We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cruise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cruise to your Saves list
Hotel Cruise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

breakfast are different from country to country , city to city and families.this place has the best i've ever encountered. worth the stay for the breakfast. yeah, i like to eat healthy, but not here. every thing is good. try everything 2 or 3 times.
easy check in, hard to find, the grounds are clean.

a great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and for having described our buffet breakfast as the best seen so far, I will gladly share your compliments with our Food & Beverage staff. Thank you for highlighting the fact that you found it difficult to find the hotel; I was quite surprised as there are many signs around the area but I will duly check that they are in place.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you here in future.

Kind regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    225
    50
    26
    11
See reviews for
76
166
12
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COMO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. the room and bathroom were spacious and well fitted out. When I got sick the staff were very kind and helpfull. Good breakfast buffet with a lot of fresh fruit. Good and central location near the main toll roads. You do need a car though if you want to go to the city of Como.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed staying with us and that you appreciated our services, from breakfast to our staff to the spacious room you stayed in. My staff and I sincerely hope you are better now and look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Cruise again in future.

Kindest regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked the hotel Cruise as we needed some place to stay on our way down to the sea cost from Germany. The cost was attractive and the rating in Tripadvisor was good, which is usually a sure sign! The hotel turn to be the great idea to saty overnight.

Positive sites of the place
1. It iis very close to the main road and seen from the highway, a bit tricky to find it but it is possible
2. The dogs are welcome, even you have to sign some sort of the agreement that there is no hazard and so on
3. Internet in the rooms are free and good runing
4 The rooms are design style - sort of traveling feeling - no just another business hotel single picture on the wall with strange colours. Everything was well done in our room - lightning and the doors were especially nice!!
5. The personnel is freindly and helpful - nothing to complaint about
6. You have plenty of shopping around -the supermarket is open also at weekends (Sunday included), which is important when you on the road.
7.Parking of the hotel is big and free - as promised!
8. Sleeping quality was good - the size, the calm and the athmosfere were very relaxing.

There is nothing to be put on the negative site - just two small hack ups

1. The breakfast if not booked ahead is rather expensive - 12 euro per person
2. There is no bath tub in the room we had - yet the shower with tropic rain was very reasonable.
3. For the dogs lovers - there is some lack of the walking area around as most is under road or property closed, yet it has least to do with the hotel itself.

I would defenetly recomend the hotel for the stay on the road and if you consider some rest in the area, it could be a bit boaring for long stay, yet as the hotel it is a great place for reasonable cost (in our case).

Room Tip: It would be advisable to have a room with back view - otherwise you will have a look at the supermar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and for pointing out so many positive aspects of our hotel to other TripAdvisor readers. So as to avoid any misunderstandings with other readers, please note that breakfast is normally included in the price unless you book the special room only rate which refers to the Standard Room. While the majority of Standard rooms have a shower, please note that all other room types have a shower or bathtub option.

I do hope that you will choose to stay at Hotel Cruise again in future.
Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is nice, good bed, modern design, but nothing special. Breakfast could be better, window in the rooms could not be opened, to get to Como you need to go by car 5-10 minutes (and we saw some traffic jams on our way!). It's a bit in the middle of nowhere - close to some shopping centers and McDonalds. no foreign channels on TV

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you appreciated our room and the comfortable bed; with regards to its design, I am aware that not everyone appreciates modern design but I respect your opinion.

Hotel Cruise is indeed situated on the outskirts and is hence suitable for people travelling by car. The centre of Como is indeed only a 10 minute drive from us; the main road can be quite congested but "traffic jams" in Como are seldom anywhere near the ones one may find in large cities like Milan or Rome.
I am quite surprised you did not find any foreign channels on TV; the channel list is displayed on a list next to the TV; these include channels in English, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Japanese; nevertheless I will investigate this matter to make sure everything is in place.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

In traveling Europe for several weeks and staying in $100-$150/night hotels, we started to miss some of the conveniences of American hotels. We found reasonably priced "American comfort" at Hotel Cruise. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stay another. The rooms are well appointed, the beds are comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. The only criticism we had was the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby, and "wired" Internet is available in the rooms, but if you travel with iPads and iPhones only (like we do), you have to sit in the lobby. Still that didn't ruin our stay. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review and for having described our hotel as reflecting "American comfort" a true compliment which I will be honored to share with my team.
I am very sorry you were not able to use the free wifi in the room; this was due to some technical problems we experienced over the past few days due to bad weather, however the problem has now been solved.

Should you be back in Como in future, we do hope you will choose Hotel Cruise again for your stay.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although this hotel did not have the charm of many hotels in Lake Como it was very clean and the rooms are large. We stayed for four nights with our two daughters. The location is about a ten minute drive from downtown Como and 40 mins from Bellagio. The great thing is that the hotel has free parking included which was great as we had a rental car. We bought groceries from Bennett which was walking distance from the hotel and ate breakfast in our room (easier with a newborn.) The only downside I would say is that they wanted to charge us 30 euros per night for our two month old baby even with her sleeping in our bed. Howevwe after my husband debated this charge with them they were kind enough not to charge it. Last piece of advice is to be sure to request a non-smoking room if you would like one. Our first room was smoking but we requested to move to a non-smoking room. Be sure to go to Gelataria Larianna in Como...the best gelato we had on the trip...very reasonably priced with generous portions and amazing flavors.

Room Tip: Request non smoking room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It's a pleasure to hear that you appreciated our large free car park and the spacious room. I am very sorry about the misunderstanding related to an extra charge for your child. I am certain this was a misunderstanding as we never charge extra supplements for infants up to 2 years unless a baby cot is required, however, this is always stated by our staff members at the reception.

I am sorry that you did not have the chance to try our popular buffet breakfast which is much appreciated by the majority of our guests.

With regards to the room assigned, we do indeed have a small number of smoking rooms and this feature is clearly specified upon reserving the room. These rooms are Standard Rooms and are cheaper than Superior rooms or higher categories.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family again here soon.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We reserved a mini-suite, which was very spacecious, had a nice sitting area and a big jacuzzi bath. The bed was comfortable.
The hotel has complementary wifi, and they supply usb cables if you ask at the desk.
We were disappointed when we asked for a cork screw, to open a bottle of wine in our room, and were sent to the bar, where the bartender suggested we give him the bottle and he'll open it right there...
The hotel is situated in a suberb of Como and is reachable mainly by car. If you do not intend to rent a car, choose another hotel to stay in..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Cruise, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your most valid comments. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the bad service perceived. One of the key features that we are normally most proud of here at Hotel Cruise is the service we deliver through our staff members; I am very disappointed to hear that these people have let the whole team down and I will duly speak to those responsible for such unacceptable behavior and make sure that such incidents do not occur again in future.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and decide to choose our hotel again in future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cruise

Address: Via Carducci, 3, 22070 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cruise 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cruise is a four star superior design business & congress hotel situated at a 15 minute drive from Lake Como, in the immediate vicinity of the A9 Como Sud highway exit, midway between Milan and Lugano (Switzerland) and at a short drive from Malpensa airport. This hotel is ideal for business travellers or leisure guests travelling by car and looking for a modern and comfortable location in Como. The hotel’s 218 rooms are spacious and well appointed with independently controlled air conditioning and heating, mini-bar, safe, Pay TV and high speed internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruise Hotel Como
Hotel Cruise Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.