We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Save Saved
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Como
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Please avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

On first impressions the hotel was good. However I was soon disappointed. I came back to room and the air condition had stopped working. I had change rooms at 12:30. We had a 4person room and had to settle for 2, 2person rooms. Next on check out they said my card didn't have any funds even tho they had already took payment. They made me use another card n therefore i ended up paying for my room twice. It was a nightmare trying to get my money back. This took ages, well over 2weeks. This is not how you should treat your customers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear readers,
So as to avoid any misunderstandings, we would like to clarify a few points:

The air conditioning in the room our guests were originally staying in stopped working so we promptly assigned the guests a new room; because quadruple rooms were no longer available, we assigned our guests a spacious double room per couple. As this was a reservation which came through booking.com, we were authorized to check the credit card provided prior to arrival of guests by temporarily blocking the amount due as guarantee (this is a regular procedure that most hotels carry out and it is completely reversible). We would therefore make it very clear that the guests did not pay twice. However, at check-out, the same card did not have sufficient funds and we had to ask for another card to settle the bill. The reason why funds took more than 2 weeks to be replaced on card depends on the type of card – this was a Visa Electron card which takes longer than a regular Visas / Mastercards – this timing does not depend on the hotel but on the type of credit card used. Had the guests provided a real credit card with sufficient funds since the start this mishap would not have happened in the first place.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

But not for more than 1 night... The center is quite far by foot and the lake as well... Internet poor even by Italian standards and beside complicated user and pass it does not work in the breakfast room... I could not identify the garden .... They ask for credit card guarantee at check in even for one night so be prepared .... Breakfast average and in August 2013 it is a construction site just in front and they start working there at 8.30

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear zaira40,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the poor wifi connection ; we did indeed experience some technical problems which have now been solved – wifi now works throughout the hotel including the breakfast room. The roof garden is situated on the 5th floor of our roof terrace with a spectacular 360 degree view of Como’s rolling hills and a small pool open in summer where our guests can relax after a long day of sightseeing.

Hotel Como is situated down town at 20 minute stroll from the lake front; most guests appreciate the location as it is quite central however we respect your opinion.
With regards to the construction site in front of the hotel (which does not belong to our property) we do realize this can be a nuisance to guests and whenever possible we try our best to assign rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, however, the building is almost completed so works should be finishing off soon.

We look forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you add aIf you add a pool to your hotel just slightly larger than a bathtub and install a made in Chinese fridge you receive 4 star to your 2 star hotel.
The pool was in roof and being closed at 8pm.
We wanted to get in to the pool to get relax at the end of a long day. Pool was extremely dirty. There were no cleaning system. Looks like a bathtub filled in the morning and going to be drained by night!
Parking space is very limited. There were a few drivers who parked their car stupidly to occupy space for two cars and hotel management had done nothing.
Wifi need to be logged on every time.
You need to type in long and complicated user name each time you close your iPads cover.
Rooms are reasonably large.
Do not leave any valuable, especially money in the room at no time!

If you insist to see Lake Como, this may be the optimum solution as all hotels in Como are expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Akif,

Thank you for your review. We would like to clarify that our pool is not the size of a bathtub, it actually measures 12 x 6 metres and 1.4 meters in depth; it may not be an olympic pool but we are proud to be the only hotel in Como with a roof top pool with breathtaking 360 degree views of Como’s rolling hills.

Our pool closes at 6pm to allow guests to enjoy a quiet, intimate dinner at the Grill on the roof terrace without being disturbed by any annoying noise from the pool area. This has never been an issue with our guests but I respect your opinion. Also, I can assure you that the pool is regularly cleaned and is equipped with an automatic filtering and cleaning system, we will however duly check with maintenance that it is perfectly clean. The pool bar does indeed have a large fridge, (I have to double check where it was manufactured) but we are quite happy to buy products from the Far East without any prejudice.

With regards to parking, it is indeed limited as stated on all websites referring to Hotel Como; space in Como is generally a big problem; car spaces are very difficult to find especially in summer and tend to be rather costly. We may only have 22 outdoor car parks and 9 indoor garage spaces but we try and compensate this “limited” service by providing a free outdoor car park while other hotels tend to charge high amounts for such services. As I am sure you will understand, our front office staff cannot move a guests’ car (only 5 star hotels provide valet parking) and finding the car’s owner in a hotel with 79 rooms during high season can be rather challenging; the world is full of rude people and there is a limit to where the hotels can intervene to educate their guests.

With regards to wifi, logging on with a password is what normally an internet connection system would ask you each time – for both technical and security reasons – I don’t really see where the hassle is especially when the wifi service provided is complimentary.

As for the serious insinuations behind your comment on not leaving valuables in the room, I would like to clarify that there have never been any thefts in the hotel. We trust our staff and are quite confident such incidents never have and will never occur at Hotel Como. For those who prefer to keep their belongings in a safe, please note that all rooms at Hotel Como feature an in-room safety deposit box with a personalized access code. If you have any further comments on this matter please contact us directly.

Hotel Como has been and will continue being a four star hotel, it has proudly earned its star rating through years of hard work and endurance on behalf of all of its staff members.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Como for 4 nights at the beginning of our Europe holiday and found it to be a very enjoyable stay. Our luggage did not arrive at Milan on our flight and every staff member at the Hotel could not help us enough tracing our cases until they arrived 2 days later at Lake Como. Apart from the helpful staff we also found our room to be clean and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices available. Although the Hotel Como is a good 15 minute walk to the Lake it is closer to the Old Town and the Restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valerie377,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear that my staff proved to be helpful and that you enjoyed the spacious room and our buffet breakfast¸ I will gladly share your compliments with all the staff members.

My team and I look very much forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay in Como. This hotel provides a great base for touring the city and the lake. It is clean,comfortable and staff are helpful and friendly. Yes there are currently building works next door (these of course are temporary) but they don't work Saturdays and Sundays and were not a major problem for us. Breakfasts are full and plentiful. The advantage of the Hotel Como is its roof terrace with swimming pool -a great place to relax at the end of the day. On summer nights (as long as it's dry!) dinner can be taken on the terrace and this is an advantage in particular on Sunday evenings when many bars cafes and restaurants in the old town close. We loved Como and the hotel significantly helped to make our stay such a memorable one. I have the impression that the hotel and its staff are seeking to improve their reputation (and its Trip Advisor rating!). May they keep up the good work! We very hope to return and based on our experience would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. they are small but nevertheless useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear pampeople_10,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our services and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. It’s a pleasure to read that you appreciated our roof top pool and grill – Hotel Como is the only hotel in Como with a roof top pool and we are very pleased you took advantage of this feature. Most of all, we are delighted to hear you would return to our hotel and recommend it to others.

On behalf of the Hotel Como family, a heartful thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rated 4 STARS but is only a 2 STAR hotel. Staff are not particularly helpful, rooms are basic and fit out is old but clean. Booked for 4 people, only 3 towels supplied, TV didn't work and lounge settee bed had broken slats. WiFi only worked near reception. There are better hotels in Como to try for similar tariffs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry with all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us; we have duly checked with all departments to make sure everything is now functioning and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for all the hassle. We do hope you pointed these problems out to our Front Desk so that they could have promptly made amends and we would be very happy to know what kind of solution the reception staff proposed during your stay; please feel free to contact us directly so as to find an adequate solution.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is generally outdated, with staff who speak little to no English, making it v. hard to communicate. Pool was freezing despite the hot weather. Wanted some food when we arrived but was told the bar was closed for the day. You get what you pay for. This is a 4 star by italian standards, but a 2 by Australian. Wifi is terribly slow. Would not recommend if you are looking for a modern hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Emma Tatu,

Thank you for your review. While I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would like to clarify that all of our staff is multilingual; languages spoken in the hotel are English, French, German, and Spanish and in some occasions, Arabic. I think you may have accidentally spoken to some interns from high school; these students are here to learn (they all have an intern badge so guests can identify them) and unfortunately they do not always speak foreign languages fluently. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With regards to the pool water, as it is not a heated pool, water temperature can vary according to weather conditions; while water temperature perception can be a very personal aspect, I respect your opinion and will ensure that the pool water temperature is always monitored as per standards.

With regards to wifi connection, we did indeed experience some technical difficulties in June and we are very sorry for the annoyance; the system has now been fixed.
If you ever decide to grant Hotel Como a second chance in future, please feel free to contact me personally – I would be very happy to manage your reservation in person and ensure you have a perfect stay.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como
Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.