We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took very good care of us!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Engadina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Engadina to your Saves list
Hotel Engadina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rosselli 22, 22100, Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Middleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Took very good care of us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We recently arrived in Como following an unexpected 28 hour layover in Detroit. We had a 2 night reservation for Hotel Borgovico, but upon arrival, not only were we charged for our missed night, they cancelled our 2nd night. Needless to say, it was a nightmare after all of our flight delays and cancellations.
Luckily, Hotel Engadina had a room for us at the last minute, and we cannot say enough about how gracious and accommodating the gentleman at the desk was. The room was fine, the breakfast was good, and the location was perfect, but the desk clerk was so pleasant---just what we needed at a bad time. Thank-you so much!!! Customer Service means a lot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamandg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Having driven through the previous night from UK we were fortunate to get one of their allotted parking spots right outside the hotel for a noon check-in, which was paramount to us when booking. Having stayed here previously, it appears to have been updated, not change in the staff, who remain friendly and helpful. Rooms are adequate in size, but clean and tidy, there is a bar next door with good seating area outside for that most have beer after a long journey. Lake about 10 minutes walk, with its plethora of bars/restaurants. Breakfasts are a cut above Italian fare for this class of city hotel. All in all, we would be happy to book here again on our next trip via Como.

Room Tip: Rooms off the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metal_MickeyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was close to the station. When exiting we went straight down the stairs with our heavy luggage and realised as you exit you can turn right and there is a footpath leading down to the point you need to be at to reach Engadina. Once at the giant hands at the foot of the path away from the stairs you turn left and follow this road until you reach the roundabout and turn right. The hotel is just up from here on the left hand side so,you will have to walk to the lights to cross this busy road safely or be dare devils like us and pick a spot to run across. The hotel is clean and just what we needed for our 2 night stay. The road is very busy out the front but not noticeable in the lobby. In your room you do hear the cars but they weren't a problem for us to sleep. It was 5 minutes to the lake and 2 minutes up on the right is a supermarket for goods you require. We were desperate to do washing and found a coin laundry finally at Quick Wash Via Carloni 14. Probably a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast is placed at your table consisting of mini toasts, juice, coffee, pastries and yoghurt.

Room Tip: Away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daresbury UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Around 10 minutes walk from the lake in the center of Como, 2 minute walk down a side street to the Como Aero Club on the lake along a very busy main road (not an issue really). Family run hotel, very clean and very pleasant stay. Room not so large but again no issues with that. Immaculately clean and tidy. Really no avoiding the road noise but again not a real problem as it's the same throughout Como. Breakfast very basic continental style as you would expect.
We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

These people welcomed us to their hotel. They were friendly, helpful, had a wonderful breakfast included which served cappuccino if you so desired and plenty more. The room was spotless, well taken care of, light colors and cheery. The bathroom was modern and updated. At night we went down and asked for coffee. Staff was happy to make anything we desired, including hot coffee or tea, no charge. This hotel has outstanding service and attitude. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: People in hoe hotel are fantastic and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irisaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is a short walk down from San Giovanni railway station, (ideal for getting to and from Switzerland) towards the lake. There is also another railway station on the other side of town. There is a large supermarket nearby, if you want to put your own choice of drinks in the mini-bar. I don't know why its called a mini-bar, its just a fridge in your room with some drinks. The hotel entrance is small in what looks like an undistinguished block of flats and there is another similar hotel in the next block. The road signs do not make it easy to find for the first time. The hotel is a short walk to a park by the lake and the other side of the park there the main touristy part of the town and ferries across the lake. My room was smaller then I had expected, but OK, cool, clean and everything in it worked well, particularly the air-con. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and answered all my questions. Breakfast was also fine. It is not a fantastic hotel, there are certainly smarter ones in Como, but what it does, it does well and if you are just passing through for a night or two, on a limited budget without great expectations, then I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: The hotel is back from a main road, so although I had no problem with noise, I would see if I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September. If you've seen all the lovely old fashioned style villas with views of the lake, you could be a little disappointed when you arrive at this 1960s concrete looking hotel! But, it turned out to be a very convenient, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

The hotel was very clean, the room comfortable, decent air conditioning. The décor was quite simple. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a free breakfast of croissants, rolls, jams, yoghurts etc. The check-in and out was very easy.

Como itself is quite big and some areas are quite modern, but there is a lovely medieval quarter about 10 mins walk from the hotel. The walk was very quick and even walking at night we felt perfectly safe. If you walk the other way from the hotel, there is a lovely walk along the lake past the hanger with all the sea planes and along to a lovely villa called Olmo, which has an area for sunbathing on the lake front.

I would very much recommend this hotel if you have never visited the area before, as Como is a good base to explore the lake and this hotel is a good place to spend a few nights. If you're looking for a lovely view or a romantic break, maybe consider one of the hotels dotted along the lake instead, but for us as first time visitors, we found the whole stay absolutely fine. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental
0.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#8 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barchetta Excelsior
Barchetta Excelsior
#4 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engadina

Address: Viale Rosselli 22, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engadina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Engadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engadina Hotel Como
Hotel Engadina Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing