We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service - do not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Helsinki
1 review
“Terrible service - do not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for four nights. Had paid for dbl + extra bed in advance. Upon arrival to the hotel we were informed that we have to pay extra for extra bed, which we had already paid for. Bought a mattress in the nearby supermarket.

The hotel also promoted free wifi. During the stay the wifi did not work. Not even once.


Breakfast was ok but due to bad service and additional service charges would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Thom34,

Thank you for your review. So as to avoid any misunderstandings with other TripAdvisor readers we would like to clarify that you did not prepay for any extra bed. After upgrading you to a Superior room we explained that your confirmation stated 2 adults plus 1 child aged three for which it clearly stated baby cot €10 to be paid onsite, which you refused to pay. Your reservation also stated that a child up to 3 years stays free if sharing existing bedding with parents; a baby cot is not considered existing bedding.

In future, should you decide to choose Hotel Cruise again, please contact us directly so as to avoid any possible misunderstandings.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    252
    63
    29
    10
See reviews for
84
182
13
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

at the periphery of Como, nice hotel with friendly staff, nice, clean, large and quite rooms , the air condition was ok. a nice bathroom with all you need.
good breakfast.
in 10 minutes you can get Como center. the hotel is in a very good position regarding to main roads to Malpensa airport, Milano, or Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear elisorin,

Thank you for your positive review and for having shared your opion with other TripAdvisor readers.
The Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and friendly hotel with hospitable english speaking staff, large well furnished and equip rooms incl 50" Smart TV and Wifi, great for a stop over between main resort destinations.. Close to the Autostrada, but a little too far from Como for a walk or quick drive to the centre, with little to do within walking distance. Essentially, you have to drive everywhere.. Could do both a pool, a view from the rooms, a shower screen or at least a curtain, and a better Wifi signal in the rooms... Otherwise a pleasant short stay, with Como itself more than making up for any deficiencies...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Justin D,

Thank you for your detailed review and for you constructive tips that we will certainly take into consideration should there be any future projects involved. We are very pleased to be referred to as an “excellent stop-over destination” and that you appreciated the room and our hospitable staff.
We look forward to welcoming you here again in future during your next visit to Como.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pros: Francesco at the front desk was stellar at accommodating. Amenities were modern and clean rooms.

Cons: No pool, costly cab rides to main square and limited dining within walking distance. Air conditioning was semi-functional so given it's usually cool at night, we opened up the window.

An acceptable exchange given the hotels closer to the center are older and higher in price. Beds are pretty form and pillows are thin but that is typical in European hotels. So overall pretty good for a quick stopover!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear coast2coa,

Thank you for your review. We will be very pleased to pass on your positive comments to our new Front Desk staff member, Francesco.

It’s a pleasure to read that you consider Hotel Cruise good for a quick stopover given the vicinity to the motorway which connects Milan and the nearby Swiss border. Cabs are indeed quite costly in the area of Como (approximately €30 to reach the city centre), however, the new pedestrian walkway to the Grandate-Breccia train station allows guests to safely reach the train station in about 10 minutes on foot; a much cheaper solution (approximately €4 per journey) to reach the lake front and city centre.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise in future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Whenever I come to Como area, I prefer to stay at Cruise hotel where the location is perfect as a hub to visit other attraction places like Fox Town, Serrvalllie Designer Outlet, Milano, and of course Lugano and Como lakes. The staff is very friendly, and the quality of the room is excellent.

It is adjacent to a shopping mall, Bennet Supermarket, and few fine restaurants if you prefer to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Yaagoub,

Many thanks for your great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you are one of our valued regular guests and that you make the most of the location to visit nearby designer outlets. We are also very pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and the room “excellent”.
The Cruise team looks very much forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

typical large Italian hotel, with nice rooms and excellent service from staff. They resolved an issue I had with my luggage (unrelated to the hotel) without asking them. Very unusual to see hotel staff go out of their way to help without being asked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear em p,

Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful; we will be honoured to pass your comments onto our staff.
The whole Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

En route to Switzerland from Milan, this proved to be a perfect spot to rest up from a long Autostrada drive. It’s right off the highway, easy to park and seemed pretty empty on my one night Sunday stay @ 99 euro, booked through Expedia in advance.(cheaper than staying just over the border in Switzerland).

I like the interior design, especially the guest room. Photo murals add a little personality, the shower was spacious, and storage was excellent. I wished for a bigger better chair to lounge in, and the bed seemed a little lightly made. Low and thin.

But it was quiet. About the only people I saw were an elderly bus tour group. The restaurant was closed, but the bar was doing a Sunday night happy hour for 8 euro. Lots of carbo bready appetizers, and a beer. It was a good deal, and drew about 20 locals. We all sat outdoors on their nice covered patio facing the parking lot. (see my picture)

Suffering from jet lag, I awoke at 5am and found there was no way in the entire huge hotel to get a cup of coffee, hot water, anything. Breakfast opened at 7am It was included and a good spread. But make plans if you want anything before 7am, such as a cup of coffee. They must have taken the teapots out of the rooms, at least mine did not have one.

Front desk staff was very professional and conscientious. Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a teapot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear GrantGust,

Many thanks for your detailed and positive review; it’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose Hotel Cruise again in future. We are very pleased to read that you liked our Sunday happy hour at the Cruise Lounge Bar; our restauranti s indeed closed on Sunday but the complimetary buffet at our happy hour is a great alternative allowing guests to relax al fresco while enoying snacks, summer pastas, cold cuts, drinks and music.

With regards to the inroom coffee & tea maker, please note that only Exective rooms, Junior Suites and Suites include this amenity; if you stayed in a Standard or Superior room unfortunetly this service is not included.

The Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here agin soon in future.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
2.3 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#6 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#17 of 32 in Como
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
2.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Centro highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel's 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.