We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed hotel, better on the inside then out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Engadina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Engadina to your Saves list
Hotel Engadina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rosselli 22, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Como
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well placed hotel, better on the inside then out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is a short walk down from San Giovanni railway station, (ideal for getting to and from Switzerland) towards the lake. There is also another railway station on the other side of town. There is a large supermarket nearby, if you want to put your own choice of drinks in the mini-bar. I don't know why its called a mini-bar, its just a fridge in your room with some drinks. The hotel entrance is small in what looks like an undistinguished block of flats and there is another similar hotel in the next block. The road signs do not make it easy to find for the first time. The hotel is a short walk to a park by the lake and the other side of the park there the main touristy part of the town and ferries across the lake. My room was smaller then I had expected, but OK, cool, clean and everything in it worked well, particularly the air-con. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and answered all my questions. Breakfast was also fine. It is not a fantastic hotel, there are certainly smarter ones in Como, but what it does, it does well and if you are just passing through for a night or two, on a limited budget without great expectations, then I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: The hotel is back from a main road, so although I had no problem with noise, I would see if I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    48
    36
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
46
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September. If you've seen all the lovely old fashioned style villas with views of the lake, you could be a little disappointed when you arrive at this 1960s concrete looking hotel! But, it turned out to be a very convenient, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

The hotel was very clean, the room comfortable, decent air conditioning. The décor was quite simple. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a free breakfast of croissants, rolls, jams, yoghurts etc. The check-in and out was very easy.

Como itself is quite big and some areas are quite modern, but there is a lovely medieval quarter about 10 mins walk from the hotel. The walk was very quick and even walking at night we felt perfectly safe. If you walk the other way from the hotel, there is a lovely walk along the lake past the hanger with all the sea planes and along to a lovely villa called Olmo, which has an area for sunbathing on the lake front.

I would very much recommend this hotel if you have never visited the area before, as Como is a good base to explore the lake and this hotel is a good place to spend a few nights. If you're looking for a lovely view or a romantic break, maybe consider one of the hotels dotted along the lake instead, but for us as first time visitors, we found the whole stay absolutely fine. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights in Hotel Engadina. Our room was very spacious, clean with very good amenities. All the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is adequate and served in a very comfortable breakfast room. Our room had a Juliet balcony facing an inner courtyard but with a view of the nearby hilltop.

This hotel is located just outside the old town of Como, near the university. A short walk to the beautiful lake front and promenade, the San Giovanni train station, and the old town with its quaint streets, piazzas and cafes. It is busier with traffic than inside the old town, but once in our room we did not notice any traffic noise. There is also a grocery store nearby.

We would not hesitate to recommend this property to visitors to the beautiful region of Lago di Como. Enjoy!!! Ciao!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights , found manager , son and receptionist to be very kind and helpfull ,breakfast service great! Unfortunately room small for 3 people. Safe did not work but was fixed next day..Cleaning was ok but items were misplaced! My wives make up kit never found.
Location exellent.Expensive for room type.Would recommend for short stay only ,but not with 3 single beds in room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Close to the Como San Giovanni train station, I chose this for our one night stay. We still took a taxi with our bags to the hotel, but thought that the location, just outside of the historic center, was convenient for wandering around. We stayed in a room for two with an extra bed added for a third. Not a ton of space, but pretty standards for Europe. Bathroom and linens were clean. Breakfast was pretty sad, consisting of only a bread/brioche basket, yogurt, coffee and juice. Only problem we had was with the heat. It was a cold weekend, and the heat was on. There are directions above a thermostat, but they didn't help us turn the heat down. It was really hot in the room by morning. The towel rack in the bathroom is controlled separately from the thermostat and we didn't realize this until we were really uncomfortable. Told the front desk and since we were checking out, they seemed less than worried about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel Engadina was a great place to stay a few days in Como: quiet, very friendly, clean, near to city center and both railway stations and Villa Olmo. It's easy to find - even in dark and without a map! I walked from the Como Lago Nord station to Hotel Engadina in ten minutes even with my luggage. The room had plenty of space for one and the bathroom was so new it was still shining. The walls were quite thin, but everyone seemed to go to bed early, so the noises didn't matter. The breakfast was good and the coffee was heavenly. I would definitely choose Engadina again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice clean and ver friendly hotel near Como city center and the lake. People are very helpful, parking in front of the hotel. Rooms are freshly renewed. No restaurant inside the hotel, but not far. Recommended for the value. I will return.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Engadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engadina

Address: Viale Rosselli 22, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engadina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Engadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engadina Hotel Como
Hotel Engadina Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Engadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.