We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday / Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Como
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holiday / Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from staying at Hotel Cruise for both business and holiday combined. The hotel quite modern, with welcoming and attentive staff. Breakfast, served in restaurant, offers a wide range of choice. Rooms are quite generous in size, clean and appropriately furnished. Just could add tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is conveniently situated for a large out of town shopping centre less than 5 minutes walk. In addition, a local train station is only about 15 minutes walk and buses to Como and Chiasso less than 7 minutes walk. Overall, the hotel offers good value for money and would certainly recommend. Finally, a special commendation for Front Office/ Reception team who go the extra mile to make sure they give the very best, accurate advice - that really makes a difference to the enjoyment of the stay in the Como locality.

Room Tip: Can ask about particular rooms with views of the hills and mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mike D,

Many thanks for your great review; I will be honoured to share your comments with my whole team, especially my Front Office staff whom I’m very fond of.

My team and I look very much forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    182
    40
    22
    7
See reviews for
62
141
10
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel Cruise is a modern 4-star hotel at just 5 minutes driving from the highway.
Our superior room on the second floor was clean, good sized (both room and bathroom) and had a most comfortable bed.
For dinner we went to the centre of Como at about 10 minutes driving distance.
The buffet breakfast was very good with a large choice. Personally I do not like the Nescafé coffee (especially not in THE coffee country) but the most friendly breakfast staff made me a good cappuccino.
Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Icabru,

Thank you for your lovely detailed review. I am please to hear you appreciated our Superior room and our popular buffet breakfast.

I am especially pleased that ypu found our breakkast staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Is a very clean hotel with good sized rooms, comfortable beds, nice restaurant and large breakfast room with a large choice.Its at least 10KM from the city of Como. It has large carpark to park your car but is not to safe because the parkingdoor was never close.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear thanos69,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear you appreciated our services including the room, our Chef’s dishes and our buffet breakfast. Just so that other readers do not get the wrong information, please note that Hotel Cruise is 6 km from the old part of Como and 7 km from the actual lake front. With regards to the car park, we would like to ensure you that it is indeed safe; it is well lit and has video surveillance all around.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in future, perhaps during one of our popular Happy Hours on Thursdays that will go on until the end of September.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another modern hotel, but this hits all the right buttons for customer service, comfort and plenty of choice for breakfast. The bedroom we had was well equipped, even down to a hairdryer, free Wi-Fi available and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Bill P,

Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Cruise experience and we very much look forward to welcoming you here again soon in future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Ok hotel nothing to write home about.. Abrupt staff, no free wi fi and so out of the way unless you have a car. long dark and confusing hallways. In such a beautiful town look for something better and closer to town about 20 euro to get into town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear scianna,
Thank you for your review. We value all reviews, both positive and negative ones as they are valuable feedback that allow us to improve our standards.
I am sorry that you found our staff impolite; while this is quite surprising as one of our strong points is our welcoming staff, I respect your opinion and I will duly check that more training is undertaken to all the staff members.
With regards to wifi, I would like to point out that it is indeed free of charge. We did experience some technical issues with the system but the issue has been solved now.
With regards to the corridors, I am aware that the hotel has long passageways; this is because the hotel is very large (it is the biggest in the area of Como in terms of rooms with 218 in total). Because of the amount of energy needed to light up the hotel, we have implemented an environmentally friendly light saving system in which lights stay on for a limited amount of time – the main lights are of course always on but the stronger lights are controlled with witches placed in various parts of the hallways, I’m sorry you did not find them and I will duly check that all signage is in place.
Should you decide to give us a second chance in future, èplease feel free to contact us directly. We would be honored to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Cruise is a very clean hotel with good sized rooms, comfortable beds, nice restaurant and large breakfast room with a large choice. However, it's situated about 10km's from the Lake and whilst it'd be a good venue for a business conference, we found it wasn't really suitable as a tourist apart from having a large carpark to park the hire car. Next time, we'd opt to stay close to the lake rather than here as the location is very sterile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Goozle0_0,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious clean room, our restaurant proposals and our popular buffet breakfast. Hotel Cruise is indeed. Hotel Cruise has a business – congress imprinting but it often serves well as a short stop-over for those travelling by car into the various Italian regions. I am sorry to hear that you would not choose to stay with us again. Should you change your mind, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for a stopover between Lake Como and more southern parts of Italy. The rooms were clean and there was a good variety at breakfast. The only thing I didn't like was that amount of time that check-in took. We were a group of 4 and it took about 15 minutes. I have never seen such a slow check-in in my life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear luckytraveller13,

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms as well as our popular buffet breakfast.

I am very sorry that check-in took so long, 15 minutes is indeed a lot of time and much longer than what it normally takes (on average 1-2 minutes). I have duly checked with the reception to make sure such incidents do not occur again in future and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise in future.

Warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Sud highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel’s 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.