We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Save Saved
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Como
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed over the weekend at Hotel Como after having stayed in 3 other hotels during the week. All I can say is if you want a professional hotel experience in every aspect, book a stay there. Good location too!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Peter D,

Thank you for your great review. It is an honour to read you found Hotel Como professional in every aspect; I will be pleased to share your compliments with the whole team.
We all very much look forward to welcoming you here again in future.

Kindest regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent seven nights at Hotel Como during the last week of August and was always pleased to come 'home' after being out all day. Our room was always immaculate; towels and bedding fresh each day!
The reception and waiting staff were very accommodating and not only spoke English to us but also to the French,Spanish , Dutch and German guests who seemed to chose English as their form of communication. They were always courteous, helpful and friendly.
Our room was just above the hotel reception area so we did hear the building work but not at an unreasonable hour and it was a good alarm clock!
The hotel is a fifteen minute walk from the main hustle and bustle but no problem as you could get to see and feel the real Como.
We enjoyed dining in the restaurant and rooftop terrace and received excellent service from the young waiter whose recommendations were spot on!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Jardenw,

Thank you for amazing review and super comments on our staff, we will be honoured to share your compliments with everyone. We are very sorry for the construction works in front of the hotel; they should end soon considering the building is almost completed - this site does not belong to the hotel but we are aware that the noise can be a nuisance and thank you for understanding.

The hotel Como team very much looks forward to welcoming you here again during your next stay in Como.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was in a good location. Staff were just fantastic with great advice and always happy to assist. Breakfast and dinners were great. The hotel was clean, regularly serviced and they made our stay most comfortable. I would stay again without hestiation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Michael g,

Thank you for your great review. It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and general services. Many thanks for referring to my staff as being “fantastic”, I will be thrilled to share your compliments with all of my team.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como again in future.
Kindest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for two nights and we have some and good and not so good experiences. First, Como is not a very easy city to drive and we took some time to find the hotel, but when we found it it was nice to see that it has private parking and the all the staff was very helpful. The room was nice and large, clean, not so quiet because of a big construction is taking place right in front. The breakfast was very very nice and we also enjoyed a good time at the pool and a dinner at the roof restaurant. Now, the not so good impressions. It's is quite far from the center and from the lake and it was not a good idea doing it by walk with a two years old boy as we were told. Despite we have mentioned on our reservation that we were travelling with a baby, we were said that we had to pay an extra for the baby bed, which was not mentioned on the reservation. It was the first time we have seen this procedure. The shower was not working properly, it had almost no pressure and was not draining. But the staff was able to minimize the problem. Despite all this, we have enjoyed our stay and we are thankful for all the help and sympathy of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear NunoM,

Thank you for your review and for your detailed comments. It’s a pleasure to hear you appreciated the outdoor complimentary parking, our popular buffet breakfast and our roof terrace pool and Grill restaurant. We are also very pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed the large clean room. We are aware of the annoying construction site nearby which will luckily soon terminate its works; whenever possible we try to assign rooms away from this area however when the hotel is full this isn’t always possible.

With regards to our child supplement policy, if the baby shares existing bedding with parents no extra charge is required however, if a baby cot is needed, a €10 supplement per night is required; we are very sorry this was not pointed out in the reservation confirmation; please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family here at Hotel Como in future.
Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

On first impressions the hotel was good. However I was soon disappointed. I came back to room and the air condition had stopped working. I had change rooms at 12:30. We had a 4person room and had to settle for 2, 2person rooms. Next on check out they said my card didn't have any funds even tho they had already took payment. They made me use another card n therefore i ended up paying for my room twice. It was a nightmare trying to get my money back. This took ages, well over 2weeks. This is not how you should treat your customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear readers,
So as to avoid any misunderstandings, we would like to clarify a few points:

The air conditioning in the room our guests were originally staying in stopped working so we promptly assigned the guests a new room; because quadruple rooms were no longer available, we assigned our guests a spacious double room per couple. As this was a reservation which came through booking.com, we were authorized to check the credit card provided prior to arrival of guests by temporarily blocking the amount due as guarantee (this is a regular procedure that most hotels carry out and it is completely reversible). We would therefore make it very clear that the guests did not pay twice. However, at check-out, the same card did not have sufficient funds and we had to ask for another card to settle the bill. The reason why funds took more than 2 weeks to be replaced on card depends on the type of card – this was a Visa Electron card which takes longer than a regular Visas / Mastercards – this timing does not depend on the hotel but on the type of credit card used. Had the guests provided a real credit card with sufficient funds since the start this mishap would not have happened in the first place.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

But not for more than 1 night... The center is quite far by foot and the lake as well... Internet poor even by Italian standards and beside complicated user and pass it does not work in the breakfast room... I could not identify the garden .... They ask for credit card guarantee at check in even for one night so be prepared .... Breakfast average and in August 2013 it is a construction site just in front and they start working there at 8.30

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear zaira40,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the poor wifi connection ; we did indeed experience some technical problems which have now been solved – wifi now works throughout the hotel including the breakfast room. The roof garden is situated on the 5th floor of our roof terrace with a spectacular 360 degree view of Como’s rolling hills and a small pool open in summer where our guests can relax after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel Como is situated down town at 20 minute stroll from the lake front; most guests appreciate the location as it is quite central however we respect your opinion.
With regards to the construction site in front of the hotel (which does not belong to our property) we do realize this can be a nuisance to guests and whenever possible we try our best to assign rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, however, the building is almost completed so works should be finishing off soon.

We look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you add aIf you add a pool to your hotel just slightly larger than a bathtub and install a made in Chinese fridge you receive 4 star to your 2 star hotel.
The pool was in roof and being closed at 8pm.
We wanted to get in to the pool to get relax at the end of a long day. Pool was extremely dirty. There were no cleaning system. Looks like a bathtub filled in the morning and going to be drained by night!
Parking space is very limited. There were a few drivers who parked their car stupidly to occupy space for two cars and hotel management had done nothing.
Wifi need to be logged on every time.
You need to type in long and complicated user name each time you close your iPads cover.
Rooms are reasonably large.
Do not leave any valuable, especially money in the room at no time!

If you insist to see Lake Como, this may be the optimum solution as all hotels in Como are expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Akif,

Thank you for your review. We would like to clarify that our pool is not the size of a bathtub, it actually measures 12 x 6 metres and 1.4 meters in depth; it may not be an olympic pool but we are proud to be the only hotel in Como with a roof top pool with breathtaking 360 degree views of Como’s rolling hills.

Our pool closes at 6pm to allow guests to enjoy a quiet, intimate dinner at the Grill on the roof terrace without being disturbed by any annoying noise from the pool area. This has never been an issue with our guests but I respect your opinion. Also, I can assure you that the pool is regularly cleaned and is equipped with an automatic filtering and cleaning system, we will however duly check with maintenance that it is perfectly clean. The pool bar does indeed have a large fridge, (I have to double check where it was manufactured) but we are quite happy to buy products from the Far East without any prejudice.

With regards to parking, it is indeed limited as stated on all websites referring to Hotel Como; space in Como is generally a big problem; car spaces are very difficult to find especially in summer and tend to be rather costly. We may only have 22 outdoor car parks and 9 indoor garage spaces but we try and compensate this “limited” service by providing a free outdoor car park while other hotels tend to charge high amounts for such services. As I am sure you will understand, our front office staff cannot move a guests’ car (only 5 star hotels provide valet parking) and finding the car’s owner in a hotel with 79 rooms during high season can be rather challenging; the world is full of rude people and there is a limit to where the hotels can intervene to educate their guests.

With regards to wifi, logging on with a password is what normally an internet connection system would ask you each time – for both technical and security reasons – I don’t really see where the hassle is especially when the wifi service provided is complimentary.

As for the serious insinuations behind your comment on not leaving valuables in the room, I would like to clarify that there have never been any thefts in the hotel. We trust our staff and are quite confident such incidents never have and will never occur at Hotel Como. For those who prefer to keep their belongings in a safe, please note that all rooms at Hotel Como feature an in-room safety deposit box with a personalized access code. If you have any further comments on this matter please contact us directly.

Hotel Como has been and will continue being a four star hotel, it has proudly earned its star rating through years of hard work and endurance on behalf of all of its staff members.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.