We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100, Como, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Como
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“good hotel with central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you want a central hotel in Como, a few minutes walk from the historical centre, this could be it.
We, a family of four, got two big rooms, newly refurbished, so nothing to complain about.
Breakfast was ok, The swimming on the roof had only a few chairs, due to lack of space. Free WiFi , but technical problems were frequent. Service at the reception was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell-Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Como, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Kjell-Eri,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel on the whole, the right solution for you and your family despite the technical issues with internet connection; I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for this inconvenience; we are working on solving the problem but unfortunately it will take some time.

We look forward to welcoming you and your loved ones again here at Hotel Como in future.
Kindest regards,

Barbara Puritani
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Unfortunately if you arrive in Como on a Saturday night without a reservation you end up in a hotel you would not normally stay in and also pay top dollar! This was the case with the Hotel Como which I should start by saying is not representative of what Como is like at all. One of these drab highrise on the outskirts hotels which are part of a chain. Rooms so small that the double bed was against the wall on one side so if you needed to get to the bathroom in the middle of the night you had to climb over your partner. Air conditioning was poor as were the reception staff. Breakfast was reasonable but for the price we paid it should have been. Rated 4 stars but probably only because it has a pool. 3 stars would be stretching it!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Wintersso,

Thank you for your review. So as to avoid any misunderstandings with other TripAdvisor readers I would like to clarify a few points: as you clearly say, if you arrive on a Saturday night in Como during peak season, it will be very difficult to find accommodation. While we respect your opinion, Hotel Como is actually much appreciated by the vast majority of guests who choose to book our hotel well in advance. Unfortunately, you did not have a reservation and the room you chose after we showed it to you was the last room available in the whole of the hotel, this room was indeed one of the smallest rooms we have, but you said it was fine when we showed it to you. Hotel Como is popular for its spacious rooms; we accommodate many families with small children because of how spacious our rooms are. However, we do have a small number of smaller rooms that we assign last when the hotel is fully booked.

I am quite surprise with your comment on our reception staff as they normally receive great reviews from our guests but the management will duly check with our Front Office Manager that everyone’s behaviour is professional at all times. As for the price, again I am quite surprised as Hotel Como is often described as excellent value for money; we don’t sell the lake view because we don’t have one, but this allows us to offer accommodation at more reasonable prices compared to other 4 star hotels in Como and we strive on what we can control – service.
As for the air conditioning, I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused – had our staff been informed, they would have been happy to and find a prompt solution.

Should you have any further queries on your recent stay please feel free to contact me personally at hcomo@hcomo.it, I will be happy to tackle any further issues in private.
On behalf of the Hotel Como Team, we hope to be able to welcome you again soon in future at Hotel Como.

Kindest regards,

Barbara Puritani
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Como hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Tielt, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our trip from Italy back home.
Friendly and helpfull staff.
Parking places in locked garage are limited but we were granted 2 places for car and tent trailer without reserving and for the price of 1 position.
Nice and clean pool on the roof, with showers. A pleasure to have a swim in open air after a day of driving.
Very large 3 person room with separate dressoir room and nice bath room.
We all slept very well. Good beds. No noise. Airco did very well and is silent!
10 minutes walk to Como center.
Breakfast is nice. Also big coffees available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Bart D,

Many thanks for your great review. It’s a pleasure to hear you appreciated our friendly staff, our buffet breakfast, the spacious room and our roof top swimming pool.

We strive to exceed to guests’ expectations at all times and it will be a true pleasure to share your positive feedback with the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here again at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a very short trip to Como on our way back to southern Italy. The hotel was fine, a bit 'old fashioned' in its style but very very clean. Their roof garden with the pool is very nice however the bar is a bit pricy! Convenient to other restaurants in the neighbourhood. The breakfast however was not very good. Omelets were prepared out of powder! Yuck!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earifagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear earifagic,

Thank you for your review. We have had many guests through our doors, our goal is to always exceed the expectations whenever possible. While we respect your opinion on our bar prices, we would like to point out that our scrambled eggs (we do not have omlets at breakfast) are rigurously prepared with fresh eggs, we never have used powdered eggs and never will.

The Hotel Como team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

+The hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean. Good location. The beds were comfy.
-The reception is in need of some renovation.
The pool was full of insects
The prices in the restaurant, rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Maria F,

Thank you for your review. It is s a pleasure to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and that you found the room clean and comfortable; we are very proud of our newly renovated rooms.

We would like to clarify that our pool is regularly supervised and kept immaculately clean. However, because it is situated on an open-air roof terrace and surrounded by trees, there can be days in which an odd insect falls into the pool, we apologise for the inconvenience.
As for the restaurant prices, while we respect your opinion, we are quite surprised by your comment- our dishes are priced according to the high quality products used as well as based on our competitors’ prices; we will however address your concerns accordingly as we are trying to strive to make our guests feel comfortable as much as possible during their stay.
Thank you for choosing Hotel Como during your stay on Lake Como. We look forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Sad to not have a good experience here, the wifi was so slow or none at all, I just tried using the cellular on my phone. The walls are also very thin. I was woken up by banging, buzzer ringing and door slamming. The water is also yellow from the sink.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jeff,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did experience some problems with a group of very loud students which we do not normally accept in the hotel and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the disturbance caused. Please be ware that our hotel normally hosts families and adults so as to ensure everyone gets quality rest.

With regards to your comment on the water in the sink, I have passed this information onto our maintenance supervisor who will duly check all sinks as this has never occurred.
Our hotel offers complimentary wifi to all guests; unfortunately this service has recently been subject to various connection problems and we are trying to solve the issue with our provider but it will take some time.

Should you decide to give Hotel Como a second chance in future we would be honoured to ensure you have a most memorable stay.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Decided on a last minute trip yo Como. Was meeting up with friends and didn't want to spend a lot. Hotel Como was the perfect match if quality and value. I had a single room but it was reasonable in size - same for the bathroom with excellent water pressure and shower height. There were toiletry amenities and free internet for all devices - I don't find this at hotels at twice the price often.

The reception was warm and friendly. It's a 20 minute walk to "town" and a lovely one at that.

Overall for a short stay this is hard to beat.

And the breakfast was plentiful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclegus621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Unclegus6,

Thank you for your kind review and for describing Hotel Como so well. We are pleased to hear you liked the room, our services and that you found our staff to be friendly. We will be happy to share your positive comments with the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
1.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barchetta Excelsior
Barchetta Excelsior
#4 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Cruise
Hotel Cruise
#8 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#9 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing