We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Suisse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Suisse Hotel to your Saves list
Metropole Suisse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cavour 19, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Como
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived in our car and go one of the four free parks, no cost, saved 16 euros a day, that car is not moving. Room is overlooking everything only one with wrap around views, booked 6 months early. Great sopping, food and the girls at reception are great, out the front door left and left again, a pizza ar 7 euro for drink and a tapas, you can eat till you drop, 7.00pm till 11.00pm, enjoy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, General Manager at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Johnlyall1234,

warm thanks for taking the time to write this splendid review. We are pleased to know that you are enjoying your stay here in our hotel in Como and it is a great pleasure for us to read such kind words as yours!
Thank you for your compliments about our girls at the reception, they send you heartfelt thanks and they are happy that you enjoyed your yummy pizzas!
Thank you again for posting your experience, we wish you a great time here in Como.

Best regards.
Roberto Cassani, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    173
    75
    48
    27
See reviews for
58
201
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here on business whilst attending an event in the area.
The hotel has a very Italian style to it, some would say it needs a refurb, others would comment on it character. overall I was very happy with it. The room had clearly been refurbed at some point, but still kept its character.
The staff were very helpful and the view from my room was amazing.
The breakfast was good, but certainly not the best you will ever have.
If travelling by car, be warned the car park holds around 5 cars, so you will probably have to use the underground car park up the road, which is a 5 minute walk away.
Overall, for the money and compared to some of the other hotels in Como, this hotel is a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, General Manager at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear HerefordWhites,

thank you for taking the time to write your kind comment.
We really appreciate the fact that you compared previous reviews with your experience in our Hotel, showing a clear idea of our service and building.
For this, we are pleased to know that you recognized our "very Italian style".
We are grateful for you mentioning our helpful staff and lake view room.
Finally, thank you for giving other guests advices regarding car park.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you here again if you should ever come back in Como for work.
Thank you and kindest regards,
Roberto Cassani, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's an old hotel that has probably seen more than one renovation. Others have complained about heat. Our visit was in September and our room faced the plaza to the east (but still with a view of the harbor), so no late afternoon sun. We slept comfortably with the window closed, which was quiet enough. The ferry dock is right across the street, so great location for seeing the rest of the towns bordering the lake. Room was clean; bed comfortable; weird pillow which I found comfortable but the hotel provides an alternative, just ask. Bathroom, with hair dryer and amenities, had been recently renovated. The adjacent restaurant served good food with a great wine-by-the-glass wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Andy,
thank you for your review.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our strategic location, the cleanliness of your room and our restaurant.

Regarding our rooms, we have two different type, some of our guests prefer renovated rooms others prefer the old classic ones.

We also would like to inform you that the renovation of our accommodation will be continued in a winter time.
Thank you for giving other guests advices regarding pillows and bath amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropole&Suisse.

Many thanks and Kindest regards
Roberto Cassani G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not saying I did this, but one of my fellow travellers did... it looks like a bench! This is a really well located hotel, with fantastic staff REALLY in need of a refurb. The rooms are ok sized, but the bedding was old, the furniture was old, the electrical points wouldn't take our adapters, and overall the quality of the hotel was let down by such little things. I don't think you could ask for a better location. Easy walk to town, on the edge of the lake, near the train station but not too close. The lobby although small was nice, and there was a sitting area where I ended up having drinks til late in the night and the service was great. And they had obviously updated this area as the water feature etc was modern (so modern it looked like a bench for you to rest your handbag on).
At this point, I'd not rush back there again unless I knew that it had undertaken the refurb it so badly needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, General Manager at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Tooks_meri,
thank you for sharing your comment about your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our staff and location.
With regards to our structure, we would like to stress that we have been constantly renovating our rooms. We are very sorry that you didn't like our furniture; we agree that it is old, but for this, it is more refined and high-value than other average modern furniture.
Generally, guests don't have problems with our electrical points, we would have provided compatible adapters if you had asked at the reception.
If you ever change your mind, we will be very pleased to welcome you again, to evaluate our constant changes in the future.

Thank you and kindest regards.
Roberto Cassani, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was nice but very hmmm... how can I say.... vintage? It wasn't bad but wasn't awesome. The room that I stayed was on the 6th floor facing lake Como and the street. Being very high up, I thought it would be very quiet but I could hear the cars on the road all night. I wanted to close the window but there was no A/C. The bathroom was pretty nice and renovated, the room was clean but I would have liked it more if they had A/C so that I could close the window at night. The location of this hotel was great and the bar and restaurant served up really great meals and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
it is such a pleasure to read your review.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and that you loved our "Vintage" hotel and the italian classic style.
I would like to point out, our hotel has 5 floors and A/C, anyway, we are very sorry for this disappointment but normally if you close the windows the A/C works.
We are very happy that you appreciated service, meals and drinks of our restaurant.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Greetings from Hotel metropole Suisse Staff

Roberto Cassani G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stopped at the hotel for 3 nights on our last stop across north Italy having stayed in 4 other hotels- all were 4 star and if this hotel was 2 star that's all it merited. The room was ok..lake view...yes you pay for that, and the bathroom had been recently remodelled. The bathroom had a glass panel at the toilet which made for interesting viewing if you did not look away! The furniture was a bit tired but the bed and room were clean and tidy. The eye opener was the breakfast...it was terrible. in all the other hotels we had been impressed by the quality, variety and quantity of the breakfast selections and if the service was meant to finish at 10.30 then there was sufficient food to cater for those who came down at , say 10 am. We came down at 10am and viewed an unappetising mess of scrambled egg and soggy bacon, and as the last croissant had been taken by the lady in front of me, I asked for more but was told they were finished...but there was cake! Really... The fruit was not much better...tinned apricots or maybe peaches and pears and pretty ropey fresh fruit...apples and kiwis. For an old hotel the sound proofing was poor and one evening the wind blew up a little ( well you are at a lakeside position) and our ill fitting shutters shook the whole night.( room 44). So all in all, poor value for money...we stayed in Verona at almost half the price and better experience all the way. Sorry folks...you need to get your act together! Location was wonderful ...right next to the Info office and easy walk from the train station and right across from the ferries on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment on Tripadvisor and for filling in our customer satisfaction questionnaire that you found in your room.
We are very pleased that our guests share their comments with us, this is a good way to find out about our weak spots.
We understand your disappointment about breakfast and we comprehend that it is very important to find everything, unfortunately we had an organizational problem and we really regret for this.
By the way, we thank you for highliting also our positive aspects such as your room and our location.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future,
thank you and kindest regards.

Roberto Cassani, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It happened to be the hottest day of the summer. After travelling about 1000 Km from Koln we chose como to stay for the night. Late in the afternoon at the arrival was very hot and humid and there was a bad smell all around the city.
We booked the room via the phone. We asked for a parking space and they told us that they had no vacant lots but not to worry since the public controlled parking was next to the hotel. Well, we found out that next means about 500 m away.
The room was spacy enough but it could not hide its age. You could sense the flexible wooden floor under the carpet and the air-conditioning was too noisy.
Breakfast was average.
Certainly will not look for this one next time to find myself at Como.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robcass, Direttore generale at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are sorry that we didn't amazed you during your short stay and we regret to know that our garage was fully booked so that you had to park your car in another parking.
We suggest you and other future guests reserving in advance a parking space in our garage.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back!
Thank you and kindest regards,

Roberto Cassani, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Suisse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Suisse Hotel

Address: Piazza Cavour 19, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Suisse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel dating from 1892 situated in city center, close to main shopping area, overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Suisse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Suisse
Metropole Suisse Como
Metropole Suisse Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Suisse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.