We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Como

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Como to your Saves list
Hotel Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Como
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Como for 4 nights at the beginning of our Europe holiday and found it to be a very enjoyable stay. Our luggage did not arrive at Milan on our flight and every staff member at the Hotel could not help us enough tracing our cases until they arrived 2 days later at Lake Como. Apart from the helpful staff we also found our room to be clean and spacious. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices available. Although the Hotel Como is a good 15 minute walk to the Lake it is closer to the Old Town and the Restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valerie377,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am thrilled to hear that my staff proved to be helpful and that you enjoyed the spacious room and our buffet breakfast¸ I will gladly share your compliments with all the staff members.

My team and I look very much forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como in future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay in Como. This hotel provides a great base for touring the city and the lake. It is clean,comfortable and staff are helpful and friendly. Yes there are currently building works next door (these of course are temporary) but they don't work Saturdays and Sundays and were not a major problem for us. Breakfasts are full and plentiful. The advantage of the Hotel Como is its roof terrace with swimming pool -a great place to relax at the end of the day. On summer nights (as long as it's dry!) dinner can be taken on the terrace and this is an advantage in particular on Sunday evenings when many bars cafes and restaurants in the old town close. We loved Como and the hotel significantly helped to make our stay such a memorable one. I have the impression that the hotel and its staff are seeking to improve their reputation (and its Trip Advisor rating!). May they keep up the good work! We very hope to return and based on our experience would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. they are small but nevertheless useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear pampeople_10,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our services and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. It’s a pleasure to read that you appreciated our roof top pool and grill – Hotel Como is the only hotel in Como with a roof top pool and we are very pleased you took advantage of this feature. Most of all, we are delighted to hear you would return to our hotel and recommend it to others.

On behalf of the Hotel Como family, a heartful thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rated 4 STARS but is only a 2 STAR hotel. Staff are not particularly helpful, rooms are basic and fit out is old but clean. Booked for 4 people, only 3 towels supplied, TV didn't work and lounge settee bed had broken slats. WiFi only worked near reception. There are better hotels in Como to try for similar tariffs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry with all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us; we have duly checked with all departments to make sure everything is now functioning and I hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for all the hassle. We do hope you pointed these problems out to our Front Desk so that they could have promptly made amends and we would be very happy to know what kind of solution the reception staff proposed during your stay; please feel free to contact us directly so as to find an adequate solution.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is generally outdated, with staff who speak little to no English, making it v. hard to communicate. Pool was freezing despite the hot weather. Wanted some food when we arrived but was told the bar was closed for the day. You get what you pay for. This is a 4 star by italian standards, but a 2 by Australian. Wifi is terribly slow. Would not recommend if you are looking for a modern hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Emma Tatu,

Thank you for your review. While I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would like to clarify that all of our staff is multilingual; languages spoken in the hotel are English, French, German, and Spanish and in some occasions, Arabic. I think you may have accidentally spoken to some interns from high school; these students are here to learn (they all have an intern badge so guests can identify them) and unfortunately they do not always speak foreign languages fluently. Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With regards to the pool water, as it is not a heated pool, water temperature can vary according to weather conditions; while water temperature perception can be a very personal aspect, I respect your opinion and will ensure that the pool water temperature is always monitored as per standards.

With regards to wifi connection, we did indeed experience some technical difficulties in June and we are very sorry for the annoyance; the system has now been fixed.
If you ever decide to grant Hotel Como a second chance in future, please feel free to contact me personally – I would be very happy to manage your reservation in person and ensure you have a perfect stay.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights, hotel is clean, rooms a good size for a modern hotel, air conditioning very efficent. Front desk staff helpful and at least two people always on duty so no waiting. Good size car park which very useful. Yes building work going on next door but this looks as if nearly finished, building site just made the car look like it had competed in Paris Dakar Rally, no real annoying noise. Hotel is agood 15/20 mins walk from the old town and not much to see for first ten minutes. Hotel was busy when we were there and apart from a few hotels on the lake front there did not appear to be many others. Breakfasr buffet was fine,reasonable choice, did finish at 1030 though, on weekend a bit longer would have been good. Roof terrace is added bonus , was very pleasent to sit there watching sun go down one evening.Wifi good reception .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Teddington,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other TripAdvisor readers. It’s a pleasure to hear you appreciated our services and staff members.

With regards to the building site facing the hotel, you are indeed right when you point out that the works are almost completed and that the “only” nuisance right now is the occasional dust in the car park which we are very sorry about; this annoyance will soon cease once works are completed.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in future.

Warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a new hotel, with new apartments next door and more being built, we had nice view of building site and hills in the back ground. Location is about 20 mins walk from s giovanni station and about the same to the lake and old city.
Rooms were new and modern and the roof terrace with pool was a nice way to cool off with a swim and a cold drink after a long day cruiseing the lake, there BBQ menu was not bad either.
WiFi was good and breakfast buffet had good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Globehoppin,

Many thanks for your great review. I am delighted to hear you appreciated the newly refurbished room, our roof top pool and our Chef’s grilled specialties served at the roof Grill. I am also very happy to read you found our buffet breakfast a good choice. I will be pleased to share your comments with the whole team.

The Hotel Como family looks very much forward to welcoming you here again in future.
Kindest regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Como was our last stop on a 13 day recent stay. As far as the hotel we just wanted a clean room with some decent pillows and didn't expect anything grandiose. However, we were immensely happy after a 3 night stay in June. First off, the service....the best by far in our 13 days....people smile, greet you, say goodbye, are prompt, polite and extremeful accomodating.

The continental breakfast included in the tour price is excellent. Eggs, delicious bacon, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, salamis, etc. Very nice. Don't miss before you head out.

Great room.......not so great a view as a new high rise is being built..........very high ceilings.....plenty of space.....AC worked if needed.....extras in the bathroom, etc. Very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin_HotelComo, Direttore generale at Hotel Como, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear dante6,

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful review. Hotel Como may not be on right the lake front but our staff really puts every effort and passion in making sure our guests feel at home; I am delighted to read that you picked this up during your stay with us.

My team and I look very much forward to welcoming you here at Hotel Como again in future.
Warm regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Como

Address: Via Mentana 28, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Como 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Como is a 4 star hotel ideal for families or couples wishing to visit the beauties of Lake Como at a reasonable price. The Hotel is located at a 20 minute walk from the lake front and at a 10 minute walk from the city's old part of town. Hotel Como’s 79 spacious rooms feature free unlimited wifi, adjustable air conditioning, satellite TV, safety deposit box, mini-bar and courtesy line. Most rooms have wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.