We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terminus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Terminus Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Terminus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Simple & Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Our room 409 was small and didn't have a view like the ones we saw on the internet, but it was very clean, beds were very very good, the a/c work great. Breakfast was excellent! The staff was very very helpful with all the activities and restaurants around town. Is a lovely place to come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    48
    35
    12
See reviews for
33
145
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Albergo Terminus in Como for four days in May. It was an anniversary present from my husband, so I didn’t know what to expect until we arrived. The Hotel is typically traditional, located next to the town square and right on the lake front. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and arranged our transfers to and from Milan Malpensa airport in a very smart chauffeur driven car. We stayed in room 325, a deluxe double, which was quite large and very clean, with a big marble bathroom, a walk in shower and double Jacuzzi bath. It all appeared to have been recently refurbished. It had a four poster bed and the window looked out to the lake and over the square with a number of cafes. The only odd part about the room was that it had a new kitchenette between the bathroom and the bedroom, but there wasn’t anything you could use by way of crockery, cutlery or a kettle, so I’m not sure who it would be for. There was a minibar with enough room to put your own drinks. We used this for our milk, as we always take a kettle and tea bags just in case. Opposite the kitchenette was a large floor to ceiling wardrobe with ample hanging space and a safe. We didn’t experience any noise from the square, and only a small amount of road noise as people started going to work, but a bit of local noise adds to the character of the place, so it didn’t bother us.

Breakfast was a fairly basic continental offering, but there was plenty to eat and we didn’t have to wait for a table. The breakfast room staff were polite, friendly and attentive. The ideal position of the Hotel means that everything is easily accessible. There are cafes and restaurants minutes away, and the dock for trips up and around the lake is next to the Hotel, and two minutes walk from the front door.

We booked the Hotel through Expedia and flew with BA from Heathrow. With the arranged transfers and the e mail contact my husband had with the Ladies on reception everything went very smoothly. We had a lovely stay at the Albergo Terminus, which was helped by the beautiful weather. I would recommend the Hotel to anyone intending to stay in Como, but would suggest its worth paying a little bit more and requesting a deluxe double room.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double room, which overlooked the lake and square. Would recommend this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

What a great location. Just steps away from the lake Como ferry stop, you could be out of bed and on the ferry in minutes. The city of Como is very nice and the hotel is also a really short walk from the Duomo there, which is super cool.

The hotel breakfast was really great, and had a big wheel of Brie to go on croissants that my wife was flipping out about. When I asked her if this was the hotel with the good Brie she flipped out all over again.

There is no hotel bar, just kind of a room where you get drinks from the restaurant and sit in. It's cool if you're in a group, but if you're the only couple there you feel very strange. The food at the restaurant was really good too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Bathroom was just redone-AMAZING, nice sized suite, friendly staff who did their best in a historic hotel building. Open internet (yes!) with nice gym, great location, TV channels were limited, but shouldn't be watching TV with views like this... :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a review for the restaurant only- nice deco and a view over the lake Como (despite there is some construction work there on the evening we visited). Waitors more on the young side but they are friendly. Candel light is a plus.

But it is amazed to see how much the chef love potato- seabass filet is with chopped grilled potato, vitello tonnato is with chopped grilled potato..which to be fair, does not taste bad but it just does not go well together. And it makes me smile to see the there is packaged biscuit in the bread basket, which is not usual scene to see at dinner setting in a hotel restaurant with such a rating.

The view and the friendly staff balance the slight disappointment though- this place to me is more for a nice drink or coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda,
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in a lake facing room, that had been recently renovated. It was a great size as was the bathroom. The location is almost second to none depending on what you're planning on doing, on the water front but almost next door to the train station, so we had easy access to get in and out of Milan. Friendly staff and good clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in the room No 212. The windows were facing an alley where the local youth gathered to play music and party during 23.00 - 2.00. The windows were not soundproof and we could basically hear everything to the room. The hotel was fully booked so changing the room was not possible. Be aware of the rooms facing this alley during weekends... The hotel was nice otherwise. Great location close to the ferry station. We enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner restaurant was great as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terminus Hotel

Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terminus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terminus Como
Hotel Albergo Terminus
Albergo Terminus Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Terminus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.