We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Engadina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Engadina to your Saves list
Hotel Engadina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Rosselli 22, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Como
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good price for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel is a modern building just a few blocks from the San Giovanni Station and the old city. The boat docks are just six blocks away. We were traveling by train so it was great for us. The rooms are on the small side but the hotel is clean, safe and quiet. the breakfast was very good. There was no view of the lake but at these prices we were not expecting a view.

Room Tip: Some rooms might have a view of the old city .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    48
    36
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
46
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We booked this hotel in a hurry and had low expectations, having read previous reviews, but were still disappointed. Yes, it's fairly handy for the station (10 minutes walk not 5), but having now been to Como, the station is not in the town centre, so it wasn't much of a plus.On the bright side, the rooms are not cramped, the bathroom is recently re-furbished with a good shower, and the airconditioning is good (it needs to be: the traffic noise would be unbearable with the window open). The free wi-fi is handy, and the safe is easy to use, despite the instructions being inside. We felt that this hotel was a lot of money for very basic accommodation (having stayed the week before in a travelodge that was much nicer for half the cost). And from the general atmosphere at breakfast, we were sure no-one was happy with this hotel. With a few extras (eg, replacing the orange juice made from concentrate with fresh orange juice, replacing the old brown blankets with duvets, providing shampoo and conditioner as well as shower gel) the disappointment could surely be eased a bit. At least the hairdryer gave us a good laugh (but fortunately we'd brought a tiny travel hairdryer, which was at least 10 times as good, and we'd recommend that to anyone staying here)! Lastly, we were told on booking that the room would have mineral water and fruit - what this actually meant was that we could buy mineral water and fruit-flavoured drinks (eg, fanta) from the mini-bar - don't let this kind of thing let you think the management at this hotel provide extra touches to make up for their noisy location. They don't.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The 3 stars hotel is near the Stadium & the lake is one block behind the hotel. The seaplanes take off from the lakeside there because the Air Club is located near the Stadium. Only 15 min max to the old city center, but 5 minutes to the superb Lake Walk!
Small but comfortable. Very clean facilities. Friendly but professional staff. Fabrizio was always very attentive to our needs or request. The room was ready early & was perfectly serviced. The breakfast for being 'continental' was very generous both in size & selection. We did not have a car but our visitors did (my family) some stayed overnight & had no problem being directed to a parking place. The only inconvenience for me it was no English TV channels other than the BBC which repeated itself to death.
Our room was #335, good size with a balcony & 2 windows; very cheery - although facing the street below I had no problem sleeping & enjoying looking at the traffic (I love doing that) was a bonus for me.

Room Tip: Room # 335 was good for us. Single #336 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Good hotel if you can do without a view. Rooms are comfortable, staff helpful, location pretty good. Needs to add some cereal or fruit to the breakfast. I was in a side room and had no problem with noise.

Room Tip: Get a side room or a back one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We hade a very nice stay. Very nice and friendly hosts. The breakfast must have been upgraded, Bread, crossaints, choice of coffee (basic, expresso, csppociono), yoghurt, and some fruit if You want. Free International Herald Tribune. Bar next door make cheap and good drinks, perfect for a nightcap. and free WIFI. Try to go down to the lake (first road to the left), small cafe with great view and You can follow waterairplans from there garage here. Have a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Hotel Engadina was renovated earlier this year 2009. It is not far from the station if you are able to follow directions. The road signs did not match anything we had on our instructions. The Post Office was not able to assist - they could not even find themselves on the map! The hotel is located on the opposite side of the harbour to the Funicular and the new temporary ferry quay.
Walked the long round to the hotel. Situated on a main road which for some reason is very very busy and noisy. The windows are not double glazed so there is noise all night, even in the rooms at the rear of the hotel. There is a lift (elevator)
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. There is good lighting and free internet. There is a safe in the room with instructions on how to operate inside the safe!
The fridge is very small and can barely hold a medium sized bottle of water even with removal of all the other items from the fridge.
The bathroom is very clean and well lit. The shower has a good stream of hot water.
Breakfast is served in a small room behind the reception desk. It is not self serve. You get one crossant and a cup of tea or coffee. No hot chocolate available. No seconds offered. You will be hungry.
The hotel is comfortable, but the breakfast and noise puts us off wanting to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

In walking distance to Como-city, one hour to Milan. Closeby a supermarket and a gas station. Very, very narrow free parking space. We had a 2-bedrooms apartment with kitchen (microwave and stove). Clean, sunny room with a nice view, but noisy traffic & the pillows were a bit hard. Very friendly staff that can speak English. Free wifi in the lobby! A good continental breakfast. We had rainy days during our 2 days stay, thankfully we could borrow the hotel umbrella. In Como-city the best & cheapest ice-cream.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Engadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engadina

Address: Viale Rosselli 22, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engadina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Engadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engadina Hotel Como
Hotel Engadina Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Engadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.