We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfi hotel on way back home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Como
Tielt, Belgium
1 review
“Comfi hotel on way back home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our trip from Italy back home.
Friendly and helpfull staff.
Parking places in locked garage are limited but we were granted 2 places for car and tent trailer without reserving and for the price of 1 position.
Nice and clean pool on the roof, with showers. A pleasure to have a swim in open air after a day of driving.
Very large 3 person room with separate dressoir room and nice bath room.
We all slept very well. Good beds. No noise. Airco did very well and is silent!
10 minutes walk to Como center.
Breakfast is nice. Also big coffees available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Bart D,

Many thanks for your great review. It’s a pleasure to hear you appreciated our friendly staff, our buffet breakfast, the spacious room and our roof top swimming pool.

We strive to exceed to guests’ expectations at all times and it will be a true pleasure to share your positive feedback with the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here again at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
32
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a very short trip to Como on our way back to southern Italy. The hotel was fine, a bit 'old fashioned' in its style but very very clean. Their roof garden with the pool is very nice however the bar is a bit pricy! Convenient to other restaurants in the neighbourhood. The breakfast however was not very good. Omelets were prepared out of powder! Yuck!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear earifagic,

Thank you for your review. We have had many guests through our doors, our goal is to always exceed the expectations whenever possible. While we respect your opinion on our bar prices, we would like to point out that our scrambled eggs (we do not have omlets at breakfast) are rigurously prepared with fresh eggs, we never have used powdered eggs and never will.

The Hotel Como team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

+The hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean. Good location. The beds were comfy.
-The reception is in need of some renovation.
The pool was full of insects
The prices in the restaurant, rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Maria F,

Thank you for your review. It is s a pleasure to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and that you found the room clean and comfortable; we are very proud of our newly renovated rooms.

We would like to clarify that our pool is regularly supervised and kept immaculately clean. However, because it is situated on an open-air roof terrace and surrounded by trees, there can be days in which an odd insect falls into the pool, we apologise for the inconvenience.
As for the restaurant prices, while we respect your opinion, we are quite surprised by your comment- our dishes are priced according to the high quality products used as well as based on our competitors’ prices; we will however address your concerns accordingly as we are trying to strive to make our guests feel comfortable as much as possible during their stay.
Thank you for choosing Hotel Como during your stay on Lake Como. We look forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Sad to not have a good experience here, the wifi was so slow or none at all, I just tried using the cellular on my phone. The walls are also very thin. I was woken up by banging, buzzer ringing and door slamming. The water is also yellow from the sink.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jeff,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did experience some problems with a group of very loud students which we do not normally accept in the hotel and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the disturbance caused. Please be ware that our hotel normally hosts families and adults so as to ensure everyone gets quality rest.

With regards to your comment on the water in the sink, I have passed this information onto our maintenance supervisor who will duly check all sinks as this has never occurred.
Our hotel offers complimentary wifi to all guests; unfortunately this service has recently been subject to various connection problems and we are trying to solve the issue with our provider but it will take some time.

Should you decide to give Hotel Como a second chance in future we would be honoured to ensure you have a most memorable stay.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Decided on a last minute trip yo Como. Was meeting up with friends and didn't want to spend a lot. Hotel Como was the perfect match if quality and value. I had a single room but it was reasonable in size - same for the bathroom with excellent water pressure and shower height. There were toiletry amenities and free internet for all devices - I don't find this at hotels at twice the price often.

The reception was warm and friendly. It's a 20 minute walk to "town" and a lovely one at that.

Overall for a short stay this is hard to beat.

And the breakfast was plentiful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Unclegus6,

Thank you for your kind review and for describing Hotel Como so well. We are pleased to hear you liked the room, our services and that you found our staff to be friendly. We will be happy to share your positive comments with the whole team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We found this to be such a great place to enjoy every aspect of Como. It always you to stroll down the streets to the lake and not pay the higher rates. The rooms were large and the staff are fantastic and so enthused each time you are either seeking information or just wandering through reception. The breakfast was well catered and the staff were polite and obliging with any requests. Would recommend this hotel in what is a fantastic town...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Trevor F,

Many thanks for your great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying with us and we will be honoured to share your compliments with the whole team.
The Como team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again soon in future.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Moved here from a different hotel after a business trip. Plus points are good air con (it was very warm); large room ; roof terrace and pool; close proximity to airport rail link. Minus points are unattractive location; poor food quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear CarolF,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you appreciated our services including the spacious room and roof terrace with pool which we are very proud of. As for the location, Hotel Como is situated downtown Como and not right on the lake; it is however conveniently located at a short walk from the old part of town and at a 20 minute stroll from the lake front; the hotel offers free bicycles to allow guests to reach the lake and other attractions more efficiently.

As for the food quality, we are quite surprised by your comment. Our new Chef Esedra has gained much popularity in the few months she has been with us on behalf of our guests for the delicious dishes she prepares; we do however respect your opinion and will pass this onto her.

We hope to welcome you here at Hotel Como again in future.

Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.