We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- But NOT a 4* hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Suisse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Suisse Hotel to your Saves list
Metropole Suisse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cavour 19, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Rehovot
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location- But NOT a 4* hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at this hotel: Nice hotel with a great location, BUT not a 4* hotel as it claims to be... More like a 3*.
We didn't receive the room we were promised and the receptionist who was there when we checked in wasn't nice and tried to trick us to a shabby room... (The other representatives we have encountered afterwards were nice, but they didn't try even to compensate us on the fact that they didn't fulfil their promise to us when we made the reservation 2 months in advance).
All in all, the hotel needs a renovation and a comprehensive updating, breakfast is sufficient but nothing special and the level of cleanliness is ok.
Next time we will probably go to Hotel Barchetta, which is also in Piazza Cavour and was recently renovated or return to this one after a general make-over.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    191
    79
    48
    28
See reviews for
61
217
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Apologies for delay in posting this review. Review was written not long after our stay in 2007.
Hotel Metropole Suisse COMO 19-21 Sep 07
Right on the esplanade in Como, only steps away from ferries, and the main piazza just around the corner, couldn’t be more central. Hotel old but sweet. Staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the top floor (5th) on the far left hand corner overlooking beautiful Lake Como. We booked a double superior room and had 2 very comfy single beds and a hard rollaway bed for our 12 year old which was fine. The room was not huge but large enough to cope. We had a little balcony which was just wonderful. The bathroom was huge. We loved staying at this hotel and will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended. Booked through Expedia and reservation was exactly correct. Hotel accurately described on Expedia site.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Really liked this hotel. Got a superior double with lake view think it was room 4. Nice large room, big shower and bathroom. Very comfortable. Room had a fridge! Rate was 119 euro per night for two people, no breakfast (based on advice from other TA members not worth the 12E extra). Very close to the Dumo and right across from the ferry terminal. Cab ride from S. Giovani train station was only 7 euros. Self service coin laundry was probably 1.5 miles walking distance (7 euros to wash and dry one load). Three nights was definitely enough to see the town and take the boat to Bellagio. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The location is great - very central with the town centre, train stations and ferry terminal a short walk away. We asked for a room with a lake view and were given one at the front of the hotel with a lovely lake view. The room was well furnished and comfortable. The room was noisy because of the road traffic below but we didn't mind too much.
We found the staff to be efficient enough - but all were unsmiling and unfriendly (except perhaps the man that ran the breakfast room who was always run off his feet ) making us feel like we were unwelcome! Every time we went back to reception to get our key the staff would give us a look like they didn't recognise us and they never remembered what room we were in! (occupancy rate was low so we didn't see many other guests) The continental breakfast was sufficient - nothing exciting!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We visited Como for a long weekend to visit some locations for a friends wedding. Decided on Como town as we caught the train from Malpensa Airport straight to the town - very quick and easy! We booked the hotels two bedroom apartment, which had recently been renovated. What a wonderfull surprise - the reason being that externally this appears to be one of Como's grande Dames, but when we walked through the door of the apartment we were thrown into a contemporary 2009 apartment! Brand new marble tile floors, excellent little kitchen/seating area, very chic furnishings. The main bedroom had a sitting room-come balcony just off it which had large opening windows and spectacular views of the lake and mountains. The second bedroom had a double bed with the cutest private patio - no views though, it was enclosed by the walls around it.

Very conveniently located for the water station to go anywhere on the Lake. Wonderful walks around como town and good shopping on your doorstep. Excellent food and restaurants in immediate vicinity. Will definately be returning and recommending to others.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

Stayed here in the beginning of July '08 and had a very nice stay. Room faced the lake and had a balcony. Fairly large room for two, was very clean and modern. Easy access to either train station and the lake ferries. Was worried about possible noise when I saw the construction going across the street on the lake but when the windows were closed couldn't hear a thing. Very good restaurants around the lake and to the west of the hotel near Piazza Volta. Would readily stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in Como following a visit to an exhibition in Milan. The hotel is in a lovely position right in the main square and beside the lake and the ferry terminal. At the moment there is a lot of work being carried out on the lakefront so from the hotel's breakfast room all you see are wooden boards, but once the work has been completed I'm sure the view will be lovely.
the hotel staff are very professional and the lady who serves drinks at breakfast is great and very helpful with local information. Breakfast was ok, probably very good on normal Italian standards, but as we had just stayed at the Hotel Berna in Milan and had the best breakfast ever I think anything would have paled a little in comparison.
Our room was fine (number 10) and was directly over the main entrance overlooking the main square. Although the road along the lakefront is very busy with the windows closed you can't hear it at all. The air conditioning was not effective which wasn't a problem for us in November, but unless it is somehow enhanced in the summer I can see that it could either get very hot or very noisy if you open the window. I wouldn't bother using the internet through the tv, it is not very good, awkward to surf due to the resolution and at 6 euro an hour you'd be better going to an internet cafe.
All in all we enjoyed this hotel, it has a great location, ideal for shopping and visiting the local restaurants and bars, plus is across from the ferry terminal if you want a trip up the lake. The aqua planes often fly over and the terminal is within walking distance from the hotel if you fancy seeing the lake in style. It was a bit misty for that whilst we were there but I imagine it would be lovely.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — water didn't go down the shower plug very quickly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Suisse Hotel

Address: Piazza Cavour 19, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Suisse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel dating from 1892 situated in city center, close to main shopping area, overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropole Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Suisse
Metropole Suisse Como
Metropole Suisse Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Suisse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.