We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake views, great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marco's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marco's to your Saves list
Hotel Marco's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Coloniola 43, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Como
Cowes, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lake views, great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Springtime at Lake Como - BLISS! This part of Italy is ravishingly beautiful, and is particularly wonderful in springtime with all the flowers in bloom. Hotel Marco's provided the perfect base for exploring all the delights of the town and the lake and its villages.

Hotel Marco's is located at the eastern end of Como town, very close to the waterfront, but about 300 metres from the main piazza and the quay. This is an advantage, as the location is pleasantly quiet. The hotel is very close to the Funicular Railway, which is a cable car that takes visitors up to the top of the mountain for spectacular views of the countryside.

Hotel Marco's is small, personalised, unpretentious and good value for money. The hotel is family owned and run, and this shows in the excellent and courteous service provided. My room was light, bright, spotless and modern. Decent bar fridge, ample closet space, and a nice balcony to sit out and enjoy the vista. A very generous sized and well appointed bathroom.

The hotel has a high quality pizzeria and restaurant at ground level, out front across the road from the water. This eatery is very popular with locals - always a good sign. Although there was some noise from the restaurant leaking into the room, the windows and balcony door are double glazed, and it was not a problem late at night. The hotel's breakfast room provides a generous and tasty continental style buffet breakfast.

I stayed two nights at Hotel Marco's and wished I could have stayed longer. It was one of the best hotels I experienced in Italy, because, although it is not luxurious, it is very comfortable. What you see, what you pay for, is what you get.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We loved our stay at Hotel Marco's. It is not grand but the location, staff, breakfast and views are wonderful. We stayed our first 2 nights here-recovering from the long flight-woke up too early so we enjoyed the gorgeous view from our room and rode the funicular before breakfast. Dinner downstairs was awesome.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs better drape to keep street light out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

My husband and our son stayed in Hotel Marcos at the end of May and enjoyed our stay. We had a triple room with lakeview which was noisy at night as we were on the corner and a car park was next to us. Overall the hotel was clean and their was a fridge in room which was great. I would not rate this hotel as 3 star more like 2. We had take away pizza from the restaurant next door on two of our nights and ate it on the terrace great views. The only complaint that I would make was that the maid when cleaning our room left all our windows open and the door unlocked which was not very good security. Also you had to leave the room key with reception which is ok and happens commonly in Europe, but when entering the hotel reception staff cannot see everyone who is entering the hotel as they are in a side room. On the whole a pleasant stay but next time I would probably choose Bellagio to stay and it is a lot quiter and commute by ferry.

  • Liked — The lake views of Como
  • Disliked — the room size
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Stayed at hotel Marco's in early May. We had asked for a room with lake view and balconey. Didnt get the balconey but had a lovely view of the lake. I would think this hotel is not three star but two star. Our room was spotless and was cleaned every day , cleaned towels etc. Breakfast was good. There is a restaurant below the hotel. We had lunch there on the day we arrived and was good. I would stay at this hotel again if we return to Como and would recommed to friends. We had a wonderful time there.

  • Liked — Cleaniness of room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco's

Address: Via Coloniola 43, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco's 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco's is a likeable and neat hotel managed by the Leone family since 1991, situated directly – in the meaning of “really directly” – at Lake Como and next to the funicular to Brunate.Enjoy the panorama of Lake Como and major parts of the city of Como, especially from the newly built, beautiful breakfast terrace or the restaurant’s winter garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Hotel Como
Hotel Marco's Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.