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
133
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

For a few nights this is a good find. A short walk form the centre of Como (10 mins) and only 5 minuets form the lake. The restaurant 2 doors down is excellent. As with all small hotels only one person on the front desk, but is is manned 24 hours, with bar service and good English. As with all city hotels, rooms are small, but adequate. Bathroom is clean and functional, but the shower did leak onto the floor (which is designed as a wet room).
Breakfast good by continental standards, and has the option of eating in an open air courtyard, which was very pleasant.
A small hotel on a back street of Como, which I would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your good review from all the Hotel's staff and also from the restaurant.
Come back soon !

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife, daughter and I loved this hotel. Its quiet, close to the station and city centre and there are some very good places to have dinner close by. Breakfast was above average, there is a very nice rear courtyard, free WIFI and the staff are great, especially Lino who was just so helpful and gracious. All in all a charming hotel with reasonable rates and close to everything that beautiful Como has to offer. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your beautiful review by all the Hotel's Staff, Lino at first
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the train station in Como, and another 10 minutes walk to the busier parts of the city centre. The location is one of the main reasons I chose to stay here.
I arrived at 12.30pm, and when I got to the hotel, it was 'closed' as they were still cleaning the rooms (I presumed). The front door was locked so you had to press a bell to be let in. The guy who greeted me was allowed me to wait in the lobby until my 2.00pm check in time, and I actually didn't mind the wait as I was glad to have a rest before settling into my room.
My room was adequately equipped, and it was big enough and comfortable for just one person. The wifi speed was good; no lag issues. And while there were not a huge selection of food at breakfast, the staff was quite attentive to all the guests' coffee/hot beverages' needs.
Overall, for the price I paid, and especially during peak season, I enjoyed my stay and would happily recommend this to anyone considering a good accommodation in Como.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank for recommendation, if you come back to como you can call us, you are welcome here.
Many thanks for your good review

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel Borgovico in Como was a very nice surprise for me. Usually I do stay in Milano, but this time my favourite hotel in fashion city was booked and I decided to use this opportunity to discover Como and I was not disapointed. The location of the hotel is very close to the train station, just 5 minutes walk time. The room was very spacious, very clean, with two floor, wi - fi free of charge.
The staff was very nice, kind, helpful.
I love morning time, and breakfast in the garden with fresh juice, hot caffee, and nice pastery , enjoying sunshine and nice music was just the best.
Looking forward to come back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review, we look forward to your next visit.
If you want to stay again in Como you are welcome here.
Thank again for your positive vote

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

we had been unable to come to the Borgovico in March due to circumstances out of our control and the staff had kindly offered to give us a discount if we came again, so as our path again crossed Como we decided to give it a try. The hotel looks a tad shabby from the front, but inside was much nicer. We had a room beyond the pretty internal courtyard which was quite small but nicely furnished. The real problems were out of the hotels remit - it was very cold and very wet - unseasonable weather for the end of May. I went to complain and was lent a small electric fire which did warm the room up. The location was good, a ten minute walk to the railway station (a good place to park in a town which is almost impossible to park in), and the breakfast was good if not memorable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and we're also sorry for the unlucky weather.
During this period there was a record of cold and because of a law of the town of Como we can't turn on the heater in this month and we had to remedy with the small electric fire.
Thanks a lot for the recommendation to other users of the site

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent here only one night, and we were quite satisfied with our choice.
The room was impeccably clean, fairly large with a very spacious bathroom. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Very nice the internal patio. Breakfast was included in the rate and enjoyable with a good choice of sweet and salty options.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We enjoyed reading your comments, we are happy that you like our hotel.
If you return to como you can call us, thanks

Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Address: Via Borgovico 91, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgovico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.