We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We checked into our room in the late afternoon. The room was located on the second floor facing the front parking lot. It was modern, large and very clean and comfortable. The room/bathroom had everything a 4 star hotel would offer in terms of amenities. The hotel is located very close to a huge super market in case you need any snacks, wine, etc. It is located a little out of the 'old city' and the lake but it's not a problem if you are traveling by car. If you come by train, then it wouldn't be as convenient to get to. The hotel is located in the suburbs and you would need to take a taxi or bus to get there. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate was great. you could get a full, cooked breakfast with bacon, scrambled eggs,sausages, etc. or stick to the continental fare which included the usual cold meats, cheeses,fresh fruit and an variety of breads and sweet rolls, danishes and croissants. If you ask the dining room staff to bring you a cappuccino, it will be made in the kitchen on a proper espresso machine and not the one found on the buffet. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy with everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear HappyGirl1956,

Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review! My team and I are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us.

The Cruise family looks forward to welcoming you and your loved ones again ion future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    225
    50
    26
    11
See reviews for
76
166
12
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We chose the Hotel Cruise because we were driving around Italy. It's just off the Autostrada and has all the modern conveniences without costing a fortune. We booked a Junior suite which gave us quite a bit of room, but still three beds in one room. It was reasonably priced. The only gripe I had was that the English speaking Sat TV Channels were blocked. We called room service and they sent somebody, but they said you just have to flick through the channels. I wouldn't have minded this, but they had cards in the room saying which channels were English speaking. Breakfast is included, and is the usual self service deal with hot foods (eggs bacon and sausage) and cold.

There is a shopping centre a short walk from the hotel. Apart from a very large supermarket (Self checkouts in English), It has a few basic restaurants in the top floor and there is discount fashion shops, a Chinese Restaurant and a Sports Shop in the complex. There is also a shop which my wife described as "Shoe heaven". It would take several days to see all the different shoes.

It's actually quicker to drive to Switzerland than to downtown Como, which is 5km (and 20 minutes) away. Traffic is usually busy. You can just drive through to Switzerland. Nobody asked for any passports. If you're cruising on Lake Como, you can either drive to the ferry and park (Underground parking cost us 16 Euros for the day) or take the train. The rail station is nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tenterfield_Saddler,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review. We are very pleased to hear you found Hotel Cruise easy to access and that you enjoyed staying in one of our spacious Junior Suites. Hotel Cruise is indeed at a 5km drive from down town Como but the several shops and restaurants within the mall you describe do indeed serve as a treat during your stay with us.

With regards to the SAT channels, thank you for pointing this out – we will duly check that channels are correctly synchronized and that proper assistance is provided in future – we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Hotel Cruise is indeed at a very short drive from the Swiss border and although customs checks are seldom carried out, please do make sure you carry around your passports at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you and you wife here again soon in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Cruise many times and have always rated this hotel very highly for its good value, clean-large rooms, and free internet. This has not changed and it still does very well in those areas. However I just spent six nights and noticed that the air conditioning was not working, when I inquired at the front desk I was told "there is no air conditioning during this period" (read as during this time of year). A hotel of this level that caters to tourists and business travelers cannot withold air conditioning. The room was often hot and uncomfortable which leads me to think that in the future I will not stay at the Cruise without confirming there will be air conditioning available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear 87LSC,

Thank you for your review.

While we are very happy to hear that you rank Hotel Cruise amongst the best hotels in the area of Como and that you have stayed many times at our hotel, we are very sorry about the inconvenience related to the air conditioning. Please realize that we experienced an extremely cold month of May this year with temperatures far below average; during this period we were obliged to keep central heating on as temperatures were similar to autumn – winter ones. As such, it was not possible to turn the air conditioning on.
I do hope you will choose to stay with us again during your next trip to Como. Please feel free to contact us directly; we would be more than happy to find an appropriate solution to ensure your stay is perfect.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scmgpl
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for one day on Business Trip to Switzerland.Nearest Airport is either Milan Linate or Malpensa which are like 1.5 Hours by Taxi.Arrived in the Night and left in the morning but for Dinner took a taxi into Como which has a great but small Indian restaurant called Namaste.Their Chicken Tandoori is out of the world.
Clean and Neat rooms and good selection on the Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear ashokscm,

Many thanks for the great review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the room and our popular buffet breakfast. I am quite surprised the taxi journey to the airport took that long as it normally takes within 40 minutes to get to Malpensa and 55 minutes to Linate on average. The Indian restaurant you point out is indeed amazing and one of my favorites too!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you here again soon and I hope you will have the chance to try some of our Chef’s regional specialties the Cruise restaurant in future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April 2013 in room 200 which was a two bedroom suite. We ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was good Italian fare though the menu was limited. Room was clean and very spacious. The internal glass doors were a bit impractical. The other guests seemed to be mainly from tour buses. It was handy to a large shopping centre which was even open on Sunday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear BrusselsKat_m,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments. I am pleased to hear you liked the spacious family Suite and that you enjoyed dining at our restaurant; I have passed your comment regarding the menu to our F&B Manager so we can improve the variety of dishes available.
I am aware that there is an internal glass door separating the second bedroom from the master bedroom although this has never been an issue as this type of room is normally assigned to large families, however, I respect your opinion on this.

As the hotel is very large (218 rooms) we do indeed host groups especially in low season – mainly due to the convenient location and to the large complimentary car & bus park on the hotel premises, however this has never caused disrupt to other guests.

I do hope you will choose to stay at Hotel Cruise again in future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on a business trip and found it to be very efficiently organised.
The staff is very helpful and quite receptive to your requirements and needs.
Clean and quiet rooms with tasteful decor.
Breakfast is a bit more European ( menu overall is quite good and healthy )
Easy and hassle free wifi reception.
Supermarket and shopping arcade right across the street ( 5 mins walk )
From Malpensa airport in Milan, taxi costs around Euros 110 to the hotel.

Definitely recommended for all those looking for a hassle free stay while visiting Como.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.com.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. It is particularly wonderful to learnthat you appreciated the service received and that you found our staff to be attentive; we are much honored to learn that you describe the Cruise team as being “efficient and excellent”.
Your loyalty and support and very much appreciated– we know that there are plenty of options in a town like Como and we are thrilled to hear that you would recommend Hotel Cruise to other travellers.

Don’t stay away for too long as we are looking forward to have you back soonest again.

Kindest regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here one night on our way to board a cruise ship in Genoa. The room had adequate space for our needs but rather than pay an extra 30 euro per night for a baby bed, we made our toddler a pallet on the floor and she loved it. So my only complaint is the high charge for a toddler bed.

Breakfast was included in our rate and offered a normal selection of foods. They advertise this to be an American style breakfast but it screamed european to me. It was deli meats, cheeses, pastries, bacon that was undercooked, yogurt and a selection of cereals. It was fine for us as we are not huge eaters.

Internet (wifi) is included in each room...we were unsure after reading the reviews.

The rooms were clean and we would definitely stay here again if passing through Italy again. There is a mall that is hidden behind the hotel that offers lots of shopping, a grocery store and several eateries. I am glad we stumbled upon it bc it was the perfect place to grab a slice of pizza, gelato and some toiletries we forgot to pack for the cruise.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed and constructive review. With regards to your comment on the extra bed supplement, so as to avoid any misunderstandings with other TripAdvisor readers, I would like to point out the following:

infants from 0-3 years stay free if sharing parents' bed; if a baby cot is required, the cost per night is € 10.- Children from 4 to 12 years requiring an extra bed have a € 30.- supplement which includes buffet breakfast.

I am quite surprised you didn't find our buffet breakfast up to standards as it is normally very much appreciated amongst most guests from all nationalities both in terms of quality and variety of dishes available; I do however respect your opinion and I have passed your feedback onto our Food & Beverage Manager.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family here at Hotel Cruise in future.
Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Sud highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel’s 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.