We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop-over destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Como
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stop-over destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and friendly hotel with hospitable english speaking staff, large well furnished and equip rooms incl 50" Smart TV and Wifi, great for a stop over between main resort destinations.. Close to the Autostrada, but a little too far from Como for a walk or quick drive to the centre, with little to do within walking distance. Essentially, you have to drive everywhere.. Could do both a pool, a view from the rooms, a shower screen or at least a curtain, and a better Wifi signal in the rooms... Otherwise a pleasant short stay, with Como itself more than making up for any deficiencies...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Justin D,

Thank you for your detailed review and for you constructive tips that we will certainly take into consideration should there be any future projects involved. We are very pleased to be referred to as an “excellent stop-over destination” and that you appreciated the room and our hospitable staff.
We look forward to welcoming you here again in future during your next visit to Como.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    210
    46
    25
    10
See reviews for
73
159
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pros: Francesco at the front desk was stellar at accommodating. Amenities were modern and clean rooms.

Cons: No pool, costly cab rides to main square and limited dining within walking distance. Air conditioning was semi-functional so given it's usually cool at night, we opened up the window.

An acceptable exchange given the hotels closer to the center are older and higher in price. Beds are pretty form and pillows are thin but that is typical in European hotels. So overall pretty good for a quick stopover!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear coast2coa,

Thank you for your review. We will be very pleased to pass on your positive comments to our new Front Desk staff member, Francesco.

It’s a pleasure to read that you consider Hotel Cruise good for a quick stopover given the vicinity to the motorway which connects Milan and the nearby Swiss border. Cabs are indeed quite costly in the area of Como (approximately €30 to reach the city centre), however, the new pedestrian walkway to the Grandate-Breccia train station allows guests to safely reach the train station in about 10 minutes on foot; a much cheaper solution (approximately €4 per journey) to reach the lake front and city centre.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise in future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Whenever I come to Como area, I prefer to stay at Cruise hotel where the location is perfect as a hub to visit other attraction places like Fox Town, Serrvalllie Designer Outlet, Milano, and of course Lugano and Como lakes. The staff is very friendly, and the quality of the room is excellent.

It is adjacent to a shopping mall, Bennet Supermarket, and few fine restaurants if you prefer to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Yaagoub,

Many thanks for your great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you are one of our valued regular guests and that you make the most of the location to visit nearby designer outlets. We are also very pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and the room “excellent”.
The Cruise team looks very much forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

typical large Italian hotel, with nice rooms and excellent service from staff. They resolved an issue I had with my luggage (unrelated to the hotel) without asking them. Very unusual to see hotel staff go out of their way to help without being asked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear em p,

Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful; we will be honoured to pass your comments onto our staff.
The whole Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

En route to Switzerland from Milan, this proved to be a perfect spot to rest up from a long Autostrada drive. It’s right off the highway, easy to park and seemed pretty empty on my one night Sunday stay @ 99 euro, booked through Expedia in advance.(cheaper than staying just over the border in Switzerland).

I like the interior design, especially the guest room. Photo murals add a little personality, the shower was spacious, and storage was excellent. I wished for a bigger better chair to lounge in, and the bed seemed a little lightly made. Low and thin.

But it was quiet. About the only people I saw were an elderly bus tour group. The restaurant was closed, but the bar was doing a Sunday night happy hour for 8 euro. Lots of carbo bready appetizers, and a beer. It was a good deal, and drew about 20 locals. We all sat outdoors on their nice covered patio facing the parking lot. (see my picture)

Suffering from jet lag, I awoke at 5am and found there was no way in the entire huge hotel to get a cup of coffee, hot water, anything. Breakfast opened at 7am It was included and a good spread. But make plans if you want anything before 7am, such as a cup of coffee. They must have taken the teapots out of the rooms, at least mine did not have one.

Front desk staff was very professional and conscientious. Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a teapot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear GrantGust,

Many thanks for your detailed and positive review; it’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose Hotel Cruise again in future. We are very pleased to read that you liked our Sunday happy hour at the Cruise Lounge Bar; our restauranti s indeed closed on Sunday but the complimetary buffet at our happy hour is a great alternative allowing guests to relax al fresco while enoying snacks, summer pastas, cold cuts, drinks and music.

With regards to the inroom coffee & tea maker, please note that only Exective rooms, Junior Suites and Suites include this amenity; if you stayed in a Standard or Superior room unfortunetly this service is not included.

The Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here agin soon in future.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I do not recognize the comments by others re the all smoking rooms. We had a nice no smoking room, with all amenities, nice king size bed, large bathroom, no signs at all of smoking on my floor. Hotel is easily reached, just of the highway, parking in front. Bar has outside area, unfortunately overlooking the parking lot. I do not recommend eating dinner at the bar, as all dishes are frozen, which they do state on the menu, good! The restaurant was ok, not special, wines were good, especially the prosecco. The food was served very fast, too fast for us.
Definitely to be recommended if you are looking for an overnight stay in the region.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Tigerwoods 100,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments on the restaurant which we will pass on to our F&B Manager. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom as well as the complimentary parking.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercorin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We came by car so the location in an industrial area was no issue to us. Without our GPS screen, it would have been difficult to find. The parking in front of the hotel is huge and apparently safe. Wifi reception changes from one part of the hotel to the other so you need different access codes for the reception area, the restaurant and your room. We had an inside-looking room, very quiet and were able to sleep with the windows fully open. The bathroom was of a good size and had enough stowage space for our toiletries.There is a hot-water kettle for making instant coffee and tea. The safe was not usable because someone forgot to reset the lock but it did not bother us for a one-night stay. There was nothing vegetarian on the restaurant's menu so the cook prepared something for us which was appreciated even though the dish lacked inspiration. The house wine was fine. For breakfast, there is a buffet and if you ask for it, the waitress will bring you a machine-prepared espresso doppio (better than the one from the machine in the breakfast room).
The staff both at the reception and the reception was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep with an open window, ask for a room on the top floor going inside. It's ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear EricD,

Thank you for your detailed review. While it is a pleasure to hear you found our staff to be very pleasant and found the room to be spacious, we are very sorry that you found the vegetarian dish at the restaurant “lacking inspiration”; we have passed this comment onto to our F&B Manager and Chef so as to make amends where possible. We are also very sorry for the inconvenience with the in-room safe which we have pointed out to our maintenance staff. With regards to wifi, please note that you do not need a new access code based on what part of the hotel you are in. As for the hotel signage, while we respect your opinion, we would like to point out that Hotel Cruise can easily be reached from various roads and roundabouts; there are signs from the motorway junction onwards which lead guests directly to the hotel.

The Cruise Team looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Sud highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel’s 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.