We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No smoking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Como
Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“No smoking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I do not recognize the comments by others re the all smoking rooms. We had a nice no smoking room, with all amenities, nice king size bed, large bathroom, no signs at all of smoking on my floor. Hotel is easily reached, just of the highway, parking in front. Bar has outside area, unfortunately overlooking the parking lot. I do not recommend eating dinner at the bar, as all dishes are frozen, which they do state on the menu, good! The restaurant was ok, not special, wines were good, especially the prosecco. The food was served very fast, too fast for us.
Definitely to be recommended if you are looking for an overnight stay in the region.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Tigerwoods 100,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments on the restaurant which we will pass on to our F&B Manager. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom as well as the complimentary parking.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    210
    46
    25
    10
See reviews for
73
159
10
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vercorin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We came by car so the location in an industrial area was no issue to us. Without our GPS screen, it would have been difficult to find. The parking in front of the hotel is huge and apparently safe. Wifi reception changes from one part of the hotel to the other so you need different access codes for the reception area, the restaurant and your room. We had an inside-looking room, very quiet and were able to sleep with the windows fully open. The bathroom was of a good size and had enough stowage space for our toiletries.There is a hot-water kettle for making instant coffee and tea. The safe was not usable because someone forgot to reset the lock but it did not bother us for a one-night stay. There was nothing vegetarian on the restaurant's menu so the cook prepared something for us which was appreciated even though the dish lacked inspiration. The house wine was fine. For breakfast, there is a buffet and if you ask for it, the waitress will bring you a machine-prepared espresso doppio (better than the one from the machine in the breakfast room).
The staff both at the reception and the reception was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep with an open window, ask for a room on the top floor going inside. It's ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear EricD,

Thank you for your detailed review. While it is a pleasure to hear you found our staff to be very pleasant and found the room to be spacious, we are very sorry that you found the vegetarian dish at the restaurant “lacking inspiration”; we have passed this comment onto to our F&B Manager and Chef so as to make amends where possible. We are also very sorry for the inconvenience with the in-room safe which we have pointed out to our maintenance staff. With regards to wifi, please note that you do not need a new access code based on what part of the hotel you are in. As for the hotel signage, while we respect your opinion, we would like to point out that Hotel Cruise can easily be reached from various roads and roundabouts; there are signs from the motorway junction onwards which lead guests directly to the hotel.

The Cruise Team looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I spent one night at this hotel, to break my journey from Germany to Liguria.
The hotel is perfect if you just want to get of the motorway for the night and continue your drive the following morning.
As many other reviewers have pointed out, this hotel is NOT in Como (but they do not claim to be there), although you can easily reach Como by car.
It is very visible from the motorway, but it is not extremely easy to reach, unless you have a good map or a navigator. We had a navigator and we had no problem at all (but I have to admit that without one it would at taken a bit longer!!!).

We arrived at the hotel at around 8 pm, check in was very speedy. We were allocated a room on the 4th floor. I was a bit worried that the room would be noisy (since the hotel is situated closed to the motorway and since I am a very light sleeper) but I wasn'´t.
Our room was nice and well decorated. The bathroom was quite large, with a very nice shower.

All that was promised on the website was there: bathropes, slippers, a wide selection of coffee, tea and even cappuccino (to have a kettle in a hotel room is in Italy is not as common as in other countries, so this was really a plus).

I had read some reviews about this hotel, and a couple of people have complained that there is a glass door which separates the entrance area with the bedroom area.
I do not really understand what the complaint is about.... sure, if you closed the door, since it is a glass door, you run the risk of bumping into it if you get up at night to use the toilet.
But if you leave it open it won't bother you at all... it is completely out of your way.... so I really do not get what the problem is....
Moreover, being a light sleeper, I find it a great idea: it makes the room even quieter.

We had breakfast in the morning and, for Italian standards, it was absolutely ok. Sure, for British people, who are used to a wider selections of hot food for breakfast (sausages, bacon, hash browns, beans, grilled tomatoes, etc) it can be a bit disappointing.... but ehi, when in Rome do as the Romans do......
For Italian standards the breakfast buffet was quite big: scrambled and cooked eggs, ham and cheese, croissant and other pastries, crostata (typical Italian tart cake), yoghurt, fruit, biscuits, bread, lots of different types of jam, nutella, honey.....
Coffee was not as good as it is at a bar, but if you ask the waiters they will bring you a coffee or a cappuccino from the kitchen, which is much nicer.
There were two varieties of juices (orange and blood orange).

Before entering the breakfast room there is a rack with lots of newspapers (I think all in Italian, though).

Well, all in all, I think this hotel is perfect for those travelling and wanting to spend a night to get some rest. It has a huge parking area, which is free of charge.
i would also use it as a base to visit the area (Como is only a few minutes away by car)

Oh... I forgot to say... the area around the hotel is a shopping paradise for women... there is a huge shoe outlet (scarpe & scarpe).....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Enjoytrav,

Thank you for taking the time for writing such a great and detailed review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the spacious and soundproof room as well as our popular buffet breakfast. Thank you for your constructive criticisms on the signage which we will try and improve where possible. With regards to newspapers, we do indeed have a selection of English newspapers both in the lobby and at the breakfast room entrance – we will duly check that these are being placed in the proper racks to ensure they are available to guests. Hotel Cruise is indeed just outside Como in the immediate proximity of a large shopping mall, so while you need a car to reach the lake, you have the advantage of being walking distance to a shopping paradise as you describe it!

We sincerely hope to welcome you and your loved ones here at Hotel Cruise again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Cruise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed for one night at the Cruise Hotel in Como in March 2013.

The hotel was not very easy to find and you have to go around Como to find it. Make sure you have a Sat-Nav!

There's a big car park in case you are travelling by car and the staff are polite and helpful.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated and very clean and there is free WiFi, but some of the "Design" features they incorporated cause a few annoying problems!

First of all there were too many light switches spread throughout the room and you need to fiddle with all switches in order to switch on or off the light you want!

Also, more annoying was the fact that the bed had this "built in" light at the head of the bed which once turned off it would cause creaking sounds as it cools down for at least 30 minutes after you go to bed!!!!

The area is quiet and (after the annoying bed head lamp cools down!) you can enjoy good sleep.

The breakfast was ok (but not great) and having payed 65 Euro including breakfast the value is ok but not great.

It's not a bad Hotel overall so I can recommend it if you are travelling and want to stay overnight at the Italian - Swiss border before continuing your journey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ultra-One,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other TripAdvisor readers.
With regards to road signs, we would like to point out that the new road works finally in place, it is actually much easier to reach Hotel Cruise. However, we respect your opinion and will re-check that signage is in place.

We are happy to hear you appreciated the decor of our modern rooms and despite the temporary annoyance of the noisy bedside lamp, you got a good sound sleep – our rooms are fully sound proof and ensure excellent rest.

As for breakfast, we will duly pass this information onto our Food & Beverage Manager so as to ensure that the quality is always up to high standards – we are very sorry you did not find it up to your expectations.

The Cruise team very much looks forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise in future.
Kindest regards,

The Cruise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orimattila, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Travelling by car the hotel was easy to reach, very good location. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was clean, food was very good - this hotel was really worth all the price and even more. I will visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Apassila,

Many thanks for your great review and for having chosen Hotel Cruise during you stay in the area of Como. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and found our staff to be very friendly and we are even more thrilled to hear you will visit us again!
We look forward to welcoming you here soon.

Kindest regards,

The Cruise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Location is great if you would like to access the Autostrada quickly.
Hotel accommodation is very good with spacious, well equipped rooms.
Staff is friendly and helpfull both at front desk and dining area's.
Great hotel if you are on a business trip or need a perfect stop during traveling.
As long as you are aware it is not in the Como you're fine!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Jos_Basel,

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the room and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Hotel Cruise is indeed situated just outside Como (at a 10 minute drive from Como) and is easily accessible from the A9 motorway or via train (Grandate-Breccia stop) which is only about 10 minutes on foot from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise again in future.

Kindest regards,

The Cruise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

No free Wifi as expected. Mattress thin on a wooden slab. A/C not working. Room extremely hot. We opened windows and mosquitoes came in and bit me during the night. No place to walk around. Not even in Como.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear happytrav,
Thank you for your review. While we are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, please realise that air conditioning in October is not available anywhere in northern Italy as central heating is normally in place by then. Having said that, had our front desk staff been informed of the high temperatures in your room, they would have been more than happy to adjust this for you. As for the mattresses, the majority of our guests appreciate our high quality beds however, we respect your opinion.

Should you decide to give Hotel Cruise a second chance in future, please feel free to contact us directly; we would be more than happy to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Sud highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel’s 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.