We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a 4 star Hotel, we expected much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For a 4 star Hotel, we expected much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

So ready to go to sleep and we can't turn a light off (there's no light switch). Ring front desk, after waiting a further 10minutes, we wander downstairs and ask the desk clerk to come see for himself. Even he is stumped! (Room 306). They give us another room, which is slightly larger. One colleague books a single room, size of a shoe box, so don't book a single room, ask to see the rooms before you book. There are works going on across the road, so your stay will not be pleasant. For a 4 star property you would expect a kettle and tea and coffee, no such luck. Oh and I forgot to mention that room 306, the heating is set at 25, you can't budge from that but our new room 307, temperature is set at 22 degrees! can't wait to get out of here... And the beds are hard, we won't be back

Room Tip: Is there such a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear KMJ62,
Thank you for your review. We are aware of the light switch problem in the room and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, we are aware the problem was promptly solved by assigning you a new, larger room.

We are also aware that our single rooms with single beds are rather limited in space as they measure 19 meter squares however, this is due to the structural aspects of the hotel and we clearly indicate all room sizes on our website and portals; we are also aware that a room change at no extra charge was suggested by one of our staff members but this offer was turned down by your colleague.

With regards to the annoying construction site next door, (which does not belong to the hotel) we are pleased to inform everyone that works are almost completed and such nuisances will not occur again in future. Whenever possible over the past 3 years, we have assigned rooms overlooking the inner courtyard way from the construction site noise; unfortunately, this has not always been possible due to high occupancy.
With regards to the central heating, please be informed that it is against the Italian law to turn heating on before the start of autumn however, our front desk staff would have been more than pleased to provide you with extra blankets.

As for the beds, all mattresses were replaced last year and luckily the great majority of our guests find them very comfortable however, we respect your opinion on this.

Should you wish to receive any further information on your recent stay, please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed over the weekend at Hotel Como after having stayed in 3 other hotels during the week. All I can say is if you want a professional hotel experience in every aspect, book a stay there. Good location too!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for your great review. It is an honour to read you found Hotel Como professional in every aspect; I will be pleased to share your compliments with the whole team.
We all very much look forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent seven nights at Hotel Como during the last week of August and was always pleased to come 'home' after being out all day. Our room was always immaculate; towels and bedding fresh each day!
The reception and waiting staff were very accommodating and not only spoke English to us but also to the French,Spanish , Dutch and German guests who seemed to chose English as their form of communication. They were always courteous, helpful and friendly.
Our room was just above the hotel reception area so we did hear the building work but not at an unreasonable hour and it was a good alarm clock!
The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the main hustle and bustle but no problem as you could get to see and feel the real Como.
We enjoyed dining in the restaurant and rooftop terrace and received excellent service from the young waiter whose recommendations were spot on!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Jardenw,

Thank you for amazing review and super comments on our staff, we will be honoured to share your compliments with everyone. We are very sorry for the construction works in front of the hotel; they should end soon considering the building is almost completed - this site does not belong to the hotel but we are aware that the noise can be a nuisance and thank you for understanding.

The hotel Como team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again during your next stay in Como.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was in a good location. Staff were just fantastic with great advice and always happy to assist. Breakfast and dinners were great. The hotel was clean, regularly serviced and they made our stay most comfortable. I would stay again without hestiation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Michael g,

Thank you for your great review. It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and general services. Many thanks for referring to my staff as being “fantastic”, I will be thrilled to share your compliments with all of my team.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for two nights and we have some and good and not so good experiences. First, Como is not a very easy city to drive and we took some time to find the hotel, but when we found it it was nice to see that it has private parking and the all the staff was very helpful. The room was nice and large, clean, not so quiet because of a big construction is taking place right in front. The breakfast was very very nice and we also enjoyed a good time at the pool and a dinner at the roof restaurant. Now, the not so good impressions. It's is quite far from the center and from the lake and it was not a good idea doing it by walk with a two years old boy as we were told. Despite we have mentioned on our reservation that we were travelling with a baby, we were said that we had to pay an extra for the baby bed, which was not mentioned on the reservation. It was the first time we have seen this procedure. The shower was not working properly, it had almost no pressure and was not draining. But the staff was able to minimize the problem. Despite all this, we have enjoyed our stay and we are thankful for all the help and sympathy of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear NunoM,

Thank you for your review and for your detailed comments. It’s a pleasure to hear you appreciated the outdoor complimentary parking, our popular buffet breakfast and our roof terrace pool and Grill restaurant. We are also very pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed the large clean room. We are aware of the annoying construction site nearby which will luckily soon terminate its works; whenever possible we try to assign rooms away from this area however when the hotel is full this isn’t always possible.

With regards to our child supplement policy, if the baby shares existing bedding with parents no extra charge is required however, if a baby cot is needed, a €10 supplement per night is required; we are very sorry this was not pointed out in the reservation confirmation; please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family here at Hotel Como in future.
Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

On first impressions the hotel was good. However I was soon disappointed. I came back to room and the air condition had stopped working. I had change rooms at 12:30. We had a 4person room and had to settle for 2, 2person rooms. Next on check out they said my card didn't have any funds even tho they had already took payment. They made me use another card n therefore i ended up paying for my room twice. It was a nightmare trying to get my money back. This took ages, well over 2weeks. This is not how you should treat your customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear readers,
So as to avoid any misunderstandings, we would like to clarify a few points:

The air conditioning in the room our guests were originally staying in stopped working so we promptly assigned the guests a new room; because quadruple rooms were no longer available, we assigned our guests a spacious double room per couple. As this was a reservation which came through booking.com, we were authorized to check the credit card provided prior to arrival of guests by temporarily blocking the amount due as guarantee (this is a regular procedure that most hotels carry out and it is completely reversible). We would therefore make it very clear that the guests did not pay twice. However, at check-out, the same card did not have sufficient funds and we had to ask for another card to settle the bill. The reason why funds took more than 2 weeks to be replaced on card depends on the type of card – this was a Visa Electron card which takes longer than a regular Visas / Mastercards – this timing does not depend on the hotel but on the type of credit card used. Had the guests provided a real credit card with sufficient funds since the start this mishap would not have happened in the first place.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

But not for more than 1 night... The center is quite far by foot and the lake as well... Internet poor even by Italian standards and beside complicated user and pass it does not work in the breakfast room... I could not identify the garden .... They ask for credit card guarantee at check in even for one night so be prepared .... Breakfast average and in August 2013 it is a construction site just in front and they start working there at 8.30

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear zaira40,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the poor wifi connection ; we did indeed experience some technical problems which have now been solved – wifi now works throughout the hotel including the breakfast room. The roof garden is situated on the 5th floor of our roof terrace with a spectacular 360 degree view of Como’s rolling hills and a small pool open in summer where our guests can relax after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel Como is situated down town at 20 minute stroll from the lake front; most guests appreciate the location as it is quite central however we respect your opinion.
With regards to the construction site in front of the hotel (which does not belong to our property) we do realize this can be a nuisance to guests and whenever possible we try our best to assign rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, however, the building is almost completed so works should be finishing off soon.

We look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.